We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liars and over chargers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Ranked #32 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Liars and over chargers”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We booked this hotel July 2013 through Hotels combined and chose Late rooms to book through that came up as the best priced scenario based on our booking criteria.
Our search criteria was 2 adults in 1 room with 1 child aged 12.
This met the hotel requirements and was clearly defined on our reservation form.
1 day before arrival we received an email saying we had to pay approximately $35 dollars more per night for our daughter.
I immediately emailed back to they and this continues over a couple of emails and they blatantly refused to adhere to the booking conditions.
At late notice when we arrived we had no option but to pay them more for our child as we had nowhere else to stay and felt very pressured into doing this.
We tried to avoid reception after this occurred as we were not happy at all but on the occasion we did have to go there and on 2 other occasions we witnessed other hotel guests debating the hotel bill with them.
We travel a lot and always book our hotels online and have never had dealings and had our stay ruined due to bad feelings caused by the hotels lust for money.
We would never stay there again and their behavior was unacceptable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Scott N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChawengCoveResotel, Resort Manager at Chaweng Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Scott N,

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about your stay at Chaweng Cove Beach Resort. Our team relies on the feedback from our guests in order to know where we exceeded the expectations of our guests.

Please accept our sincere apologies for some of the information unclear on the website at the time of the booking made. Actually, this is the common policy about extra charge for child 12 Years old. However, this comments from you will be communicate to the concerned department to clarify for avoid this problem in the future.

Thank you very much.

Best regards,

Ananya Kowuttikunrungsee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    258
    123
    35
    29
See reviews for
116
221
50
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night in July, before my travel plans changed and ended up another 5 nights!

I didnt even reserve the room, and just showed up!

You are greeted by friendly and smiling staff, where nothing is too much hassle for them.

My first room had a balcony, with a nice view. I had a safe, TV, large comfortable bed, nice shower and plenty of space.

I had to move on day 2 as my room was booked for someone else. My second room was not as nice as tghe first as the balcony overlooked a concrete wall, but I was informed of this prior to moving, and I did negotiate the price down (well worth doing!)

Hotel has a basic gym which I used, it has a small but nicely located pool. Restaurent is right next to the beach and great for Alfesco! Beach itself is lovely, very nice sand, very shallow and very calm sea (when I was there)

Free wi fi in all public areas which is handy, but please be aware that the wifi in the rooms is not free and costs 400 baht for 24 hours (around £8/€10 euros) It also didnt always work for me, and was qite frustrating, however all things considered, it didnt effect my stay and my enjoyment of this beautiful island!

Hope this helps!

Room Tip: One with a seaview/high floor. Avoid ground floor (unless you like brick walls!) Wi fi- Just use the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ispoono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChawengCoveResotel, Resort Manager at Chaweng Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear ispoono,

We would like to thank you for choosing Chaweng Cove Beach Resort as your accommodation choice during your visit to Koh Samui. We very appreciate your concern, interest and the time taken to bring those matters to our attention.

Please accept our sincere apologies for some of your less satisfactory experience about the wifi service. This information will be communicated to the concerned departments. We are able to improve the quality of our products and service to better meet the needs of our guests.

Thank you very much and hope to see you again!

Best regards,

Ananya Kowuttikunrungsee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Spent a week in a poolside bungalow which was furnished very nicely with a good bathroom.
The bungalow was next to the pool and only 20 metres to the excellent restaurant that overlooks the superb beach.
Resort located in South Chaweng with many bars/restaurants outside and only 15min walk to main central area.
Breakfast was good as was the staff and the resort was clean and well maintained so would recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eddie05150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 6 nights here in superior bungalow. Quiet, clean lovely pool and on best part of the beach...DVD player in the room so availed of some cheap DVDs locally and got hooked on the second series of homeland , overall a great stay... Two lovely bars near by , one is called koh samuiians and a lovely cocktail bar on the side of the road out of the back of a Volkswagen van... Crepe stand across the way too is brilliant for a late night snack between episodes of homeland !!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khao Yai, Thailand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Large clean rooms in main building are the best value. Bungalows are over- priced as the garden and pool is very basic with no aesthetic views. Staff are pleasant, helpful and attentive- full marks for that one. usually a common complaint in Samui!
I personally found the pool to be poorly thought out, functional, unattractive, over-chlorinated and not very child friendly. Hard tiled with sharp edges and pointless obstacles in the deep pool. Management should consider the aesthetics for any future development. Given the location the addition of trees, flowers and an attractive pool area would increase business tremendously!
The hotel has adequate free wifi in public areas. 3G simcards can be purchased cheaply in Thailand so it should not be necessary to pay for expensive room wifi.

Also (a note to hoteliers everywhere) you only create bad feeling and resentment with guests to charge premium rates for what is now a basic service used by all. The cost of provision is low. Free wifi entices your customers elsewhere and you lose business with this narrow minded practice. Add $5 a day to every room and include free in room wifi. Everyone is happy and you won't lose customers ;)

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Argonauta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed here 4 times already and are planning to come back. The staff is very friendly, room are big (we tried beachfront villa, superior bungalow and a normal room) and clean and going to the beach is very convenient.
A few negative points though:
- Our safe wasn't working (stayed locked with our things inside). Staff came fast and unlocked it but didn't even try to repair it for further use because "it is forbidden to put electronics inside, only money and passport"
- at the beachfront villa, seeing from the sea that the cleaning staff was climbing from our balcony as a shortcut to reach the room is giving quite an unsafe feeling (especially considering our safe didn't close)
- Breakfast is the same everyday, not bad but the quality could be improved. Also the staff is taking everything away at 10am sharp, not even bothering to warn the customers to grab a last item if they wish so.
- Amenities provided could be improved (very small shampoo and shower gel, not even renewed everyday. There is no tea provided, only coffee)

We stil highly recommend it, and have already booked our next stay there!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christophe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChawengCoveResotel, Manager at Chaweng Cove Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Christophe_88,

Thank you for taking the time to post a comment about your stay at Chaweng Cove Beach Resort. We are very happy to know that you already stayed with us for 4 times and planning to come back again :)

With A few negative points you have mentioned, our team relies on every points of feedback from our guests in order to know where we exceeded the expectations of our guests. This information will be communicated to all concerned departments so ensure cases in a few negative points are not repeated in the future.

Thank you very much and hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

Ananya K.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vejle, Denmark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Musikken fra nabos strandbar kan være forstyrrende, formentlig afhængig af antal besøgende.

Pool:
Benyttes døgnet rundt uden personalets indblanding, hvorfor støj herfra kan være forstyrrende for nærliggende bungalows.

Restaurant:
Store tunge træstole (med hynde) er ikke særlig komfortabel at sidde på i længere tid.

Beachfront bungalow:
Strandmassage pladsen er lige foran A 1, hvilket gør den uattraktiv idet den blokerer for udsigten. Og den ligger tættes på tidligere omtalte nabo beach bar.

Wifi:
Selvom der er installeret på hvert værelse er det MEGET ustabilt. I sær på iPad blev vi smidt af igen og igen. Bedste pris er 24 timer log on/off for 400 THB

Stranden:
Liggestolene står meget tæt her. Det er den gode ende af Chaweng beach, fin sandstrand lige fra du går ud til du kan bunde.



Hotel:
The music from the neighbour beach bar can be disturbing.

Pool:
The pool is been used 24 hours without interference of the staff, noise herefrom can be disruptive for the bungalows in the area around the pool.

Restaurant:
Large heavy wooden chairs are not very comfortable for very long.

Beachfront bungalow:
The massage area is just in front of A1 (beachfront bungalow) which makes it unattractive because it blocs the view. It is also located close to previous mentioned neighbour beach bar.

Wifi:
Even though there is WiFi in every room, it is VERY unreliable. Especially on IPad we were logged off over and over again. Best price is 24 hours log on/ off for 400 THB.

Beach:
The beachchairs are very close to each other. It is the best end of Chaweng Beach, nice sandy beach all the way out in the ocean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.0 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
#29 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
0.3 mi away
Samui Paradise Chaweng Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaweng Cove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Cove Beach Resort

Property: Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Address: 17 / 4 Moo 3 Chaweng Beach | Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chaweng Cove Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic resort built in contemporary Thai architecture set directly on the beach front location of the vibrant Chaweng Beach, 10 minutes drive away distance from the airport within short walking distance to the nearby vibrant commercial area offering 101 cozily decorated guestrooms and classic charming bungalows for enjoyable tropical beach holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Chaweng Cove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Cove Resotel Hotel Chaweng
Cove Resotel Hotel Chaweng
Cove Resotel Chaweng
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing