We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place of Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Ranked #9 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed at the centara Grand for 7 nights during February. The relaxed and friendly atmosphere of this beautiful hotel really ensured that we had a great trip.

The grounds are beautifully maintained and is really an oasis away from the busy street.
The hotel is set at the quieter end of Chaweng, however, is still close enough to plenty of restaurants and shops.

Breakfast buffet was great, especially Jo at the egg station who made the most delicious ommelettes and fried eggs. However, it does get quite busy, so I would suggest two egg chefs or a larger grill to avoid queues.
We only ate once in the hotel for Japanese buffet night and boy was it worth it! The freshest sushi, sashimi and salads and plenty of hot meals.

The only downside to this hotel is the bathroom door. Instead of being a solid door, it is like two shutters, which do not block out light or noise.
Otherwise, we had a fabulous holiday at the Centara and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be ocean facing, however, I would request one on second or top floor to get the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,626 - 1,632 of 2,586 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2012

I had the most amazing time!highly recond to anyone!5star!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tk969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Centara is located at the quieter end of Chaweng Beach which makes it the ideal location to be near everything but far enough away not to notice or see the bustle. When you are in your room or anywhere on the resort, you feel that you are away from everything such is the tranquillity there. When you arrive, you really do feel like you have entered a grand hotel. The lobby is both open and beautiful. Our room (Superior Deluxe) was a little on the small size for three people to be staying in there (my wife, 6 year old daughter and me) but aside from sleeping there, you really don't spend any other time there. The buffet breakfasts were huge with lots of variety, the pool large and clean and not too deep (perfect for kids), the beach keep very clean, health club very well equipped and all the staff very helpful and friendly. The kids club co-ordinater (Bung I think was his name) was absolutely brillant and kept our daughter entertained each day (this was a kid who hated the thought of kids club then was begging to go every day!!). When you wanted to leave the resort, the centre of Chaweng's main street was literally 5 minutes walk away. A definite when you come here is the beach massage's, jet ski's and bananna boat rides from the same place on the beach - very cheap, amazing massages and super friendly.

Overall, a very clean, well maintained place, classy hotel very close to all the action with superb staff. Already planning our next stay here.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty much the same but we had great ocean / sunrise views from the third floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I had originally booked to go to the Centara Villas in the south of Ko Samui but I was transferred to the Centara Grand whilst the Villas underwent refurbishment. Although a bit sceptical about moving at first it was probably one of the best things that could have happened. The hotel definitely exceeded my expectations and although it is set in the busy resort of Chaweng it is an oasis of calm and serenity when inside. I had booked on a bed and breakfast option and the buffet breakfast provided was more than enough. There are plenty of small places to eat in Chaweng and the hotel provides lunch and dinner options also. Halfways through the holiday I wnet on the (free) shuttle bus to Chaweng Villas, and whilst it is certainly a lovely resort, albeit more for romantic or honeymoon couples in my opinion, it is quite remote and meal options other than the hotel restaurant would have been difficult. When booking trips and tours I found a small tour operator called 'Friendly tours' very helpful. The shop is just across the road from the hotel

Room Tip: Rooms with private plunge pools are avilable on the ground floor of the property but be aware that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nofixedabode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay.Not sure what I preferred, the pool villa or a delux room with ocean views. Lovely place to stay! Massage ladies out the front on the beach are great too and very cheap.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Brush d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

The Centara is located just over half way along Chaweng's sandy beach in a much better position than those at the northern end, which sit behind a bar resulting in shallow water. The other key difference between this and many hotels along this shore is that the hotel has a completely open vista over the sea, thereby affording all rooms sea views. The gardens are well laid out and provide shade under the palms from the sun. The pool facilities are good.
There are a variety of restaurants serving a wide range of cuisines, including Thai, European and Japanese. While we were there, we enjoyed an excellent Chinese New Year buffet held in the gardens. The staff are very pleasant and helpful.
The one reservation we had relates to the bedrooms. We had to move from our first room as it has a leaking air conditioner, which made the floor outside the bathroom extremely slippery. More importantly the rooms are in need of upgrading, with particular attention being paid to modernising the bathrooms, where colour schemes are outdated and tiling in particular requiring renovation. We understood that a programme to address this may already have been started.
This was our fifth trip to Koh Samui and this is the one hotel to which we would certainly return in future. It has the ideal combination of beach quality and facilities

Room Tip: Rooms in building 3 and 4 are further away from the road and may be less noisy. Ground floor rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GalsworthyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Just checked into the Centara Grand Beach -- originally booked for a 6-night stay in a pool suite, and I'm planning to check out tomorrow. I was very disappointed based on the ratings and reviews on TripAdvisor, which are overly generous in my opinion. It bills itself as 5 star, and it's far from it -- very dated decor, rooms are very dark, old and musty, and just a very worn feel (think 70s/80s). Sure, you don't travel to Thailand to stay in your room, but for 4/5 star, you don't want to get depressed the moment you walk into your room.

Facilities-wise, it's nothing to write home about -- while the pool is large, it has a very awkward layout, and for a resort this large, I would expect more than one pool. Certainly doesn't give you any sense of value for money -- it's not crazy expensive, but I definitely expected a lot more for what I got. With so many hotels to choose from in Koh Samui, I think it's worth spending a few more dollars for a better vacation experience (nicer rooms, more updated facilities, free wifi for god's sake, etc).

As a point of comparison to true 4 star beach resorts in Thailand, the Sheraton Krabi (a similar size resort) is significantly better than the Centara -- updated rooms, multiple pools, nicer grounds, and an overall much more upscale feel (for anyone considering a beach vacation in Thailand, Krabi is about as scenic as they come, with world-class beaches), and it's one of the best SPG properties I've experienced.

The only positives I can offer:

- the beach is very scenic -- but then again, most of the beaches on the island are nice
- it seems well-suited for families

Didn't get a great feel for service quality, since after 20 minutes in my room and a walk around the grounds, my immediate reaction was "go find something better."

If you're like me, and do tons of research trying to find "just" the right place, it's very depressing when you immediately know you've made a big mistake. I decided to change my reservation to the Hansar Samui Resort, which seems much nicer and only for a few dollars more.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
8  Thank dep16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.4 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,557 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
780 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,386 reviews
1.2 mi away
Muang Samui Spa Resort
Muang Samui Spa Resort
#3 of 104 in Chaweng
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui

Address: 38/2 Moo 3, Borpud | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $126 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui is a long-established resort that sits right on Chaweng Beach, a tranquil location that yet provides easy access to Central Festival for shopping and the ever-present buzz of Chaweng Road. Complete with the old world charm of colonial-era architecture and an unparalleled beach front setting, the resort is home to a host of facilities and activities, including a beautiful spa, complimentary Yoga classes a large sea-gazing swimming pool with its own swim-up pool bar and Jacuzzi, a fitness centre, two tennis courts and two kids clubs. You’ll enjoy no less than seven restaurants and bars, including COAST Beach Club & Bistro. Perfect for the most tranquil romantic escape or an adventuresome family holiday, the resort also features Muay Thai classes, beach volleyball, and a choice of water sports – think kayaking, windsurfing, sailing, Hobie Catamaran, body boarding and paddle boarding - as well as superb snorkelling and island hopping excursions around Koh Samui and diving opportunities arranged respectively by the tour desk and the PADI Dive Centre. Whether holidaying in Samui just the two of you or with the family, you will enjoy views of over the turquoise expanse of the Gulf of Thailand from your balcony or a private plunge pool. Spaciousness is a feature with all rooms and suites, with total living space ranging from 40 to 132 square metres while selected suites also provide concierge services. And your good times will begin almost from the minute you touch down on the island, as the resort is a short 15-minute drive from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Splitty, Fastbooking, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Hotel Chaweng
Centara Grand Beach Hotel
Hotel Centara Grand Beach
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing