We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Phensiri Thai Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 186 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $18
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: It's simply Thai cuisine open kitchen with different varieties of famous Thai menus and dishes from the old days... Fresh selections of ingredients daily from the local market.. With regular quality control. Simplified homemade recipes. Recommend reserve your table from 19:00-20:30 pm. Available for private cooking class. Please contact chef.
Purmerend, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Very nice restaurant with a great look and feel. Authentic Thai style. Food was fantastic! We talked to the husband of the owner and had a very nice conversation.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    738
    226
    53
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ayrshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This was one of the first restaurants outside of our hotel we ate at after reading good reviews on tripadvisor. The location is slightly disappointing being tucked away on a little side street however the food was fantastic as well as being particularly cheap. The service was a little slow due to the popularity of the place but didn't spoil the evening as the quality, taste and size of the dishes more than compensated. We would definitely recommend eating here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cr6i9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing ”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

Went for dinner here as was well reviewed on TA. Nothing absolutely terrible (eg raw food) but food was flavourless and best described as westernised Thai.

Ordered the papaya salad and veggies were soggy and was without the zest or heat you would expect (and get at any decent restaurant in this part of the world) from this dish

Also tried the seafood hotpot which again, was disappointing and lacking the flavours you would expect in thai cuisine

Not recommended

Helpful?
Thank Bjjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phimporn S, Owner at Phensiri Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your visiting us at Phensiri Thai Bistro Koh Samui. from your writing about the taste of thai spicy for 2 dishes that you ordered, if we know you can handle with spicy Salad ( Somtum ) we definitely add more chillies for you, also unfortunately ! we didn't ask you when you order Somtum Thai. We look forward to welcome you to try again .
Chef neng .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My wife & I stumbled upon this restaurant and it just looked like a good place to eat.”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We were looking for somewhere to eat at the southern end of Chewang and stumbled upon Phensari quite by accident. It's a small place but the food was the best Thai food we'd eaten during our stay in the region, a change from the the predictable generic stuff that is normally served up. Pricing was very reasonable. Things that matter to us, apart from the food of course, are atmosphere and presentation, both of which were well up there. It deserves its rating.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank S_JT_2320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic food in a quite and nice ambience”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

Went to this restuarant after reading about it in a local Thai magazine.

It was situated very near our hotel so we decided to try it out one of the evenings. Regretted that we should have visited that place much earlier because the food was simply delicious.

We tried the chef recommendation of stewed pork, it was pretty good except that it needs to be stewed longer as it was a bit too tough. Overall that dish was awesome.

The other dishes that we tried are the Thai fish cakes, fried assorted seafood in oyster sauce and stir fry enoki with prawns.

The servings are reasonable and I would say we ate very full and the total costs is only SGD$40+!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank Li M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phimporn S, Owner at Phensiri Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Lim,

Thank you for your visited Phensiri !
Look forward to welcome you back again .
Chef Neng.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phensiri Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Phensiri Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing