We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great locations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Ranked #5 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2008

Trip advisor you are great and thank you for all the people who take the time to write reviews. I read reviews on about ten properties in Koh Samui and finally decided to book the Banana Fan Sea for a group of ten friends - bit of a responsibility I know but not one person was disappointed.

Location is great and we didn't have the noise of the jetskis but we were close enough to the action that we could walk to wherever we wanted to go. Rooms were good, king bed, very clean and the best bar fridge we have experienced, beers were really cold. Breakfast was great and staff friendly. Check in was prompt, especially as the ten of us arrived all together, but receptionist had everything under control. Pool area was nice and the chairs on the beach were great. Never seemed to have a problem getting a chair and they had 100% occupancy.

One afternoon I went and had a look at other properties that I had researched and came to the conclusion that this was the best, nicer area of beach, better pool and nicer gardens and I do prefer the bungalow accommodation and all bungalows have their own verandah at the front, except for the rooms closer to reception, so make sure you book Deluxe bungalow.

My husband and I have always liked Phuket and this was our first visit to Koh Samui, so now we are going to find it hard to choose, however this trip we did Kao Lak, then flew Bangkok Air from Phuket to Koh Samui for five nights and then back to Phuket for five nights. It was good to split the holiday as Koh Samui is different to Phuket and we still like them both.

Congratulations staff and management of Banana Fan Sea for their great hospitality.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and we can't wait to go back.

Karen

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Whitebridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

892 - 898 of 1,484 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2008

This hotel was one of my favorite we have ever stayed at. The staff was very friendly and extremely professional. The rooms are very nice and modern - not too big though. Very clean hotel. The pool is great and sits right on the beach. The hotel offers a wide breakfast spread. Its a top star hotel - highly recommend as we were there for our honeymoon.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank evs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2008

Beautiful place to stay in koh samui, nice surrondings and great bungalows. this is an uppgrade hotel, but it´s definately worth the price. Great breakfeast and pool was right next to the beach. Free towls and good service. Perfect for a romantic stay.

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Aus-Schweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2008

This is a great hotel. The gardens are lovely, the rooms are clean and comfortable and surrounded by lovely gardens. The pool is lovely with great views out to sea. The beach area is good, the only negative was the Germans putting their towels out very early in the morning and reserving lounges which they wouldnt use until hours later - very annoying. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Kazza59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2008

This is a great resort!! My boyfriend and I (both 30 yrs) stayed at BFS for 5 nights at the beginning of March 08. We were collected at Koh Samui on time by the resort air-conditioned people carrier with a friendly, smiley driver who gave us bottles of water for the 15 minute transfer. Check in was quick and easy.

We had booked bungalow 328 which is a beachfront villa with an outdoor jacuzzi and private sundeck. The bungalow was absolutely lovely, modernised, clean and spacious with a living area, 2 tv’s, dvd, well equipped bathroom, storage space etc. The bedroom had an extremely comfortable bed with a memory foam mattress. We had such beautiful views of the sea and waves out of the bedroom and living area with floor to ceiling windows. It was remarkably quiet at night..apart from the sound of crashing waves. The jacuzzi was lots of fun with bubbling warm water and pretty much private / secluded. 328 is without doubt the nicest bungalow in the resort with the best location; it is literally ON the beach, 10 steps or so from the door to the sand, which was brilliant. Although pricey compared to the rest of the accommodation, you cannot go wrong if you book room 328!! We had looked at staying at Tongsai Bay, as well as Sala Samui - both 5 star resorts..but felt they may have lacked atmosphere..am extremely happy with the choice we made instead.

The resort is well laid out with a good size swimming pool, chilled out bar and restaurant. Having walked up and down Chaweng beach, we definitely thought that BFS was on the best part of the beach, in terms of lovely soft sand, sea breeze and the sea which was inviting with playful waves. There is also a ‘relax corner’ just under the resort, on the beach with wonderful cheap thai massages for around £4 for an hour! We were up pretty early so always got sun loungers after breakfast; however, there were a number of Germans laying towels down as early as 6.30!!? The majority of the guests were German, Scandinavian and a few English.

Breakfast was varied with a pretty good selection of fruit, juices, breads and a dedicated chef to cook eggs any way for you. We had lunch there a few times and chose to eat off the pool / beach menu which was good value and a selection of thai and western meals. Happy hour was from 4 or 5ish to 7 and we really enjoyed chilling out, drinking cheap cocktails sitting overlooking the beach.

Dinner, BFS have a variety of theme nights from BBQ, European and Thai but we decided to venture out to other places which we highly recommend you go to (Prego, Poppies, Dining on the Rocks, The Pier at Fishermans Village and Eat Sense).

The Staff at BFS were brilliant. So so friendly, a special mention to Chong (the barman), Bo and Eek who all made our stay very enjoyable. Even though this resort is 3 star, the customer service was certainly more 4/5 star.

We were very sad to leave, have great memories and would definitely return to the resort and room 328 again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank nicolab06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2008

When we decided on the Banana Fan, I read the reviews and the only negative point I could see was not to stay near the reception area. We told our travel agent not to book that particular room and when we arrived at the Hotel was very surprised to see that we had been booked in the room near the reception area. In actual fact it is the room that is directly behind the reception area where the tours are booked. We thought that we would give it a chance and see for ourselves if it was as bad as what the review was that we read about. It was, as there was a constant noise from the fax machine, the clip clop of the shoes of the person that books the tours walking up and down, and during the course of the night constant chatting from the people using the internet on the same floor. We complained and eventually after 3 days was upgraded to one of the garden rooms. What a pleasure. The vacinity that the Hotel is in is excellent though. Breakfast was great. I would definately stay back at the hotel, but would recommend a garden room or anything away from the reception area.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Gypsey_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2008

This is a lovely little resort. breakfast was good. good location. did the cooking course which was well worth it, chef was lovely.pool is nice.definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ZiggyIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,893 reviews
1.2 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,525 reviews
0.5 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,379 reviews
0.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.8 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banana Fan Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banana Fan Sea Resort

Address: 201 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $107 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Banana Fan Sea Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Banana Fan Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banana Fan Sea Hotel Chaweng
Banana Fan Sea Bophut
Banana Fan Sea Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing