We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location on beach but getting a bit old and shabby”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Ranked #36 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed in the superior garden bungalows. They were nice enough, with a little porch which was nice for my husband as he is a smoker. This is a 2-3 star property nothing special and lacks ambience particularly the restaurant. However if you are like me you can overlook that as it is made up for by being able to see the ocean as you are eating and drinking. It is a good option if you want to be right on the beach as well as right amongst the restaurants and shops and not pay too much. The restaurant was expensive and the only time we ate there apart from the included breakfast we got awful service and awful food and they forgot something and it took ages and we were pretty much the only people there. The sun lounges get 'reserved' by people putting thier towels on them then dissappearing - which i dont think is fair. We were there in a very quiet time and sometimes we could not get a lounge as they had all been reserved even though nobody was using them. Plus the louges are really old and shabby, with pillows splitting and falling apart. The beach is nice and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (621)
There are newer reviews for Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 621 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

we booked superior room which means regular room in 1-3 floor (without elevator).
our window was looking to the main street and there was pub near the hotel that played music until late at night.
we complained the staff about it and they gave us a new room in the middle of the night.

i reccomend to order a Bungalow room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adi h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I just completed my third stay at this property, and as expected, enjoyed it very much.

A caveat, I stay in the main building, three stories on the Chaweng Beach Road and have never stayed in (or even looked at) the various bungalows.

As always, I found the staff friendly, helpful, and anxious to make my stay as enjoyable as possible. The room was clean, the bed comfortable, variety of selection on the cable tv. Plenty of hot water, large room, well maintained, minibar. Bring your own sink plug if you plan to do light washing in the room.

I had a couple of minor problems, but they were immediately resolved by the manager.

Location is a little remote if you like to be in the middle of the action, but there are restaurants and bars nearby. I tend to like smaller places, and have several favorites for Thai cuisine. The resort's kitchen is very good with a wide selection of Thai dishes. (I don't eat Western in Thailand, so I can't comment on the hamburgers.) breakfast buffet is varied an generous. Caters to Asian, European, and Anglo-Saxon preferences. Egg station cooks to order. Restaurant does lack ambiance.

Beach is crowded because of the number of rooms, but it is clean and well maintained. They provide beach towels separate from bath linens. Plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas. But there are "towel wars".

Pool and kiddy pool appear clean. Families seem to be enjoying themselves (I am single).

Room Tip: If you stay in main building, be sure to get third-floor balcony room so you will have a view of the...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEAsiaVeteran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights. We stayed in a standard room unfortunately no wi fi unless your in there bar. The food is a little expensive but nothing shocking. The bungalows looked really nice but to be honest it looked the exact same as every other hotel in samui on this beach. Maybe next time I'd stay in a different hotel as its a long walk to the better bars all and all decent but not mind blowing

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rpgh87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

From the moment we arrived it was nothing but luxury. We had our bags taken as soon as we got out the taxi and delievered to the room, on check in we were given a fresh glass of pineapple juice and after a 20 hr journey it was much appreciated. The room was spacious very clean and had everything needed inc a huge tv an dvd which was a plus. The restaurant food was lovely room service delivered efficiently and breakfast was great each morning. Cocktails delivered to us whilst sunbathing ( what more could you ask for) the staff were friendly and kind it could not have been more of an enjoyable and relaxing experience and I would highly recommend chaweng cove to anyone!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Booboo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Four of us booked this hotel last minute at the ferry port during the Full Moon Party period so probally didn't get the best rate, hence average value for money
Location in at the quieter end of Chaweng beach Road a short walk to the busier end
The accomadation is mainly chalet/bungalows in well kept gardens. There is also standard rooms in an adjacent block
Our chalet with its own veranda, was well appointed fresh & clean. Powerful shower and good plumbing. A/c was adequate and very quiet.
Breakfast was basic
The resturant menu was atuned to European tastes and popular with other guests

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Good reasonably priced hotel in central Chaweng beach. Friendly helpful staff and lovely pool and beach. If you like being in a busy location with shopping at your door step then this is a good choice. You can also just lock yourself away in the resort with decent breakfast and good Thai food.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventuresofpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.6 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 103 in Chaweng
1,861 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
#38 of 103 in Chaweng
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 103 in Chaweng
1,473 reviews
0.5 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaweng Cove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Cove Beach Resort

Address: 17 / 4 Moo 3 Chaweng Beach | Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $54 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chaweng Cove Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic resort built in contemporary Thai architecture set directly on the beach front location of the vibrant Chaweng Beach, 10 minutes drive away distance from the airport within short walking distance to the nearby vibrant commercial area offering 101 cozily decorated guestrooms and classic charming bungalows for enjoyable tropical beach holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Chaweng Cove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Cove Resotel Hotel Chaweng
Cove Resotel Hotel Chaweng
Cove Resotel Chaweng
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing