We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Ranked #36 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Beijing
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Could have been excellent”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Don't get me wrong, we really enjoyed our stay here and would return but a couple of things need to be improved. Pool water had turned green by the end of our first week. Bar stools had rust on them and looked ugly. Restaurant had almost zero decor and could have looked a lot better. Had to ask for water after the room had been cleaned despite being told we'd get complimentary water everyday.

Having said all that - the staff were extremely friendly. The location is brilliant with excellent sun beds provided free of charge. The restaurant overlooks the sea which is really stunning. Our two teenage kids loved the place and didn't want to leave. We hardly left the hotel for the whole week and it was a great place to stay and just chill.

We had a deluxe garden bungalow which was far superior to the hotel rooms. I'd definitely recommend a bungalow rather than the hotel.

Put all of the above things right and you've got yourself a fab hotel. At the moment it's good but not excellent. We would most probably return again as it ticks all the boxes. Fab location, great staff and a very nice place to chill.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Adrian71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    268
    125
    36
    31
See reviews for
123
226
51
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

I think it's a bit too expensive. It's still a nice, clean hotel and I would stay here again - but you just don't get much for your buck here.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DotNETJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Really friendly staff, especially at the front desk; perfect position right on the beach at the best part of south Chewang where you can swim properly (unlike the nrth to middle bit); rooms are fine and clean, if a little old, with DVD players and safebox, balconies facing the sea. Not at all bad given the price. I looked at one of the cottages closer to the beach and they look wonderful. I didn't swim in the pool as it was generally always being used by families but the sea was always great for a bathe and a swim.
The local area is more chilled out than the centre of Chewang which I found very nice but if you wanted to avoid a long walk to the more happening dives, then you might want to consider something more central. Nevertheless, there are plenty of fine restaurants, and bars, within a few minutes walk. And plenty of shops, banks, ATMS, etc.
The 2 negatives would be: the size and quality of the gym (too hot, too small, eqipment dated, esp the running machine which could even be described as a health-hazrd given its randomly-changeable speed) but that is no real surprise; good hotel gyms are very difficult to find outside Bangkok.
Secondly, the speed of service in the restaurant in the evenings is not great; but the food was always worth the wait and the view is worth hanging abvout for anyway, looking over the beautiful Chewang bay.
Overall, a lovely little find. Thanks to TA reviewers...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryAngstrom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Very friendly and attentive staff here. It was my first time to Koh Samui (been to Thailand many times but never Koh Samui) and I will return for sure. The hotel has great access to the beach, its own pool and a pool bar. Close enough to the night ife that you can partake if you want to but far enough away that the late night revelers won't bother you. Many restaurants in the area to satisfy any appetite. I'll book here again for sure!

Room Tip: Book a bungalow, you can relax on your own porch and enjoy a cocktail at the end of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HR Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Pretty clean and well maintained, good location, pretty close to the airport, good choice of activities nearby. Pretty good restaurant, although the free breakfast is pretty basic. Wireless internet is not free and almost not working in the outermost bungalows. Was charged for a towel which went missing while I was away. Yet by Samui standards probably should score as above average. Sleep can be disrupted by neighbours returning after local night life, which ends apparently at about 4am.

Room Tip: Outermost bungalows might have no wireless internet coverage. Also the bungalows farther from the sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepparton, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
432 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Our recent stay at this property was enjoyable. The property is good value @ A$70 per night including breakfast for the superior garden room. Tip. We got a much better deal through direct contact with the resort. Our room was large and far better than in other more expensive ones we have stayed at on Samui. Beach is much better at the South end of Chaweng as well. Staff were friendly and plentiful but not over attentive or knowlegable. Breakfast was a little bit basic especially in you are staying more than 7 days. Bar /Dining area lacks atmosphere but has great views and has the potential to be a lot more but we ate in different locations most nights including restaurants immediately to the left and right of the front entrance. The motor bike and taxi people as another reviewer suggests are very good. All in all for what you pay and the location [a little bit quieter than the north end and better for families] a safe bet if you don't want 5 star luxury and I would say it is a 4 star property at 3 star prices

Room Tip: Ask for the superior garden room they offer a little more privacy [14b -18b] than the others persona...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Upon check in we were greeted by Natacha who was wonderful. Big friendly smile and always willing to help. We stayed for 3 nights and she was definately the highlight of our stay.
The hotel is located about 15 minutes from the main attraction, buffet breakfast was very good and the motor bike rental people out the front were quite helpful too.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Damo041284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.0 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,819 reviews
0.2 mi away
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
#37 of 104 in Chaweng
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,448 reviews
0.5 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaweng Cove Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Cove Beach Resort

Property: Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Address: 17 / 4 Moo 3 Chaweng Beach | Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chaweng Cove Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An idyllic resort built in contemporary Thai architecture set directly on the beach front location of the vibrant Chaweng Beach, 10 minutes drive away distance from the airport within short walking distance to the nearby vibrant commercial area offering 101 cozily decorated guestrooms and classic charming bungalows for enjoyable tropical beach holiday experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chaweng Cove Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Cove Resotel Hotel Chaweng
Cove Resotel Hotel Chaweng
Cove Resotel Chaweng
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing