We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little treasure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Ranked #5 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little treasure”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Our family of 4 adults and 2 young children spent four wonderful days at this clean, quiet and friendly Hotel. The cabins and rooms are spacious and clean. The cleaning and gardening staff were very conscientious. The restaurant, overlooking the great beach, encourages you to choose the strength of the Thai spices to suit your taste and the food is excellent. We are already planning a repeat visit.

Room Tip: There is one Beach Front Villa with private pool. It is twice the price of the superior rooms but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nuken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    938
    362
    57
    19
    7
See reviews for
327
697
55
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We recently stayed at Banana fan sea and loved it! We were tavelling as 2 adults and 2 children aged 18 months and almost 3.
We were surprised how small the 2 bedroom pool view rooms were, however we soon adjusted and loved our stay. We had stayed at a different place in much larger accomodations so perhaps our view was a tad warped but the 2 bedroom pool view comprises of one small room with queen bed and small bathroom and the other room is the same with an attached lounge area but the lounge is not separate (just separated). It also has a small bathroom. Our rooms were situated the closest to the pool and restaurant which we felt was ideal. It was not too noisy (except for the extraordinarily load fireworks that people (not the resort) let off at night.
The food was delicious and very well priced. We ate every breakfast, and many lunches and dinners at the restaurant and thought it was amongst the best we had had in Thailand. The room service menu is limited but has a good selection.
But the thing that makes this resort stand out and makes us want to return for our next holiday is the staff! Very very friendly and warm and very nice to our children.
I certainly understand why it has such a high ranking on trip advisor.

Room Tip: We had rooms 206 and 207 which are attached by a secure sliding door to make one 2 bedroom apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 8Feliz9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

I stayed at Banana Fan Sea with a friend for 2 nights. From the moment we set foot in the resort, we were extremely well looked after. We were immediately welcomed with an upgrade to a garden deluxe room only a few steps away from the beach / pool area. The rooms were not particularly modern or unique, but very nice. However, the pool / beach area is fantastic. The beach section assigned to the hotel is on the quieter end of Chaweng beach and simply beautiful. If you want to enjoy the Chaweng nightlife you only need to walk a mere 10 minutes along the beach to the other end. At night, this is a beautiful walk. The hotel is clean, staff are helpful & friendly. I would definitely go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SvenKon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

This resort is great. It's right on the beach so you have the option of lazing about the pool or on the beach. It is down the southern, more quiet end of Chaweng which I enjoyed. Having spent NYE at the 'party end' this was a perfect contrast. The staff are lovely, the rooms are beautiful and the food at the restaurant is great. The included breakfast is really delish and there is plenty to choose from.
This place is great for couples, families, singles and friends.
Overall I would recommend this place to anyone and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Depends how many people you have and what you're after- but the little huts closer to the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Banana Fan Sea Resort My home from home . Another 15 days in this resort I wish it was more .The staff are all so caring and make this resort the only choice when we come to Kho Samui . I have been here 8 times and now feel part of the family , a good resort makes you feel at home and anticipate your needs . From breakfast to turning down the bed in the evening everything is perfect . We will return again soon to see all our friends at the Banana fan Sea resort .

David and Nid England

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidBain2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

I like this hotel, it's my second stay here from total 4 visits. Nice location, nice rooms, friendly staff. You will feel yourself very comfortable in this hotel. If you are looking for the nice hotel in the first line of Chaweng it's a right choice. Some hints: very good sea food restaurant Sydney is located on the left side from the hotel, good massage center Friend ( orange chairs, orange uniform) - 200 -300 m on the right side

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mysyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I stayed with my girl friend at Banana Fan Sea Resort for nearly a week in December 2013.

We stayed in 502 which was near reception. The room and bathroom were clean and tidy. More functional than beautiful, but the room was spacious. We overlooked the main road, so had the noise off the street at night, which was a bit of a surprise as we had been on Koh Phi Phi previously where there are virtually no cars.

The hotel staff were very welcoming and attentive, they make you feel very regal. We love Pop who is in charge of the activities counter, and booked a few different attractions with her and got her dinner location recommendation every night. Thanks Pop for getting us a good price on everything! Pop had some great recommendations, like going to Fisherman’s Village on a Friday night. Great street food and souvenirs.

Breakfast was delicious, and I loved the beach front balcony tables. So stunning!

The hotel has a great pool, although you've got to be quick with the sun beds.. we never failed to get one, but there won’t be a lot of choice if you turn up later on. The staff were good at coming around and serving us pool side.. I' still dreaming of that banana fritter! The beach was also beautiful and always has plenty of sunbeds.

My birthday was during the time I stayed, and the staff kindly brought out a cake for breakfast and when I went to my room in the evening, I had a beautiful happy birthday message designed out of leaves and flowers – very thoughtful.

I would definitely stay here again, though I’d definitely get a room away from the road!

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the beach, definitely not on the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.5 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Fan Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Fan Sea Resort

Property: Banana Fan Sea Resort
Address: 201 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banana Fan Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Banana Fan Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Fan Sea Hotel Chaweng
Banana Fan Sea Bophut
Banana Fan Sea Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing