We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Ranked #5 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel fantastic staff”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We moved here as our other hotel was much too quiet. The hotel was so accommodating, such helpful staff. Gorgeous beach area. Such clean tidy rooms staff left the rooms immaculate. We will definitely be returning. Thank you banana fan

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smurfette84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    961
    367
    60
    19
    7
See reviews for
338
712
56
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greer, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed five nights at the BFSR. We enjoyed our time at the beach very much and stayed in a garden side bungalow that was pretty quiet. The rooms are not super flashy, but they are clean and the beds are comfy (we asked for softer pillows after the first night and we quickly got some). The beach club a few hotels over does play pretty loud bass music at night that was heard faintly in the evening, but not enough to prevent us from sleeping. We were comfortable in our room and the air conditioning worked quickly and efficiently once it was kicked on. We were also surprised by an elaborate flower display on the bed for our 10th anniversary and they gave us a bottle of sparkling wine, which was an incredibly thoughtful gesture.
The breakfast was okay-- not terrible, but not wonderful. However, the coffee was A+ and your room price included lattes, cappuccinos, etc. at will in the morning (--which was a very nice touch since other places we've been that's an upcharge).
The beach is fantastic, very clean and a good enough reason to stay here.
The main drawback to this resort for us was that we felt that we were one of the only non-smokers staying and we were surrounded by cigarette smoke at every turn, all day long. In the morning, people were puffing away in the restaurant even though there were "zones" marked for smoking/non smoking, they were not separated enough to make a difference. Also, on the beach, it got old very quickly. The resort does advertise itself as a non-smoking resort and when we asked, we were told, yes, they were because smoking was forbidden in the lobby and in the rooms...But it is a little misleading. The staff said they couldn't really ask people to stop smoking and suggested we ask people to move away from us if they were bothering us. We wouldn't feel comfortable doing so.
The staff were all geuninely friendly as well. A pretty nice hotel overall that would be great if they could work on accommodating smokers and non-smokers alike.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonjonsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We came back for the second time (after 5 years) and stayed in a garden bungalow. We were greeted like family and felt very welcome. The bungalow was very small so we asked for another bungalow and they gave us (complementary) a bungalow for 3 persons, just for the two of us. That was nice and we had therefore more space. The exterior of the hotel and the garden look amazing. On the other hand I must say that the bungalows are a bit outdated from the inside. That goes for the room and the bathroom. I would only come back if they renovate the bungalows because it is really too old. If you have a high standard I would not recommend it.
But besides that, there are a lot of pros;
the location (in Chaweng but not at the busiest place)
the staff (very kind and polite people who like to make a conversation and are interested in you)
the beach (soft sand and the sea is lovely and in my opinion one of the best in Asia)
the beautiful garden
the restaurant (good quality, looks nice in the evening, on the beach, and the red curry with duck is amazing!)

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

I had reserved a deluxe thai village which turned out to be a superior room ( I know what the definition means).However it turned out to be a room off the lobby above a garage/kitchen/staff meeting place facing the street. At 2.00am I heard glass bottles being dumped.
I was offered a upgrade at $40 more to a garden suite amongst the palms, if you have to have lights on during the day then to me it says move along.Which is exactly what I did.

Breakfast service- Rates a big fat zero, is that hot at 8.00am to ignore the farang?
This is an extremely old establishment, there are more modern places such as KC Beach Club next door and Ozo and The Library in succession

Room Tip: Location location location, if in doubt email the hotel asking the room description
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lastresort88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We had a group of eight and we were looked after well, nothing was ever a hassle for them and every request was met with a smile.

They remembered our coffee orders each morning.

Its is a great location as it is walking distance to everything but at the quieter end of Cheweng Beach.

The resort is big enough to have an atmosphere but small enough that it is not overun by too many guests.

I recommend staying here as it is a great mid range resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaBos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Decided to take a week at the beach.....not really beachy people but it was nice all the same.
Hotel....we had room 206 + 207 as we had two kids with us and it was ideal, Large clean rooms both wth separate bathrooms....yes bathrooms a bit dated but clean.
Staff are very pleasant and very efficient.....Koh Samui seemed to be quiet...possibly due to the coup but we never felt threatened.

One negative....Hotel states non-smoking restaurant but fails to enforce it and having to inhale someone fag smoke at 7am is not nice! Either enforce it or do not advertise it!

Hotel restaurant is ok, food nice, but better to be had outside to be honest.

Breakfast was adequate and again staff very good.

Beach was clean with plenty of sunbeds.....although many folk seemed obsessed in claiming them at the beach and the pool...at the same time....glad we are not beachy people....some seem strange ;-)

Room Tip: 206-207 for family
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterhone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abu dhabi
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

have stayed here 4 times and the hotel staff never fail to impress. From the water and cool towels when being collected at the airport, to the clean and spacious rooms, the excellent breakfast, the massage at the beach, to the staff who go out of their way to make your stay fabulous.
The location is brilliant at the best end of the beach and close enough to the shops but far away enough to enjoy tranquility.
the rooms are older but always clean, good water pressure and everything works, and the wifi is also good. Traditional NOT modern, so if brand spanking new hotel is what your after this is not the place for you. But if a comfortable clean place that makes you feel special and valued, then banana Fan Sea is the place to stay

Will stay here again and have no issues recommending to others.

Room Tip: Massage on the beach - ladies there are fabulous and very professional. Across the road and up abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melanienz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,779 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,345 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
699 reviews
0.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.8 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Fan Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Fan Sea Resort

Property: Banana Fan Sea Resort
Address: 201 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banana Fan Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Banana Fan Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Fan Sea Hotel Chaweng
Banana Fan Sea Bophut
Banana Fan Sea Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing