We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Nearby Hotels
$130
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$397
LuxuryCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
KC Resort & Over Water Villas(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amari Koh Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$135
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nora Buri Resort & Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$153
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dara Samui Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$111
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$197
$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$176
$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Chaweng Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$137
OZOHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Poppies Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,591)
Filter reviews
1,591 results
Traveler rating
1,105
396
62
19
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,105
396
62
19
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbaitong restaurantchaweng beachthe general managerkoh samuibeach frontdeluxe bungalowfront office managertour deskwhite sandbeautiful beachdinner on the beachclear watercooking classspecial thanksfantastic locationfantastic stayfamily holiday
Filter
Updating list...
924 - 929 of 1,591 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2010

great place, ill give it 3-4 star, nice rooms, in a great, clean, quiet part of chaweng beach with easy access to all the meny bars, restaurants and night life.

only downside is the small pool..

would deafenetlly return, wont pay over 150-180 $ per night...

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank uri117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2010

This department we're visited already in the year 2002, has excellent position,from one’s parties department have snow-white sand beach,from second busy street with many restaurants plus bars. Ride from airport lasts couple of minutes. We should have pool villa,was cosy,but globally shortish,it all puts tell of bathroom. Restaurants be in at swimming - pool,selection foods to breakfast come in handy to. Vemte car plus ride on uninhabited parts island,coconut village. Below her shelter gorgeous beach with beautiful bathing.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vk68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Really nice hotel with really nice staff .... the room was spacious enough for my partner and me and very close to the beach and the restaurant.
Very quiet and charming, the place is surrounded by flowers and trees.
There's a massage room just in front of the beach which is very handy if you want to relax and enjoy the sound and the view of the sea with your partner :)) and it's not expansive (around 6 euros for an hour) good value and very good massage!!!
There's a swimming pool with jacuzzi but we didn't use it we prefered the beach and the sand!!!

The area around the hotel is nice, crowded, nice restaurants and specially one very good restaurant: Ninja ... very good value for very good food ... we were having dinner there everyday.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Choubibou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2009

After deliberating about whether to at Sala Samui or X2, we ended up staying here for 6 nights. Our first room was a deluxe double. To me it was SMALL with an odd layout. On night 2 we upgraded to a beachfront villa for an additional $60 a night bringing our total room cost to $169.00 including breakfast. I looked at the triple room which was ample in size and they were not going to charge us extra, but we decided to splurge. The breakfast is regular international tourist fare but well prepared. We walked up and down the beach and can confirm that this really is the most desirable spot on Chaweng Beach. Clean and beautiful white sand and turquoise waters. When the weather took a turn, so did the surf and that brought out the surfers much to my surprise! The internet is spotty. The location is right on the main drag of Chaweng and for us it was great. Fortunately we hit Koh Samui right before the season started so it wasn't totally claustophobic & crazy. The service here is wonderful. The low cleanliness mark is because the maids do not take your used coffee cups and glassware away. Nor do they replenish the ammenities such as the shampoo unless you ask. I thought this was odd.
I have to say that our bed in the double was HARD but you become used to this after 3 weeks in Thailand, but after upgrading, the bed was significantly nicer....the old addage you get what you pay for rings true here. The pool area is nice and well thought out. The service on the beach is also nice. Bring your mosquito repellant because there prescence is definately felt...literally. Otherwise you will enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank psyderGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Stayed 4 nights in September at the Banana Fan Sea Resort.

Though the resort does nothing particularly special to distinguish itself from the numerous other beach-side hotels lining the Chaweng strip, this is still a fine mid-range choice. Too bad about the hotel staff. They are cordial enough but do not seem to want to go out of their way for guests. We found this to be a recurring theme in most of the hotels we have stayed at on Koh Samui.

The resort, however, is spotless and very well maintained. You can find staff sweeping the walkways or watering the lush tropical vegetation throughout the resort at all times of the day. Our deluxe room with king-size bed was also very clean, well maintained, cheerful and quite comfortable. The added bonus of room 407 was that it stood on its own as a single unit bungalow, meaning we had no immediate neighbors connected to our room unlike the other semi-detached deluxe rooms surrounding us. In the end, this layout was probably a non-factor but it was comforting to know that we needn't worry as much about noise and privacy issues. Likewise, absolutely no complaints with the brightly lit bathroom with clean fixtures and great pressure from the shower head.

The buffet breakfast included was decent and worth getting up for but was
your typical mid-range Thai resort buffet breakfast fare. The main pool and deck was also well maintained and we spent pleasant afternoons lounging on the deck chairs surrounding the pool. When it got too hot, the pool was exceptionally satisfying as it had a deep end at 1.65 meters.

Of course, when you get bored of the pool and find you want some sand and surf, the beach awaits a few steps away. This may actually be the main selling point of Banana Fan Sea Resort as the beach property where the resort sits must be one of the prettiest in Chaweng. The whitest and finest sandy beach in Chaweng and possibly the whole of Koh Samui can be found here with sun loungers reserved for guests only. However, it goes without saying, if your main desire is for peace and quiet, go elsewhere.

The location on the road side was not as good. Maybe it's because the resort is located at the southern end of the strip, but I found no convenience stores or money exchange booths in the immediate vicinity. Still, nothing that can't be reached after a few minutes walk. The ever popular Ninja Crepes is very close so be sure to hit this place for cheap and tasty Thai food. But give yourself lots of time because it took us and the people at other tables more than an hour to be served after staff took orders. This is unacceptable for any restaurant but especially for a cheap no-frills Thai joint such as this one. But I must assert again that it was cheap (full meal for 2 people including drinks for less than 400 THB) and very good.

In conclusion, next time I plan a trip to Chaweng, I would not hesitate to stay at this resort. When it comes to a mid-range hotel with clean facilities, decent amenities and great beach location, all while remaining close to the action that is central Chaweng, there may be no substitute. I think it's fair to classify Banana Fan Sea Resort as a top-notch 3 star resort on Koh Samui.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hard8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews