We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here for my honey moon! Cudnt get better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nora Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #15 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 3, 2009

Went for our honey moon to Koh Samui and stayed at Nora Beach Resort! Koh Samui is a beautiful place! From romantic dinners on beach to thrilling canopy adventures to extreme water games... there's all! Our experience there would not have been better but thanks to Nora Beach Resort in Koh Samui.
Its right at the beginning of the stretch.. That means no unnecessary traffic or hustle! Our room was beautiful with natural sunlight falling right in the showers to the bathing tub that made us feel special! Our room or more a cottage was so beautiful right above lot of flowers/ plants and the ocean right across.. 2 minute walk!
Since the resort is right at the beginning the formation of beach is in a way this comes as a private beach for the hotel! That cuts down the casual visitors to just the residents which makes it prettier! Your privacy and your space while sipping your fav drink made extremely well!
Nice and courteous staff.. Ready to help you at 3 AM as well (we ran out of coffee)! They even helped us organizing our trips and getting us the scooter and the jeep!

Since there is a lot of greenery/ tropical with water body in the middle there might be an incident with a lizard or frog! But that’s ok! The staff will help you!

All in all.... don’t think twice with this! Its beautiful!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devanshubhatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

811 - 817 of 1,136 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2009

Stayed in a Bungalow, nice terrace, surrunded (ok by Bungalows, but also) by alot of flowers and "nature" (got a visit from a wall climbing Frog), little garden after entrance with an extra shower - nice. Bathroom with a great bathtub, seperate shower, two bottles of water (á 500ml) for free a day. Breakfast leaves no wishes, Western, Chinese Dim Sum and Thai plenty of fruits and fresh juices, two cooks- one for eggs and one for a daily changing meal soup, fried Noodels etc. Great Pool with a poolbar. Friendly personal and a small (3m- but the couches extra) but nice beach.
Negative was the ignorance of our complainings, that the safe and a light was defect. Thas the reason for very good and not an exellent.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JanHurrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

Staying at the Ocean pool villa (Room 7011) with four lovely sunny days, I got my second honeymoon!

My room with private pool, big semi-open bathtub, beach-front and huge sun-deck. I like the place is quiet without a lot of people to walk in front of my villa. Feel like I own everything in these couple days. Five minutes to airport and five minutes to Chaweng; don't need to spend much on taxi (BTW, taxi is so expensive in Samui).

Try crazy 4x4 to the top of the mountain, elephant ride, monkey gets coconut from a tree, king-crab-&-a-lot-of-seafood dinner with very reasonable price, nice Thai oil massage for a super good deal in Chaweng beach street. The place is safe compared to many hot travel spots in South East Asia.

For travel, Bangkok airline airbus is quite new, and I enjoyed a good green curry chicken for meal. There is only three hours direct flight from HK to Samui. Samui airport terminal has a nice shopping area and free good-quality snack & drink at the waiting area.

Drawback is only some big insects in my room. But being in a "like" topical rainforest, this comes with a package.

Wish I can go again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abcd_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

We decided we wanted to have a tropical wedding with no stress, and everyone that came could enjoy a holiday. Our expectations were exceeded. 50 family and friends travelled to Koh Samui and stayed at the Nora for a wonderful wedding week! We organised everything with wedding planner Mr Lloyd, who left no stone unturned. We based ourselves in an Ocean Pool Villa, which gave us the space to have our family and friends visit us with plenty of room and privacy, own pool, and the beach on our doorstep. Babysitting was not a problem and always the same person which made the kids feel comfortable. From our bonfire night on the beach for our guests to meet and greet, together with the surprise fire jugglers and the extraordinary buffet. The staff could not do enough for everyone, they were always extremely polite and gracious. The food was unbelieveable as was the taste. Our wedding day involved a Thai wedding in the morning and a western wedding on the beach in the afternoon. It was the most relaxing, romantic, fun day we could have hoped for, with nothing to worry about, particularly with 3 of the property managers there to help us at any one time with any little need. The resort bussed all of our guests to the Thai temple where we had a very spiritual ceremony with the monks, and a great cultural experience for our guests. The western wedding was actually held at Nora's brand new resort just around the beach, Nora Buri Resort. Our guests were whisked away in buses to this stunning resort with the most amazing pool villa's and views. I travelled down the beach from our resort to the Buri on an elephant in it's regalia arriving at the ceremony on the beach. Our reception was held in The Barge, what an amazing structure with exquisite views. You could describe the food as beautiful and the taste sensational. When it came to the staff and service, you never wanted for anything, because it just turned up without asking. The pool villa's at the Nora Buri are gorgeous, brand new, and it seems everything has been thought of, from the coffee machine, stereo, indoor and outdoor showers and privacy, you do feel like you are in your own private oasis. The location of both resorts is perfect, as it's not in the hustle and bustle of Chaweng, but a 5 minute scooter and taxi ride. Getting around on a scooter is no problem as everyone travels at 40klms/hour and no-one's in too much of a hurry. Mr Lloyd made our wedding day on the 9/9/9 a dream come true. Our guests say it was the most beautiful wedding they have ever been too. I would highly recommend a stay at Nora Beach Resort & Spa, or Nora Buri Resort, as too your wedding would be in the safest hands you could ask for. We plan to return on our first anniversary.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pedro023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

We stayed in superior room for 5 days. Quiet place far away from busy Chaweng center. The room was nice, the staff was very friendly.

You can take kayak for rent (100B/hour) and made you way around nearby rocky island

The beach near the hotel is nice and clean, but the sea is very shallow (about a half of a meter even if you go 100 meters into the sea) and full of corals - if you would like to swim in the sea you'd better find another place.

Breakfasts were great, on early morning there was a beautiful view of a sunrise.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

We stayed at Nora Beach Resort and Spa for 5 nights during September and had a lovely time. The villa was great, over looking the spring that runs through the middle of the hotel. The service was ok, however we found some of the staff did not understand english. The buffet breakfast was extensive, however the restaurant was quite expensive and the food was just ok. Entertainment was very amature and could do without. Service around the pool area is very slow so be prepared to chase a waiter. The beach is not as nice as Chaweng or Lamai (more rocky) however still magnificent. Our main complaint to the hotel was that we ordered a small bottle of alcohol one evening to replenish our mini bar and were delivered a large bottle which was half full. We were puzzled by this and when we came to check out we had been charged AU$85 for this. We spoke with the manager who stated that we had phoned room service and we should have phoned house keeping (which we were not aware of????) and that we were cheating the staff of 2 days pay as we were not prepared to pay this amount. Twenty minutes later we settled on half of this price for the bottle and left with a sour taste regarding the hotel. We had spent a lot of money at the hotel during our stay and thought the situation was handled very badly for a prominent hotel at Koh Samui. Besides this, the hotel is lovely however we concluded that a renovation would be on the cards soon as it is starting to get a little tired. The spa is lovely, however the staff are nowhere near as friendly as Spa Samui or other spa's in Koh Samui. They are very businesslike in their approach. The information pack that is supplied in the room is very informative and we found very useful during our stay. The location is quiet and is a rugged walk along the beach to Chaweng (about 30 mins). It is easier to utilise the hotel transport service or a Taxi. We would stay here again however we are now aware of how the hotel works and will be a little more wary next time.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanette1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We spent 3 weeks in SE Asia at moderately priced hotels and I booked the Nora as our oasis at the end of our journey. We were very disappointed. I don't mind dealing with small features that aren't great at a hotel when I don't pay a lot of money, but we booked a pool villa, and therefore paid more, and we were very disappointed and unhappy with the hotel. There is a long litany of complaints, many of which we shared with the manager, including the following: The Nora is technically on the beach, but the beach is mostly rocks and pebbles. You can't really walk on the beach or go in the water without flip flops because you will hurt/cut your feet. I understand this is typical of Koh Samui so I don't hold this against the Nora as much as other features. We were escorted to our villa when we arrived, which we were told had been freshly cleaned. Upon entering, we found an enormous dead spider in the middle of our bedroom floor. There was dirt/sand in the bathtub and sand in our private pool. The rooms are very dark, lighting is totally inadequate. The bathrobes they provided to us smelled like heavy mildew. The shower pressure was virtually nonexistent and the water temperature frustratingly inconsistent. The Nora is a very pretty setting, very nicely designed, but the quality of almost everything at the hotel is subpar. The furniture, the cleaning, the beach chairs- its all rundown and not very clean. The main pool is nice but very crowded and we didn't get chairs on more than one day. We were lucky enough to have a private pool to retreat to, but I can't imagine what we would have done if we didn't have that. The main pool area is really too loud and crowded to be considered relaxing. We actually left one day and took a cab to a beach/pool club 20 minutes away, where the pool was beautiful and the view of the ocean serene. It's pretty ridiculous that we paid all that money to stay in a beautiful resort only to leave the resort to stay someplace else for the day. The thing that probably bothered me the most about the Nora was the gym. The website advertises a new gym facility. The 'gym' is a tiny room with a low ceiling and bad ventilation, that has one exercise bike (which was broken) and one treadmill, and a few weights. There is no water, there are no towels. Basically, it's pretty ambitious to call it a gym. That was very frustrating for us because a gym was a must-have feature for us when we were looking for hotels. The Nora would have been fine if we had been looking for a more rustic experience, and the staff was very nice. But we weren't paying rustic prices, and so the things listed above were very disappointing to us.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lovedjamaicany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.7 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#11 of 104 in Chaweng
2,609 reviews
1.8 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
1,955 reviews
1 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,407 reviews
1.9 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,527 reviews
2.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nora Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nora Beach Resort and Spa

Address: 222 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach, Bophut | Koh Samui, Suratthani 84320, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $121 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nora Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Nora Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nora Beach Hotel Chaweng
Nora Beach Resort All Inclusive
Nora Beach Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing