We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of paradise in Koh Samui”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Ranked #5 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013

After much debate, we settled on the Banana Fan Sea Resort.

The impressive quality began with the airport pickup: air conditioned vehicle, moist towel to freshen up and cold water to help cool down. At the reception, we were greeted with big smiles and a friendly staff. We were served a complementary drink while filling out the paper work.
From there, we were taken to our room where we were greeted with a small little house near the pool (room 106). We were on our honeymoon, and therefore, received a beautiful flower-made greeting on the bed and some champagne.

We made the most of our first day and enjoyed the large pool, the massage service on the beach and the - best of all - beautiful and warm beach water. We had a bite at the nearby Baitong Restaurant (linked to the resort) which was also responsible for serving breakfast. Breakfast was plentiful and had everything you could want. Bread, cereal, pastery, eggs (various types, made on the spot), fruit, cooked foods, etc, etc. Everything was delicious. The first night (Monday) we also made a reservation for a BBQ night with Polynesian Dancing. These happen every Monday night and should be attended by all.

The sleep was also good. While located on the main street, our room was distant from any noise that could ruin our nights. The room was spacious, as was the bathroom. However, don't expect (at least for room 106) completely new and modern equipment and furniture. Nonetheless, that won't be the reason for a poor stay at the resort.

In the end, the staff at Banana Fan are priceless and make your stay perfect. It's right on the beach and leads to the main street of Chaweng, where you can find shops and restaurants.

Don't miss the chance to stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Samuel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,523)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

653 - 659 of 1,523 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

An extremely relaxed hotel and quiet.Beautiful ocean view, one of the most friendly and polite staff we have ever experienced. The beach a bit rocky better for swimming at the pool.
If you are looking for relaxed vacation, this might be the perfect place in Koh Lanta. I will come back to you Crawn Lanta

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I got to spend 3 wonderful days in this great resort right on the beach at Cheweng. On our arrival (even though late at night) we were greeted with a warm, friendly staff and a cold drink! We were shown to our great bungalow and nothing was a trouble for this resort. From breakfast to dinner you are greeted by friendly staff with a smile, happy to be of assistance or just to say hello, this was from the wonderful front office staff to the room cleaners to the grounds keepers. This was our first trip to Thailand and Koh Samui and we had been warned of the loudness of Cheweng, we did not find this at this resort. Located far enough from the night life for a quiet holiday but close enough to shops and nightlife if you choose. We wished we had stayed longer but had already booked to explore Bo Phut instead. Also, don't go past the amazing cocktails and awesome massages on the beachfront. I wished we had stayed the 6 days at Banana Fan. A photo on our departure and a cold drink while waiting on our shuttle, makes this resort a step above what is required and should we return to Koh Samui in the future, we would not hesitate in staying again. A place for those working in to be proud of....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Damian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great Location right on the beach and relaxing atmosphere. As with majority of Thailand hotels, amazing friendly staff.
The hotel is only minutes away from the shops and bars of the main street in Chaweng but despite this it was very quiet at night. We took advice from trip advisor entries and selected a deluxe room near to the pool which was a good choice. We had trouble with the toilet blocking in our room (208) on three occasions, but this was always addressed. Not a major problem but a little inconvenient.
The only disappointment was the cost of the room. We are regular travellers to Thailand and can see that Koh Samui is a little more up market than most other resorts we have visited, but for the price of a room in August we could have stayed at an up-market London West End hotel. Again, travelling in August, the patron is penalised with high season rates but we were committed to attending a wedding, so had no choice on dates. I guess that staying at mid or low season rates would have been more fitting for the standard of room and hotel which we experienced? That said, I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again.
Please note that the hotel does not have a fitness centre.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RotherhamRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

What impressed me most was the warmth of the staff. Unfortunately my mother had an accident at one of the tours we were taking and we had to leave for home the very next day. I came from the hospital to pack and was overwhelmed by the way each and every member of the staff came and comforted me, they kept on apologising that our holiday had to end this way. One of them even came to the hospital to visit my mom. Would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mahvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This was the second time I have stayed at Banana Fan Sea and it is fantastic! I went with my family (mother, father and sister) and we stayed in adjoining rooms. The rooms are spacious, and there is fresh drinking water provided each day. The only downside of the rooms I feel is that they need more lights just to brighten them up.
Our room was about a 10 second walk to the beach, which has private deck chairs for guests of the Banana Fan. Breakfast each morning leaves you beyond full! With options such as pancakes, traditional thai, cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, hashbrowns bacon and an egg man that will cook you any type of eggs you want. As well as this it is on the main road with many fantastic little market type stalls, which I prefer to the enclosed shops which have overtaken the road a few km down.
Overall I was beyond pleased with my stay! The staff are fantastic and make you feel very welcome. We will definitely stay with Banana Fan again!

Room Tip: We stayed closer to the beach in rooms numbered 350-400
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I have been with the family for 10 days, and confirm what is indicated by the reviews.
very good the accommodation and structure of resort. good position near of the center of the life but quiet ambient. staff friendly and supportive. beautiful beach in good location.
i recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GIBISABY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
1,952 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,406 reviews
0.5 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,601 reviews
0.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.8 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Fan Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Fan Sea Resort

Address: 201 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $136 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banana Fan Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Banana Fan Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Fan Sea Hotel Chaweng
Banana Fan Sea Bophut
Banana Fan Sea Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing