We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do stay here so lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nora Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Do stay here so lovely”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

After staying in crazy Bangkok for 2 days we got a very early flight to Koh Samui. First off the airport at Koh Samui is one of the cutest and pleasant airports ever. After only a 5 minute journey in a taxi to our hotel (perfect after such an early start), we pull up to Nora beach hotel and was instantly impressed we were given a fruit cocktail and a very cold towel, a lovely touch at 10 am it was already in the 30s. Our room wasn't ready till 11 so we had a walk around the hotel. It was so cute. When we did get our room we were given a free dinner for 2 and a complimentary couples back massage. We got to our delux room in the main hotel which was lovely a heart of petals on the bed, beautiful room but after walking around seeing the lovely bungalows every where my newly hudband disappeared and upgraded us to a garden view villa (7210) to my surprise AMAZING. Basic tv and expensive mini bar but weren't away to watch tv. Aswell as a beautiful garden and pond with lots a koi fish in we could also get a glimpse of the sea. Which leads me to the beach on one of the days were there we hired a car and had a good look around the hotel and we believe that this side of the island had the best beach to it. Nora has a private bit so the sellers that walk along cant sell but they are lovely people and please but form them they work so hard but barter and barter more. The pool and pool staff were great, friendly and helpful on tips for the island. The food at the hotel felt like it had been westernised a little too much but ok for those new to Thai food, great family run restaurant just outside the front of the hotel (come out the front turn left 50 yrd down in the right) have the blue crab hmmm. On a Wednesday the hotel like to say thank u with a compilmentary cocktail and nibbles hour 6-7. The pool has a happy 2 hours everyday which is 30% off which was great. You could be as lazy or active in Koh Samui as u want we wanted a chilled honeymoon and we got it every morning we woke feeling lucky and happy to a beautiful sight. I'd happily recommend a nd ready to go back already and I've only just landed at home

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farrowking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    308
    109
    48
    30
See reviews for
198
560
29
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

The staff was very friendly and the resort was very clean. The breakfast spread was very good and the breakfast was included. The drawbacks were the TV is old, wifi was not available in the room, and the fitness room had one treadmill that wasn't working and a telephone that wasn't working.

Resort does provide a free shuttle in and out of town at set times.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adelantecs2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We spend 7 nights here after visiting Bangkok during our honeymoon. We were upgraded to a Villa and received great service. Staff were very friendly and the villa overlooked the waterfall in the resort. The staff were so friendly and were happy to have a chat and give us tips about places to go see. We had dinner in the restaurant on the beach one night, which was beautiful. The location of Nora Beach was away from the main strip of Chaweng, so it felt like an escape from the clubs and bars, but was only a 25 minute stroll down the hill. The only cons of Nora Beach would be the steep climb from the pool/bar/restaurant area up to our villa, which didn't bother us, but wouldn't be suitable for the elderly. I had work colleagues stay there and recommend it to me and the travel agent when we booked also highly recommended it too - I can see why! Would definitely return with the kids in a few years time too!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

We have recently returned from this resort after a two week break. We found the staff lovely all smiles and would go out of their way to help you. The breakfast was excellent and plenty of it. The rooms in the ocean sea view villas were fantastic with splendid views of the sea/gardens. You really felt as if you were in paradise.There was a daily change of bedding and towels and the rooms were cleaned. Again the staff were friendly and really helpful.
The whole of the complex was kept very clean and tidy by all the different aspects of staff from the gardeners to the guest services,
The poolside staff were friendly and did try to communicate in English as best they could. You do need to get your towel to a lounger pretty quick in the morning as there are some residents that do get there at 7am. not only will they set themselves up in the pool area they also take up loungers on the beach area.... pretty selfish I call that. Also the amount of residents that were rude to the staff and the beach vendors was dispicable. They treated the people like servants barking orders at them or dismissing them with a wave of their hands.... who the hell do these people think they are...????
There are plenty of beach vendors that come to the resort selling sarongs, swim wear, you name it... they are not allowed on the grounds so work from the beach itself. Be prepared to barter.... several residents complained that they got 'ripped off' by the vendors but only because they did'nt barter. We got some great deals.
A must is the barbeque/fruit seller guy. He sells sweetcorn barbequed, he aslo sells prepared mango, pineapples and young coconuts... fantastic..... and to finish icecream. The odd one or two thought he was expensive but it was they that missed out as the food was delicious and it was cheaper than back home.... on the beach in the sun what more could you ask for. Also just as we were leaving a couple of people had asked the guy if he could do chicken satay.. he said no problem he would have it ready for the next day.
Drinks at the resort were a bit pricey but a cocktail under a palm tree gets my vote everytime. We did have one evening meal there this was the only downside as the food was pretty tasteless.
We ended up going to a little Thia resturant along the road towards Chawang called 'Anong', (opposite Tree Tops/Ocean view resort) which sold great tasting thia food and cheap. Only downside there is little ventilation but sit near a fan, there are plenty there....
Another problem that we did encounter at the resort, was if there was a cruise ship visiting the resort. All the beach loungers are moved and used for the vistors. This caused no end of hassle for the staff and the paying guests as it was the staff that got the majority of the complaints. (We did complain to the front desk manager).
The resort was in a quite area of Chawang in the north but once you have visited Chawang once there is little reason to go again unless you are into the night life.
All in all we had a fansatic time met some really lovely people, mainly the locals. Thialand deserves its title 'Land of the smiles' we'd go back anytime.

Room Tip: ocean view villas are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Toni N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I have no idea where to start on this property. I guess I will start with saying I stayed here with my Wife for 1 week as the first part of our month long stay in Thailand for our Honeymoon. We stayed in Thailand from August 1 - August 30. I Booked the Nora Beach Resort "Beach Front Pool Villa" for 7 nights online through the Nora Website and payed $400USD Per night for this Villa. After booking online i called the resort on July 20th just to ensure everything had been processed and to confirm we were coming. I talked to the Manager of this Resort who's name is Prajuabphan Sakakorn also known as "Jeff" informed me that everything was perfect and ready for our arrival and that it would be a very special week for us for our honeymoon....Perfect right? NOPE We arrived in Koh Samui and the Car and Champagne i had ordered that they said they would have waiting for us was no where to be seen, after 1 hour of waiting in sweltering heat i decided to pay a taxi to take us to the resort. When we arrived i asked about what had happened and i was offered no answer and just some broken promises of how they would make it up to us. Then we were taken to our Beach Front Villa and when we arrived there was 3 cleaning ladies sitting on the couch in the room. After some stern chattering from our golf cart driver to the cleaning ladies, they left and we were put in our Villa.

The villa was just Ok, and would have been "Luxury" in 1984 but regardless it was a let down for the $400/Night especially in Thailand. After we put our bags down we thought it would be a great idea to go to our private beach and relax especially after the 23 hour flight from Western Canada. So as we walked out to the beach to find paradise, we noticed our Private pool was disgusting and full of construction garbage and tree leaves and totally unusable, Then instead of paradise we were instead greeted by our new neighbor for the next 7 days.....A Gigantic Full Size Track Hoe, and a Thai Concrete crew of 20+ men.

What the Friendly Nora Manager Prajuabphan Sakakorn had neglected to tell me on the phone when i called to confirm my room is that not only were the villas next to mine going to be under construction while we were there, but that they had been planning to Reconstruct the 6' high wall that seperated our "Luxury" villa and private beach from the public beach and Ocean while we would be there.

So every morning at 5am we would be awoken by this Metal Giant driving down the beach and 20 Thai concrete workers. Then the constant and extremely annoying and loud noise would not stop until sun down. Our expensive Paradise on the other side of the world has now been transformed in to a construction zone. Even as we tried to enjoy our own Private pool we could not as many times the men painting the villa next door would be coming out and watching us in the pool and walking bye our villa at least 90 times a day. The water to our villa and the rest of the resort was also cut off for 2 days while we were there with no resolve from the manager. As you can imagine this was not suitable to our needs and i requested to speak with the general manager.

This is where all the lies, deceit and broken promises started. GM Prajuabphan Sakakorn "Jeff" was more than happy to sit down with us to hear our concerns. after an hour of us explaining all the problems to him he began in with is dearest sympathy. We discussed what would be suitable for compensation for this problem and this is what we were guaranteed. He told us that he would Refund 50% of our Rate, Give us a Free 1 hour Couples Massage, a Free Private Beach Front Dinner and also he would pay for us to go on a tour of the angthong marine park.

We concluded our stay at this resort with non of these promises actually coming true. When we arrived home we got back in touch with "Jeff" and after several more emails and even more promises, We have decided to just give up and cut our losses after 6 months of Trying to receive some sort of compensation for our disaster of a stay.

For a Chain like NORA this is completely unacceptable and can not believe that they would treat a loyal costumer this way. I shall never return to any NORA properties nor will any of my business partners, family or friends. I highly suggest that no one stays at this overpriced, underwhelming property and that you stay anywhere else.

We stayed at 2 other properties on the island and they were absolutely beautiful and did everything to suit our needs. I would be more than happy to share all information i have with anyone else. I should also mention we travel quite frequently and this is the first bad review i have ever given as we are usually quite easy to please and will put up with quite a bit.

Room Tip: Choose a Room in any other Hotel chain on Chaweng Beach, or be smarter and go to the North West part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank welovesummer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We chose this hotel for our honeymoon. It was our first trip to Thailand, and this hotel made the experience even more special than the trip proved to be. Met by our personal transfer to take us from the airport to the hotel. Then greeted at the hotel with someone to take our bags to our room - and a young lady to take us on a tour of the hotel grounds and room. We stayed in the Tropical suite. Which included a spa bath, Massive bedroom, Lounge and dinning area and a bar! Location: 5 mins from the airport by Taxi, 3 mins to the main street via Taxi/Scooter. 20 minutes walk up hill via the road, or a relaxing walk on the beach front. the staff were faultless throughout the whole trip. Pool area was amazing, on the beach front with a nice in pool bar. Off the main beach so there isn't a lot of people bugging you to buy things from them. We didn't eat in the restaurant ( but we had lots of other places recommended to us) We ate lunch by the pool and the food was great! best spring rolls and phad thai noodles. Breakfast will suit all tastes. (From Bacon and Eggs to Fried Rice). The restaurant overlooks the beach. If you do choose this hotel - Say hello to our favourite staff members 'Wayu' and 'Gai' who work in the Pool bar. They were so friendly to us and made the stay so much better. The cocktail of the month was Banana Rama = Awesome!

We're already starting to plan our next Thailand Trip with another couple this time next year - Our plans Definitely include Nora Beach Resort.

Room Tip: Tropical suite adds extra value, but doesnt cost an arm and a leg like the pool suites. We had room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giannini000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

For the price, particularly for Thailand, this resort was lacking in quality and service (and space and luxury) enough to make it an "excellent" experience. I recommend looking at other places in the area. The pool was just perfect - best thing about it - particularly swimming up to the bar for happy hour, trying the new yummy cocktail of the day. It's a relatively small resort, so it didn't feel overwhelming with people and kids. The beach access was great- you can easily go between pool and beach all day and shop a little too with the beach side venders walking by with silk bathrobes, dresses and jewelry (in a very low key way, it wasn't over the top). The spa was expensive, but worth at least one treatment, with open bungalows for massage. If you're going to stay, definitely book the sea view bungalow rooms, which are small but nicely decorated and private (nice shower and tub). We thought about the pool rooms, but it's a waste of money likely given how nice the big pool is. Housekeeping and room service were sloppy - for $300+ a night I expect much more. The food at the resort is not so great, except for the breakfast which is plentiful, but there are a lot of other options around the resort for dinner (although transportation to and from gets really pricy), We found out late in the process they will provide free transportation to their other resorts. Location is fine - close to the crazy busy "downtown" area, which is not worth more than one trip (particularly if you can catch the drag queen show...most excellent and entertaining). Oh, and don't let them tell you the wireless works, it only works in the lobby, but we were told over and over it would work in the rooms, which it didn't. They blamed it on weather, but I suspect it's their system. Not impressed that I couldn't get a straight answer.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.7 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,401 reviews
1.8 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,777 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,412 reviews
2.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
1.8 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nora Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nora Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Nora Beach Resort and Spa
Address: 222 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach, Bophut | Koh Samui, Suratthani 84320, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#12 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nora Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Nora Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nora Beach Hotel Chaweng
Nora Beach Resort All Inclusive
Nora Beach Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing