We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very disappointing, unclear why the reviews are so strong”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nora Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #12 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very disappointing, unclear why the reviews are so strong”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

We spent 3 weeks in SE Asia at moderately priced hotels and I booked the Nora as our oasis at the end of our journey. We were very disappointed. I don't mind dealing with small features that aren't great at a hotel when I don't pay a lot of money, but we booked a pool villa, and therefore paid more, and we were very disappointed and unhappy with the hotel. There is a long litany of complaints, many of which we shared with the manager, including the following: The Nora is technically on the beach, but the beach is mostly rocks and pebbles. You can't really walk on the beach or go in the water without flip flops because you will hurt/cut your feet. I understand this is typical of Koh Samui so I don't hold this against the Nora as much as other features. We were escorted to our villa when we arrived, which we were told had been freshly cleaned. Upon entering, we found an enormous dead spider in the middle of our bedroom floor. There was dirt/sand in the bathtub and sand in our private pool. The rooms are very dark, lighting is totally inadequate. The bathrobes they provided to us smelled like heavy mildew. The shower pressure was virtually nonexistent and the water temperature frustratingly inconsistent. The Nora is a very pretty setting, very nicely designed, but the quality of almost everything at the hotel is subpar. The furniture, the cleaning, the beach chairs- its all rundown and not very clean. The main pool is nice but very crowded and we didn't get chairs on more than one day. We were lucky enough to have a private pool to retreat to, but I can't imagine what we would have done if we didn't have that. The main pool area is really too loud and crowded to be considered relaxing. We actually left one day and took a cab to a beach/pool club 20 minutes away, where the pool was beautiful and the view of the ocean serene. It's pretty ridiculous that we paid all that money to stay in a beautiful resort only to leave the resort to stay someplace else for the day. The thing that probably bothered me the most about the Nora was the gym. The website advertises a new gym facility. The 'gym' is a tiny room with a low ceiling and bad ventilation, that has one exercise bike (which was broken) and one treadmill, and a few weights. There is no water, there are no towels. Basically, it's pretty ambitious to call it a gym. That was very frustrating for us because a gym was a must-have feature for us when we were looking for hotels. The Nora would have been fine if we had been looking for a more rustic experience, and the staff was very nice. But we weren't paying rustic prices, and so the things listed above were very disappointing to us.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovedjamaicany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    297
    107
    48
    29
See reviews for
191
536
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Holland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2009

Me and boyfriend stayed for a couple of nights at the Nora Beach Resort. We booked it ourselves in Thailand through Expedia. Since the month August is peak season, we paid a pretty high rate for what we got!
Nora Beach is not too bad, but it's definately not comparable to well known 4 or 5 star hotel chains! Like other reviewers said already, some remodelling is necessary. Rooms (we stayed in a garden villa) are spacious and have a nice Thai design on the picture, but when taking a closer look they're just really old! We had some problems with ants in our room as well.. Lobby and hotel surroundings isn't very impressive for a 4 star rating

Regarding the beach, we seriously expected a nicer beach! It's okay, but it's definately not one of the 'blue water - white sand beaches' you see on the picture. Maybe we're just a bit a spoiled.. It was very annoying that when arriving at 11.00 am at beach or pool, you would not be able to find a available sun bed and umbrella anymore, meaning you'd have to join in with the other hotel guests to 'reserve' your bed early in the morning..

Food (breakfast and lunch in our case), was okay. Not exceptionally good, but large amount of choices which is fine. For dinner we usually went to Chaweng. Even though some people compare it to Patong, it's a big big difference with Patong! Yes, it's very touristy, but to us it was 'friendly touristy' whereas Patong was absolutely terrible in our opinion.

One last point: Do not go and have your laundry done at the Nepali 'tailor made clothes shop' across the street of Nora (A bit further down in direction to Chaweng)!!! They miraculously loose 3 (branded of course) t-shirts and are absolutely rude - bad service!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aroundtheglobe15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2009

Nora Beach Resort and Spa is clean, beautiful, and well-run. Service is friendly, attentive, helpful and organized (though they forgot to clean our room one day. Called the operator and it was cleaned in less than 45mins.) Our garden villa was spacious and comfortable, accented with some Thai details. The pool is beautiful, but the beach is shallow, full of coral/seaweed and without waves. Breakfast was fine but the poolside food was disappointing. We did not eat in the restaurant.
We chose to stay on Chaweng and at Nora because that's what we read was the best. We were also interested in restaurant and nightlife in the downtown area. Downtown Chaweng is still a 300 Baht taxi ride from Nora, and a total tourist disaster. Nora, while a nice and solid 4-star resort, was lackluster and nothing we Americans couldn't get at just about any resort in the Caribbean. If you're looking for good restaurants and a quainter, more authentic experience, stay closer to Fisherman's Village on Boh Phut.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur8129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

I stayed at Nora (Vila) for 6 days and wanted to recomend it so you will enjoy too. Great location - not too far from Chaweng (10 minuted by tuktuk, 50 bat per person), great, clean beach, wondeful pool, wanderful fruit shakes! had very good expirience with room service, very helpfull staff, great breakfast, and the best SPA in Thailand - don't miss Samui Treatment (3 hours in heaven).
Hotels extras (food and drinks) were not expensive and we also booked all trips and even the Ferry to Phangan throght the front desk.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LIMII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide South Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2009

We were very fortunate to have our daughter's wedding at the Nora Beach Resort & Spa on the 8th of August. Approximately 56 family and friends were able to attend. We all expected a lovely wedding and a great holiday, but were literally blown away by the beauty and expertise that The Nora, Mr Loi (the wedding planner) and all the staff presented us with. Words cannot describe how much all these wonderful people put in to making this the most memorable of weddings anyone of us has ever attended. As Mother and Father of the bride we still can not believe how wonderful it was and how the experience will stay with us all forever. So, if anyone is looking for a romantic, beautiful and very affordable wedding with no stress but lots of wonderful memories talk to Mr Loi at the Nora and we guarantee you will never be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindelise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

We recently travelled to Koh Samui, Nora Beach Resort to get married and holiday with friends and family.

I cannot put into words the experience that the staff, especially the wedding planner and GM Mr Lloyd, gave us. Everything was above our expectations. The wedding was amazing, the scenery so beautiful, the organisation and planning was out of this world! Us and our guests (60ppl) were treated as VIPs for the entire stay.. and we stayed a long time, nearly three weeks! Every little thing was taken care of, after one quick meeting and a one hour rehearsal on the friday, I truly did not expect such a beautiful wedding. I had a vision of a simple beach wedding.. but it was so much more. The food was divine, and the drinks flowed alll night. The staff, are so fantastic! I cannot thank them enough for their impeccable service.

We stayed in a beach view villa which was spacious and looked exactly as the photos on the Nora website. The beach is slightly secluded from the main strip, so it is quiet and relaxing. The atmosphere at the pool bar and Blue Bar was really friendly and welcoming. We are planning on returning next August and there is no choice for us we will stay at the Nora Beach Resort again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weddingcouple09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

We stayed here for a few nights in August 2009 and had high expectations with the high ranking on Trip Advisor. We were seriously disappointed. Immediately after checking in, we found a large salamander in our room and had to fight to get a new room. In our second room, we also found serious bug problems. The staff was not very understanding and not very helpful.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clevelander81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.7 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,276 reviews
2.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
1.8 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
1.8 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nora Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nora Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Nora Beach Resort and Spa
Address: 222 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach, Bophut | Koh Samui, Suratthani 84320, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320 , Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#12 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Nora Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nora Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nora Beach Hotel Chaweng
Nora Beach Resort All Inclusive
Nora Beach Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing