We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel - A great value stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Samui Bayview Resort & Spa
Ranked #57 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Samui Bayview exceeded my expectations for the price.

The hotel has a great 230 degree view of the ocean and coast. The room I was given had a nice size balcony overlooking the ocean and pools.

There was low occupancy during my stay so we had the pools mostly to ourselves.

Buffet breakfast is included every night and the food is decent including omelets and fruit.

The hotel is located between Chaweng and Lamai along the cliffs overlooking the ocean so you'll have to have transportation to get to any restaurants or beaches. I recommend the songthaew which is the local taxi. It is a truck with a shell and seats in the back. About 30 baht to the beaches or restaurant areas. Make sure you agree on the price before hopping on board.

Overall a nice hotel and Samui is very nice.

I recommend the Full-moon party, it's a blast.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
104Samui, Owner at Samui Bayview Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2011

Thanks so much for your kind reviews. Have a great day.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

107 - 113 of 283 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2011

Samui Bayview is up on a hillock with a a sweep of the great blue waters right across. So if you enjoy curling up with a book in quiet and peace, this is the place. It 's a bit of distance from anywhere into town, but the hotel has an hourly service into Chaweng with its long stretch of beach, lively street and a host of great places to eat in.
To other parts of Koh Samui you need to walk downhill, hail a cab and bargain for the price!
The hotel has an old world charm about it. The rooms are airy, each with a great view . My only grouse was with the bathroom, which was a bit tight on space.
It's restaurant is great for a sundowner and a relaxing dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
104Samui, Owner at Samui Bayview Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2011

Thank you so much for your kind comment and great support.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

I am staying here don't be fooled by the pictures on the website i think they are taken on the day they opened the hotel!! Again view is really gourges but thats given by mother nature... The rest is not good and it's not like they do charge a lorrie bit of money.... Close to 100 euro a day my meaning is that then the least you can aspect is some service and goodmorning and a smile in THE morning!!! And ofcourse there are à few that will do anything for you but you dont even need one hand to count them... Stop counting at 2 or 3.... So i would advice.... Take another hotel.....!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lowras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
104Samui, Owner at Samui Bayview Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2011

Thank you for your kind review. We will improve and develop both property and service.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

I stayed here a couple of weeks ago just prior to getting married in Koh Samui (Miskawaan) we wanted to stay somewhere that was cheaper and affordable for everyone for the few days before our wedding. In all we had 30 of our friends and family staying here arriving on different days. Each day there was a welcome message, the staff assisted me with handing out welcome letters to our guests and arranged for pick ups from the airport. We were the first to arrive and they upgraded us to a Grand Deluxe Seaview room, it was lovely, a few days later they upgraded us again to a suite (this has two balconies, a lounge room, a jacuzzi on one of the balconies as well) when it became available. Just lovely, every couple of days the housekeeping staff would decorate the bed with flowers and towels shaped into swans, elephants etc which was a lovely surprise. The food was very very tasty, we ate here many times and it wasnt over priced so it was good to just get some lunch or some dinner without having to go down to chaweng, (sometimes you just want some quiet time). Even though its about 7 to 10 minutes drive to Chaweng its the perfect distance (just make sure that when you go to Chaweng and you get a taxi back you tell them you want to go UP the hill, as they will try and leave you down the bottom, its quite a hike up there, hence the stunning views 200bhat was the going rate).

We had a dinner one night for all 30 of us and it did cause some issues (because some of the waiting staff did not understand english properly, although their english is better than my thai) but it was sorted out eventually and the manager apologised in the morning (Thanks Nat).

On the bad side, this is almost a standard for hotels in Thailand - very very hard beds! Although when i did ask for if they could do something they did put some mattress cushioning on. So thanks, the sleep was much better after that!

Would i recommend or stay here again? Yes definately, the price is very reasonable, food is very good, they have all day happy hour until 8pm for beers and cocktails. They are very welcoming and hospitable. The swimming pools are very large and there are plenty of sun beds.

Internet was wireless and free which is a bonus, doesnt always work but that is across the island due to storms.

If you expect that everyone speaks fluent english don't go to Thailand, i stayed at 5 star hotels where they also didnt understand everything i said and if you get upset because they don't understand, stay in an English as a first language country, you will be much happier. Thailand is gorgeous and this place showed the Thai hospitality.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

This place was stuck in the 70's although reasonable price for the amazing views the views I am afraid are the only thing that is good about this hotel. It's a bit of a hike from Chawenga beach and night life. The staff although friendly were totally useless in helping us arrange anything. They charged us 2000 baht for a personal mini van hire when everywhere else was around 1000 baht mark so felt ripped off! Never again

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinTinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

perfect view from the hotel restaurant and seaview room. very quiet and beautiful ambient
i was still regretting that i just book one night to stay in this hotel. i should book more! the view from restaurant and seaview room are perfect. it is a very beautiful quiet relax place. you just need to pay the money for 3 stars but you can stay in a 4 stars standard hotel here. nothing can beat the view but if you want to spend more days here you will need to rent a motobike or car as it is quite far away from the center and not easy to get a taxi
Restaurant Tip : Dr Frog next to the view point serve great Italian food with Thai cuisine. must try

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iray121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

I have nothing but positive reviews for this place. I just arrived back home and Im still talking about this hotel. I have since given away the hotel card to a virtual stranger on the airpane - raving about the hotel.

For about THB 1100, we got 2 connected rooms that had 1 king size bed and 2 twin sized bed each. The rooms itself were already so huge - and the twin beds were a queen size bed each (Rooms 702, 703). Room 703 with the twin beds was so huge it even had an additional sofa bed and the toilet had a sink area, a shower area and a bath tub, along with a fridge, a very user friendly safe and a desk and seating area. The combined rooms could fit a family of 5-6.

But what was the best part of the trip? That the rooms opened out to 2 pools - just a few steps away. Yes they were shallow and meant for children but it was fantastic to have such quick access to the balcony and the views. A few steps away was another pool - adult pool. The same floor had a games room and a fitness table.

As many have said and I agree whole heartedly, the views were spectacular. I was commenting that I have never had such great views in my entire hotel history and did not pay through my nose for it. Go up to the Sunrise Room in the morning on top of the hotel reception and be bowled over by almost 360 views of the ocean.

The staff were also courteous, friendly and ready to help and spoke great English. They had happy hour that had THB 99 for cocktails from 6-8pm. I also enjoyed the set dinners that came with our reservation - set B had squid, fish soup and prawns with rice. (very value for money). Their breakfast was standard but I was not complaining - the views would occupy anybody's minds!

All in all I would recommend the hotel wholeheartedly. For THB1110, I got 2 huge and beautiful rooms, almost private access to 3 pools, 2 breakfast sets, and 2 dinner sets and a pick up from the airport and fantastic views. Whats not to like?

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lavy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hepburn09, Owner at Samui Bayview Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2010

Thank you very much for your compliment. The special rate that the guest got is our special Deluxe Seaview package for 5,500 Thai Baht. The package included 2 nights accomodation in our Deluxe Seaview Room, Round trip transfer from Samui airport or pier to the resort, and 1 Thai Dinner set menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.5 mi away
Marco Polo Resort & Restaurant
0.9 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
3.2 mi away
Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#32 of 104 in Chaweng
628 reviews
2.3 mi away
Malibu Koh Samui Resort & Beach Club
0.1 mi away
Baan Hin Sai Resort & Spa
Baan Hin Sai Resort & Spa
#86 of 104 in Chaweng
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Bayview Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Bayview Resort & Spa

Address: 104 Moo 3, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly BEST WESTERN Samui Bayview Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $32 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samui Bayview Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Samui Bayview Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Samui Bayview Resort And Spa
Best Western Samui Bayview Hotel Chaweng
Best Western Chaweng
Chaweng Best Western
Best Western Koh Samui
Koh Samui Best Western
Samui Bayview Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing