We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful little piece of ko samui”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nora Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2008

After researching this site endlessly to decide which of the many hotels to stay in Koh Samui for our honeymoon in December, I thought I should contribute our experience at the Nora.
The setting of the Nora is excellent, huge landscaped gardens, the pool is practically on the beach, the swim up bar was awesome ( coconut dream cocktails $1.50 in happy hour) and the rooms were large and spacious, with lots of wood features giving ita real thai feel. We stayed in superior room and this was great for us, with a large balcony and couch that you could relax on. There was always fresh water and our room was made up every day to pristine condition.
The service was fantastic, everyone is always smiling, I dont think we ever had anyone not smile and greet us! They just cant do enough for you.
The restaurant was beautiful, right on the beach. Thai food was awesome and so cheap, western food was good also. The breakfast buffet was huge and you could have anything from making your own fresh juice to fried rice.
The location was good and bad because you felt so peaceful being away from chaweng and on your own stretch of private beach but at the same time we were going into town most days and the free shuttle wasnt at very convenient times so you were getting taxis all the time at about $12 a day. But if you didnt want to go to chaweng much, then this wouldnt matter.
We hired a jeep and drove around and went to Bo Phut for dinner this was magic had the best thai food ever at the Happy Elephant and cocktails in fishermans village right on the beach very romantic.
We had the best honeymoon ever and after being in bangkok for 3 days koh samui was magic. We loved the Nora and wouldnt hesitate to recommend it. Its not the most 5 star luxurious resort on the island but if u wanted that, be prepared to pay top dollar.
If you want a peaceful relaxing holiday with great service and beautiful surroundings go the Nora.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
12  Thank philthy_jada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,096)
There are newer reviews for Nora Beach Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

844 - 850 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed December 17, 2007

Just returned to a very wintry Canada from Koh Samui! My husband and I had a wonderful time at the Nora Beach Resort -- the staff were so friendly and helpful, breakfast was great, loved the seafood barbecue dinner, lazed poolside each day.
Took the resort shuttle into Chaweng Beach and a 100 baht (negotiated) taxi ride back. The resort is ideally situated -- peace and quiet at Nora Beach with nightlife and shopping a short trip away. Much better than staying at a resort at Chaweng Beach.
Recommend the Long Table and Chilli as good places to eat in Chaweng Beach.

Stayed: December 2007
4  Thank JenMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2007

Nora is a perfect place for those who search for silence and privacy. We stayed at Nore for five days and we loved it. The staff is very helpfull, the cleaning was very good and overall a good impression.
You can choose between regular hotelroom and villas. We stayed at a villa with a terrace and bathtub. It took us one minute to go down to the pool/beach and resturant. The hotel has team nights for dinner, cooking class and SPA. We tried it all and was very pleased. It was lovley to have breakfast on the resturant at the beach!
If its a minus with Nora its the location, we have to use taxi to down town and to lamiai and chaweng. But its defently wearth it.
I specially recomand it for honneymooners becouse its very romantic and calm there. Not a big party place.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Ijad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2007

We stayed at the Nora Beach in September for 7 nights and stayed in an Ocean View standard room. The rooms are a good size nice & clean with fairly good views.
The bathrooms need to have a bit of a face lift as they are a bit tired looking.
The only downside was the bed they are very hard and it took several nights to get used to it.
We liked this resort so much we are going back in June but this time staying in one of the Ocean Villa's the location of these are wonderful. The breakfast everymorning was good only the service around the pool needs to be addressed, very hard to find someone at other resorts they are always asking if you wanted another drink!
The steep hill up & down from the Resturant to the Foyer is quite steep but its great exercise.
Lovely romantic resort and can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarrathaWALee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2007

I would definitely recommend the nora beach to anyone staying in Ko Samui. When we arrived they had flower petals on the bed waiting for us (as we were a honeymmon Couple), which I thought was a nice touch. Stayed in a superior room with a lovely view of all the palm trees. The pool is good

The food in the resort is grand, the food by the pool was the most reasonable plus the breakfast here is top notch. We didn't eat in the restaurant at night though as we found it a bit pricey when you can go down to Chaweng and get the same meal for much cheaper price. The staff at the pool side bar are very hit and miss. They can be on the ball with their service but they can be very lethargic. All in all, the staff at the Nora were very good.

You have to get a taxi down town because of the location, it is a bit out of the way to Chaweng, this didn't bother us though, also the hotel offer a bus down at certain times, 100bht p.p. We also got a spa treatment here, which is well worth the money. They also have a free internet service which is good, but this is usually busy with all the kids using the computer, so you have to wait your turn...

All in all, good experience here

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank ronancamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2007

Just arrived back from Thailand where we stayed at the lovely Nora Beach Resort in Chaweng from the 5th to the 12th october. I must admit that i did quite a lot of research before we went and am glad that i made the right decision. We stayed in an ocean view villa which was over looking the pool and the sea, fantastic location. The rooms were big spacious and above all very comfortable. The staff at the hotel would have to be one of the nicest, friendliest accommodating we have ever come accross. The pool and beach are lovely eventhough the pool isn't the deepest. The location of the resort is a good 5mins in a Tuk from central Chaweng which is exactly what we wanted this time. It may be a little too far for some. The food in the restaurant and breakfast we found excellent. The only downside if any is it is quite a hilly/steep resort as others have said on here, if you're not in a rush which most people aren't in thailand you can wait for the golf carts which are flying around and the staff will kindly take you to the reception or wherever in the resort you want to go to.
Kara & Leonard Leahy (Cork Ireland)

6  Thank lleahy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2007

We stayed here as part of a wedding party in June 2007, in a standard room in a three-level block quite close to Reception. The room was large but sparsely furnished, the linen old and tired looking, and the bathroom due for renovation. However it was all clean and comfortable. They were renovating some rooms in our block while we were there, which could have been irritating, however we were out all day! The hotel grounds are beautiful, sloping from reception right down to the beach, and definitely hard to beat for the price. You can either have rooms in blocks, or villas on the grounds - our friends were in a villa and it was absolutely lovely and definitely the way to go for a couple. The breakfast was very good (especially the pancake lady), the area for dining right next to the beach provided lovely views and enhanced the relaxed feel of the place. The pool was ample-sized, considering the hotel was full we never felt crowded. Nobody was 'saving' sunbeds all day, as the staff removed towels from sunbeds after a period when it was obvious they were not being used. The pool bar was also a great hit. In fact this is the first time we have stayed at a hotel and have spent an entire day by the pool, and it was extremely relaxing. Other friends had a massage at the spa on the grounds, and highly recommneded that. Room Service ceases at 11pm, which we found a bit early, but we found the hotel on the whole lovely to stay at. Being just out of Chaweng Beach was no problem, as we hired a scooter at reception at a very reasonable rate (cheaper than taking tuk tuks or taxis which were 200bt one way). If we ever went back, I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank IFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.7 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 103 in Chaweng
2,492 reviews
1.8 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 103 in Chaweng
1,864 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 103 in Chaweng
1,472 reviews
2.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
2.4 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nora Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nora Beach Resort and Spa

Address: 222 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach, Bophut | Koh Samui, Suratthani 84320, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#12 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $108 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nora Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nora Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nora Beach Hotel Chaweng
Nora Beach Resort All Inclusive
Nora Beach Resort And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing