We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chaweng Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #97 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed February 25, 2006

Just got back 2 days ago from this hotel, I stayed here for 10 nights, I had my own bungalow, and have to agree with the guy from aberdeen that as sson as I entered this dark room I could smell the foist and damp immediately, the bed was huge but was simply 2 matresses side by side. The bathroom was dissapointing and grubby, the shower was hopelessly weak and after taking a shower the floor outside the sshowr is soaking wet as the curtain stops about 6 inches from the floor. Now i cant comment on the other tyoes of rooms here but my bungalow was was average at best. The first two days it rained heavily non stop and because of the design of the roof over my varander/porch type thing this got soaked so i couldnt sit outside and view the nice gardens. I didnt have breakfast at all here and never spent any time at the beach bar (try sandies down the beach), the staff at the reception seemed a bit miserable also, but overall i enjoyed my stay here but i do think they need to revamp the interiors of these bungalows. The location of the hotel is sxecond to non and it's restaurant at the front near the road is superb.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Markthemover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
There are newer reviews for Chaweng Villa Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 54 of 64 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2006

After reading several reviews on this hotel we decided to book it for 3 nights.
In hindsight I would of rather stayed at another hotel with better facilties on the same stretch of Chaweng beach. The pool is tiny and cold, theres not enough beach chairs, no wait staff for drink orders. Just a shabby 2-3 star property.
The one positive is the staff and grounds area.

Jason

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aussieward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2006

Myself and fiancé stayed at the Hotel for 15 nights.

We staying in one of the Deluxe Bungalows. No way was this deluxe. I don't even think it was standard.

As soon as I walked into the room you could smell the damp and mould. The bathroom was not much better. It was practically falling apart.

We did not make it for Breakfast the first 3 morning as we boozing until the earlier hours (I will come back to this later) but we did on the 4th.

It was awful. We were feeling a bit ruff and could not handle anything to heavy so I headed straight for the bread to make some toast.

I got the shock of my life. There was massive ants crawling all over the bread. After seeing that me first thoughts were to head back to table and just stick to the Coffee.
That was just as bad. There were crawling up the legs of the table and all over the table cloth. That was it. We just left and had some breakfast on one of the lovely restaurants on the beach.

I know you can't expect the same level as Health and Hygiene as you do in the UK but there is no excuse for Ants crawling all over the Breakfast Food.

My last moan about the Hotel was on the our last day. Our flight did not leave until 1830.I called reception the night before obviously willing to pay more for a late check-out.
They said this would be fine and the cost would be an additional THB600.
We were both relaxed after this as we could enjoy our last night without having to be out of the room by 12.00noon.
Anyway on the last day Reception called the room at 1150 and said it was now not possible as they just had a late booking.

We so mad. As your imagine we're both dying after not getting back to our room until 4.00am and still had to pack.

After a about an hour we finally checked out. As we still had a 5 hour wait until our flight we hung by the pool. What really infuriated us was the entire time we sat by the pool felling really ill (I know it was self inflicted) our room was still empty.

I would defiantly not go back to this Hotel again. We paid THB1700 per night( this was a Travel Agent Rate) As I am a Travel Agent and I would not recommend this Hotel to any of my clients or anybody I know. There is much nicer accommodation further down the beach for the same price.

Other than the accommodation being rubbish we did have the a Holiday of a Lifetime.

The nightlife was excellent. If you like your Dance Music the best Bar on the beach has to be the Ark Bar. They have a Beach Party and BBQ every Wednesday with a Local DJ playing. Another good Venue is the Green Mango this is open until 3.00am.

If you want after hour drinks there is only 2 places we know of. First is the Crash Bar. They are open until 2.00am but if you're there about 1.30am they will usually have a lock in until 5.00/6.00am. The other Bar is Hendrix's. This bar plays all Rock / Indie Music and is open until about 6.00am.

If you are planning to go to Koh Samui make sure it is when the Full Moon Party is on. That was on 3rd last night. The best drink to have is a bucket of Samsung and Red Bull. It will keep you awake all night.

Stayed: November 2005
3  Thank orco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2005

Hi there,

We had a nice stay at Chaweng Villa. We had a deluxe bungalow, though I think I would have preferred the wooden split level - more Thai authentic and it was less expensive too! My husband ruled on this one though.

Fabulous location if you like to be close to the action. It's no 5 star, gorgeous resort, but had friendly, comfortable feel and great staff.

This was a short stopover for us before going to Thang Pan Noi in northern Koh Pang-Nan and was about 1 of 8 hotels we stayed at during our 5-week holiday. Would recommend it for a short stay, but not if you're looking to be pampered in paradise.

P.S. The magic of Thailand just isn't the same during rainy season - wish we had waited to go in November or March!!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mangotree42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2005

i would recommend Chaweng Villa in low season but not anywhere on Chaweng during high season (too noisy,crowded e.t.c.). The cheapest bungalows are, in my opion, the best.Great
wooden interior,split-level bed.bags of character! Nice staff, good pool for lounging right on the beach (too small for serious swimming). Good breakfast and the guy who cooks the eggs
is one of the nicest people you'll ever meet!

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank bangkokgas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ste76tripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Lalia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.2 mi away
P&P Samui Resort
P&P Samui Resort
#71 of 103 in Chaweng
136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#68 of 184 in Bophut
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Suneast Bungalows
Suneast Bungalows
#164 of 184 in Bophut
36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#57 of 103 in Chaweng
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaweng Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Villa Beach Resort

Address: 157 Moo 2 | Bophut, Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $45 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chaweng Villa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chaweng Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Villa Beach Hotel Chaweng
Chaweng Hotel Beach
Chaweng Villa Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing