We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Ranked #5 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Recently spent 4 nights here and was so glad we chose this hotel. The location is without a doubt the best part of Chaweng beach white soft sand and the beach is wonderful, a few waves and so clean.We stayed in a bungalow behind the pool, you could see the ocean from our verandah. The room was lovely, very comfortable and clean and the bathroom was fine. The gardens are tropical and well maintained. Loved the breakfast, and we ate there at lunch a few times and had dinner on the beach which was so pleasant.loved the entertainment, an older phillipino guy singing he was so good.The staff are so helpful and friendly, they go out of their way to assist you and ensure your comfort.I enjoyed the pool there were plenty of sun beds and also on the beach as well. Booked a few tours at the front desk she was so helpful and efficient.We stayed at 3 different places in Thailand and this was our favourite.Had a few massages and the girls were fantastic! Cant wait to come back one day.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kezza621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

587 - 593 of 1,524 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2014

We recently stayed at the Banana Fan Sea Resort for 2 nights. I was a bit apprehensive as we hadn't been to Chaweng before so just picked it from viewing it online. I thought the name sounded a little...dinky, but soon discovered it's named after the beautiful banana fan palm trees that are dotted around the hotel grounds.

The resort itself is situated on what has to be the best part of Chaweng's beach. We walked from one end of this beach to the other, and it was only this mid-section that had sand as soft as powder. The beach here was also super shallow, had the most beautifully clear water and was a delight to swim in (other than the sunburn). We'll be staying here again one day for the beach alone.

The resort itself was very pleasant. The staff were all friendly, the breakfast delicious and in a good spot. The pool was nice but odd-shaped - where it had a shallow rim, but the middle was actually quite deep, that made it a bit uncomfortable for just bobbing in. There were two raised shallow spa type areas though which i suppose would be perfect if you had kids here.

The pool area itself was clean, though some of the towels were a bit on the manky side and could use replacing with new ones.

The room was a raised hut of sorts and set amongst the beautiful tropical gardens of the hotel. Everywhere you go you hear running water, and are shaded by the magnificent palms. The room itself was fine - our room had a queen sized bed and another slightly larger than single. As we were just a couple, I'm not sure how we ended up with this room. Basic facilities were provided in the room, including moisturizer which was great for the sunburn!

If I had any room complaints it would be that the bed was actually very hard - i slept quite well in it, but it was rock hard. It was also difficult to cover the windows completely with the curtains, so the room was a lot lighter than I like.

Each night the hotel sets up a restaurant on the beach, which considering how awesome the sand is (it's seriously so soft!), it was great to sit down there. On Monday nights they do an all you can eat BBQ buffet - which was fairly average i thought. It seemed light on actual barbeque, with many standard buffet fare food there instead. I was hoping for some seriously delicious spit-roast meat, or skewers etc - but there was really not much to be found.

The BBQ entertainment was a couple singing - initially just a guy, and then a pacific islander dancing show.... I can honestly say this was terrible. The guy...Banana Friend, has an awful voice, and his female companion was likewise awful. The dancing show was accompanied by the most cheesiest voice over dialogue i've ever heard...think like early 80's american voice over guy......how about some traditional thai dancing? Thailand has such an amazing culture - including dancing, and we get this...crap! Likewise, lose the singers.....either some relaxing music, or someone with a decent voice. While we thoroughly enjoyed eating on the beach, having that guy crooning in the background was a real detraction. It did crack me up when he wanders through the diners though, like some kind of super minor celebrity!

Anyway all in all, this hotel is too be recommended. Great location, mostly comfortable room, good food, and on what has to be the best portion of beach i've found on Samui to date.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcus D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

On the notice board in the lobby, there were pictures of some guests with little notes saying 'Welcome home for your 4th/5th/6th visit'.
On the first day, we thought they must be crazy. On the last day, we were almost certain we'd be back too.

Every single staff member is a joy to talk to, and always ready to help. The entire resort is beautifully designed. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious and have everything you might need.

But what really makes it probably the best choice on Chaweng is the location. It's far enough from all the noise, yet within walking distance. The beach in front of it is fantastic with clear water and fine sand. They have plenty of loungers for the guests, and happy hours twice daily, at noon and in the evening.

The hotel's Baitong Restaurant on the beach deserves a special mention too. It was one of the best meals we had in Thailand (not an easy feat, that) and the view overlooking the sea is great.

Banana Fan Sea is the kind of place that may not look extraordinary at first, but it quickly grows on you, and the warmth of the staff makes the experience even more memorable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank z_glass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We stayed here for five nights. We enjoyed it. We had a very nice bungalow near the beach. They have a decent breakfast and reasonably good variety. Juthamas on reception is really so friendly and professional. She made us feel so welcome.
I would recommend this hotel, but just make sure when you are booking to call the manager Juthamas and ask for a room as closer to the beach, rather than close to reception.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the lobby area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank morganmadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Stayed in Banana Fan Resort with friends and just left for Phuket, we miss it already. The location is perfect as it is almost exactly central along Chaweng Beach.
The rooms are very large and spacious with a great bathroom. The in room mini bar is cheaper then going outside the resort and they offer happy hour twice daily for 2 hours with great prices and free penauts by the pool or on the beach.
The staff are the frendliest and most professional we have seen on our multi country holiday.
Definitely coming back sometime!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrettStainlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed here for 5 days. We do love this resort with fine room, very good breakfast and there lunch and dinner were very good - especially there grilled fresch fish att the beach was marvelous. A little too hard beds in the room but very clean and tidy. All staff were very friendly and polite. In other world we liked the resort very much!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaPannaHanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at Banana Fan a couple weeks back and the experience went beyond all expectations. Juthamas, those at reception and all staff working within the resort were always super helpful and friendly, making every encounter an absolute pleasure. The resort is located on the beautiful Chaweng Beach, but is situated away from the noise and the crowds so you can enjoy the amazing views in total tranquility. The rooms, gardens and facilities are impeccable, with special mention of the pool and buffet breakfast as they were our personal favourites! Thank you Banana Fan for a great stay, your hospitality really made our Thailand experience that extra bit special and we look forward to staying with you again in the future.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank clawd1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
1,952 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,406 reviews
0.5 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#11 of 104 in Chaweng
2,605 reviews
0.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.8 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Fan Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Fan Sea Resort

Address: 201 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $136 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banana Fan Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Banana Fan Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Fan Sea Hotel Chaweng
Banana Fan Sea Bophut
Banana Fan Sea Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing