We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great service and food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Ranked #11 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
edinburgh
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great location, great service and food.”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you read the rest of the reviews on here I would agree with what the majority have said previously except the rooms are not as bad as some people would have you believe. Sure they are a little tired and an upgrade is planned but this is a fantastic hotel with lovely friendly staff and great service.

Due to teh rooms its probably a 4 start hotel but its a grreat place to holiday and at teh quieter end of the street. A good tip is to take one of the cheap jump-on taxis (not teh metered variety) to Boh Put - You decide what to pay but 100 Baht is more than acceptable (£2) - His has a quieter vibe and a great set of pubs/ eating places along the beach front.

Room Tip: Use th jump-on taxis - you decide the fare- Avoid metered taxis - they are a rip of
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jambo43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,224
    732
    215
    89
    55
See reviews for
666
1,181
49
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed for 8 days in a deluxe pool suite, which was perfect - I have no complaints about the cleanliness of the bathroom like some other reviewers below, but may be different in other rooms. It was fantastic to swim in the pool when we got back from dinner or drinks out in Chaweng.

Great Breakfast spread although I noticed a few flies a couple of mornings. Also, the resident/feral cats will harass you for food if you sit outside.

The beach is amazing, white sand and crystal clear water with little fish swimming around your feet! You can easily walk in to the busier part of Chaweng along the beach or street - we preffered the beach because we didn't get harassed to buy suits!

The staff were very friendly and accomodating, especially Mint, who served us a few times in the swim-up bar.

We ate at the hotel a few times, food and drink is expensive by thai standards, but was good quality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jade L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week holiday at the Centara Grand and had a great time. The hotel was lovely and friendly staff. We stayed in Block 8 on the top floor which had a wonderful view. The beach was really nice as was the pool. The venders on the beach are great. I used to get corn on the cob at lunch time. I used to tell them what time I would like it and they used to bring it over. There was always plenty of sunbeds so did not have to worry about what time I got up. Breakfast was good and all different types of fresh bread was lovely. The room was ok and bed was comfy. Maybe in need of updating to get 5 star standard. The location of the hotel was excellant. In walking distance to all resturants and bars but still in a quieter location so not to hear all the noise from the street. We did eat in the hotel resturant twice which was nice but expensive. There is loads to choose from outside. The market stalls for eating is so cheap and really good food so worth a try. We went tried loads of different places and just loved it. I went to the gym at the hotel a few times which is good and had treadmills, cross trainers, bikes and weights. Go to the managers cocktail party on the beach as this was really nice and also got to meet other guests. We would definately return to this hotel. Happy holidays...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bonnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

just got back from this hotel we stayed in a seaview room (just see it through trees) and our room (321) was right on the corner above breakfast area and reception so got a bit noisy at times. balcony was not very private felt like people could see us . also needs a little bit tlc . decoration needing just little touches here and there but overall great room nice clean comfy bed ,did not spoil our stay (but i could understand that some people might moan!) breakfast great staff very friendly,
pool area was lovely lots of shade from the palm trees , beautful beach , no hassel from the beach sellers , they will show their wares from a distance and if you are interested you call them over (remembr to haggle) ,
great little portable bar on beach they would arrive every morning set up their bbq cool box and fruit , and you can go up and get a chang for £1.20 and a nice buttery corn for about same price really friendly .
you can also book your trips from the beach .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margerie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmondsworth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed for 14 nights at the Centara Grand Beach Resort Chaweng Beach Koh Samui in May 2012. The hotel staff were friendly & helpful, they couldn't do enough for you. The hotel was lovely but the bedrooms a little dated. Breakfast was amazing with so many choices. The beach was great and was away from the main Chaweng Beach so was in a quieter location. The food and drinks was a little expensive. We mainly had drinks in the happy hour as drinks were more than double the price from bars adjacent to hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaWest007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Good size rooms, bit dated, clean, excellent breakfasts. Great hotel owned Deli in the shops next door. The gym has good cardio equipment bit limited in the loose weight section. Pool area was clean, not sure about the jacuzzi though, felt a bit grimey when we got out. Very expensive to eat in the hotel. This isn't a problem though as there are plenty of places to eat at. Try the Ninja Crepe restaurant, fantastic food.
All told a not to bad of a choice hotel to go back too from the hussle and the bussle of the town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulyo98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallington, Surrey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Just returned from a 16 night stay at centara grand resort koh samui . The hotel was excellent had massive comfy kingsize bed within a large bedroom , pool is better than the photo's and the sea was crystal clear with powder white soft sands . Dont know why people put bad reviews of this resort as thought it was beautiful , and location was brillant and staff very friendly .

This was our first visit to thailand and will definately return .... hotel was located in the quieter south chawang but was only a short walk from the very lively nighlife , there were loads of restaurants and bars to choose from . You can easly get lunch for £4.00 for two people and we usually spent £20.00 for two for dinner and drinks , although if you wanted to the hotel restaurants were excellent but a lot dearer.

We throughly recommend the walking street market in chaweng and friday night fishermans village in bo phut which was great fun , we also did a trip for elephant trekking and elephant show and we even got a photo taken with a real tiger . we took a boat trip to koh tao and nangyuan, the island was stunning and well worth a visit .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieBudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,302 reviews
0.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Property: Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui is a long-established resort that sits right on Chaweng Beach, a tranquil location that yet provides easy access to Central Festival for shopping and the ever-present buzz of Chaweng Road. Complete with the old world charm of colonial-era architecture and an unparalleled beach front setting, the resort is home to a host of facilities and activities, including a beautiful spa, complimentary Yoga classes a large sea-gazing swimming pool with its own swim-up pool bar and Jacuzzi, a fitness centre, two tennis courts and two kids clubs. You’ll enjoy no less than seven restaurants and bars, including COAST Beach Club & Bistro. Perfect for the most tranquil romantic escape or an adventuresome family holiday, the resort also features Muay Thai classes, beach volleyball, and a choice of water sports – think kayaking, windsurfing, sailing, Hobie Catamaran, body boarding and paddle boarding - as well as superb snorkelling and island hopping excursions around Koh Samui and diving opportunities arranged respectively by the tour desk and the PADI Dive Centre. Whether holidaying in Samui just the two of you or with the family, you will enjoy views of over the turquoise expanse of the Gulf of Thailand from your balcony or a private plunge pool. Spaciousness is a feature with all rooms and suites, with total living space ranging from 40 to 132 square metres while selected suites also provide concierge services. And your good times will begin almost from the minute you touch down on the island, as the resort is a short 15-minute drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing