We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE best hotel on Samui in its category!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Samui Bayview Resort & Spa
Ranked #57 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Myself, my husband and our 6 month old baby stayed here. Originally we booked 12 nights but later increased to 18 as it was so good.
We booked a sea view room and that is exactly what we got. The views are stunning. The room itself was spacious, modern and extremely clean.
There are 4 pools and as we came here in low season we practically had a whole pool area to ourselves. There was also lots of shaded areas for our baby to play and nap allowing us some time. One pool area even has a creche with a fan. There is a gym, bit sparse but it has a great running machine, which is what I needed.
The restaurant has stunning views, a lovely ambience and great food. We like to visit many of Samui's restaurants but often ate here as it was so good.
The staff are the most friendly, helpful and fun staff we have ever met in our 10 years of holidaying in Thailand. Nothing was too much trouble, they are incredibly friendly and have a great sense of humour. If they were not busy, they played with our son as we ate breakfast or had a evening meal for which we were very grateful - parents know what a little luxury this is!
The location is perfect. Near to Chawengs shops and nightlife but quiet and a beautiful place to stay. Excellent value for money.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone with children or wishing for a quiet place with stunning views and AMAZING staff. I can't praise them highly enough. 10 out of 10!!!

Room Tip: Book a SEA VIEW room - they are all STUNNING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vhendrickx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mngsamuibayview, Owner at Samui Bayview Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2011

Dear Sirs/Madam,

Your review is very much appreciated and I can assure you that my staff and I will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests.

Thank you so much for your great support to us. We hope to see you again. Have a good day.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 283 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2011

We've stayed in the Koh Samui BW Bayview Hotel because I had some BW points to spent therfore this was our only choice on Koh Samui. After reading hotel web page and seeing the photos I had very big expectations regrading this hotel (also having in mind some previous experience regarding hotels quality in Thailand). Unfortunatelly the hotel didn't met all of them, I'll try to be as honest as possible in my review therfore I'll try to keep all my remarks in points rather than a "story" like text.
What i disliked:
1. The service level, this is my first and biggest issue about that hotel: most of the hotel stuff is unfortunatelly not very focused on client, besides on person on the reception who was trying to be helpful and her english was sufficent enough every other were strangly (as for Thailand) arogant or not communicative. Service at the restaurant was actually not acceptable as in hotel of that class (although we made an order before the closer of the restaurant, during our meal we're asked to switch tables to a one wtihout clothing or light because the restaurant already stopted working - not mentioning we're waiting 20 min for a pankake).
2. Cleaning: I must admint that in overall hotel is clean as for european standards (maybe it' could've been better comparing to other thai hotels), but the cleaing of the room leave some space for improvments. First and most important the bedroom sheets werent chagend daily unless we writen a card and placed it on the bed asking pricesly to change the bedsheet. European people in that kind of temperatures sweat you know, and that should be (and in most cases is) a standard to change the bedsheet, if there's a "eco" policy on that, there's no info how to ask for changing so there should be one. Secondly the cosmetics left in the room could have a little higher quality and if there're to person in the room there should be left enough of those for both of them (one small shampoo isnt enough). An thirdly The bathroom towels - some of them are closer to rags than towels (very annoing to have a whole in a towel in 4* hotel).
3. Breakfasts: The breakfast is served in very different locations (varing probably on number of guests?) which is confusing, on some days there's a "swidish table" on other you have to specify what you want. As to swidish table option it was pretty ok (althought there could have been more fruits, and there always should be a "neutral" youghrt), the "ala carte" option is actually non aceptable, we waited more than 30min for a youghurt with fruits and a toast with ham (on the end we'd an apoitnemt so we left without eating).
4. The smell: I'll need some coment form the hotel on that, was that overall Koh Samui sewage malfunction all only a hotel problem, but during our stay in most of the days there was a sewage smell problem of lower (only in toilet) or higher (in almost all hotel spaces) intensity.
5. The "little things" that matter: If you say you have an ifinity pool, make it infinity (during our stay it was a eco version with the water level of normal pool, not infinity). If you're offering a free transport to nearest beach (which is nice!) make it more suitable for your guest (like maybe at least one trip backwards around 21-22pm the life overthere starts at that time). If you have amenities like suna it's very nice but there was no one near to help us to use it, making your advantege working against you. And what's more important, most of my problems were solved at the end but the aproach of making it impossible at the begining at making me fight for everything is really not nice.
Thinks that i liked:
1. The view. The view from the hotel was marvelous and probably one of the best on Koh Samui, every room has it's own piece of it and large "bottom to top" window wall makes it even better.
2. Air conditioning. Air conditioning is designed not to point directly at the bed which is not common in other hotels but is much better for your health and overall comfort. And it was working without any problems, so big plus for AirCon.
3. The toilet/bathroom is not divided from the room by some strange conffesion looking wooden wall with wholes in it (i dont know why but it seems to be a standard in thailand it makes both sides of the wall a litle uncofortable in some situations), but by a window with a screen wich is a much better solution.
4. There's a free bus to Lamai and Chaweng Beach (and althougth some minor issues with it, it's a nice thing).
5. Satalite TV have many programs, also in Eng/Ger/Rusian, and it's a new flat screen TV set.
6. The beach towels are replaced daily and they're really nice!
7. The hotel is nowere near busy laud parts of Chawneg or Lamai therfore it's very quiet and you can get a good night sleep there.

So in overall. If i wasnt staying there for free or had an option of another BW hotel on Koh Samui i'd have changed it. Unfortunatelly the service level of the hotel is the thing that matters when it comes to Thai hotels. And in Thailand you can find hotels with maybe less astonishing view but view much higher level of attention to details and overall client satisfaction, especially for that price (i mean standard hotel room rate).
Maybe my filling was influanced by the factors i'm not aware of like i was after the season, or others but still it isnt an explanation (you cant treat guest differently depending on time of season if youre a 4* hotel of "Biggest private network").
Althought I'll very much apriciate hotels comment on my rewview.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazikss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
104Samui, Owner at Samui Bayview Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2011

Dear Sirs/Madam

Thank you very much for your value comments and I apologize for not exceeding your expectations. We strive to ensure each and every guest experience is satisfying.Please know that we are taking your feedback to heart and focusing on improving. It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience issues during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We had booked & paid for our accomodation before we left home which was an interconnecting room, as we were travelling with our 2 children aged 4 & 12. When we arrived the Reception desk told us we had only booked 2 x Standard Rooms & if we would like the interconnecting room we would have to pay the upgrade fee. After emails back & forth with our travel agent back home & discussions with the manager, we were finally upgraded to the interconnecting room for free (which should have happened in the first place), but this was on our 6th night of a 11 night stay. Breakfast was different with dirty table clothes & ants wandering around, tubs of yogurt sitting in a bowl in an un-airconditioned room gone warm. Besides this the staff were friendly & the rooms were clean & comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsJaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
104Samui, Owner at Samui Bayview Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2011

Dear Mrs. Jaggs,

First of all, thank you very much for your review. Regarding your booking, your confirmation that you brought to us was written only 2 standard rooms and not had any remark that said connecting. You said you contacted with agent to send the booking that said connecting to us; however, we haven't received any e-mail or any contact from your agent. Nevertheless, I decided to upgrade both of the rooms for you for good will. Still, we get the payment for only standard rooms. Just my hope that you would be happier with the resort.

Once again, thank you for your review.

Yours Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in Feb & it was a lovely hotel, spotless room with fantastic air con (We had to turn it down, it was that good!), the hotel itself has fantastic views of the sea, ok people have commented that the hotel could do with a refurb, BUT to me it seemed like any other Best Western i've stayed in, they have that many fingers in different pies all over the world i reckon they just have their places ticking over, IF it was a private property i reckon there'd be more investment put into it. As it was, it was a lovely place with ever sooo helpful & fantastic staff, i had to mention that as they were lovely, if i was to return to Samui, i'd definitely consider this hotel again! :-).......

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SYElaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
104Samui, Owner at Samui Bayview Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2011

Thank you for your kind comments. Your beautiful review is a great support for us.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

We really liked this hotel as it is right in between Chaweng and Lamai and therefore nice and quite. we had the beach bungalow and almost our own private little beach. The staff was lovely and friendly and would also babysit our 2 small kids for 2 nights. We had scooters to go around and we loved the Cliff hotel which is nearby. Small but nice pool and great Long Island Ice Tea. John and his staff our very friendly. The bathroom is very basic, the room not big but everything is there including airco. Not superdeluxe but of course this is not a 5* hotel and the price is right. Internet only in restaurant area.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nienkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
104Samui, Front Office Manager at Samui Bayview Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2011

Thank you for your review on our Tripadvisor page. However, we think your review to the other property because our property does not have the beach bungalow. Have a good one to you. Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We stayed here 8 nights in january 2011.
Negative; hotel needs a refreshment , looks dated, very average breakfast , dinner too expensive , some public spaces not clean
Positive; friendly staff, stunning location with sensational seaview, 4 swimming pools , hourly free shuttle bus to the beach, we had a grand seaview room on the upper floor, spotless clean with a nice seaview.
Overall correct price-quality

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dirkcoetsiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
104Samui, Owner at Samui Bayview Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2011

Thank you for your compliments and suggestions.

Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2011

Samui Bayview exceeded my expectations for the price.

The hotel has a great 230 degree view of the ocean and coast. The room I was given had a nice size balcony overlooking the ocean and pools.

There was low occupancy during my stay so we had the pools mostly to ourselves.

Buffet breakfast is included every night and the food is decent including omelets and fruit.

The hotel is located between Chaweng and Lamai along the cliffs overlooking the ocean so you'll have to have transportation to get to any restaurants or beaches. I recommend the songthaew which is the local taxi. It is a truck with a shell and seats in the back. About 30 baht to the beaches or restaurant areas. Make sure you agree on the price before hopping on board.

Overall a nice hotel and Samui is very nice.

I recommend the Full-moon party, it's a blast.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
104Samui, Owner at Samui Bayview Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2011

Thanks so much for your kind reviews. Have a great day.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.5 mi away
Marco Polo Resort & Restaurant
0.9 mi away
First Bungalow Beach Resort
3.2 mi away
Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#32 of 104 in Chaweng
628 reviews
2.3 mi away
Malibu Koh Samui Resort & Beach Club
0.1 mi away
Baan Hin Sai Resort & Spa
Baan Hin Sai Resort & Spa
#86 of 104 in Chaweng
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Bayview Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Bayview Resort & Spa

Address: 104 Moo 3, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly BEST WESTERN Samui Bayview Resort & Spa)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $32 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Samui Bayview Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Samui Bayview Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Samui Bayview Resort And Spa
Best Western Samui Bayview Hotel Chaweng
Best Western Chaweng
Chaweng Best Western
Best Western Koh Samui
Koh Samui Best Western
Samui Bayview Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing