We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and New but with Problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chaweng Noi Pool Villa
Menlo Park, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean and New but with Problems”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Pros - clean; new rooms; good breakfast; nice clean pool area.

Cons - (i) no beach - although this looks close to a beach if you look on the map, the nearest public access beach is a taxi ride away; (ii) friendly but useless staff - staff barely spoke any English and could not provide any useful information; (iii) poor maintenance - toilet wouldn't flush, light not working was not repaired during our entire stay, no hot water in the sink (had to shave in the shower); (iv) far from everything - there is practically nothing you can walk to from the hotel.

Upon checking out we were informed that 2 towels were missing from the room. We were given the choice of paying 900 Baht or having the maid pay this fee. We most certainly didn't take or lose the towels, and even though this may have been a scam we didn't want the maid to pay the fee. We angrily paid 900 Baht before leaving. This left a bad taste in our mouth.

I recommend you look for a hotel on the beach and avoid this place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank R V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    108
    41
    10
    10
See reviews for
48
160
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

This hotel, would better suit people being named a budget 1 star motel. The list of bad aspects is so extensive, it is infuriating even listing them but here is a few to ensure this hotel is not even worth contemplating...

The beds are so rock hard they are impossible to sleep on, they have also left myself and my three friends with severe back pains
The hotel has a view over an empty lot in which the hotel dumps all of it's trash (we witnessed this multiple times, although they try to do it when nobody is looking)
The showers will constantly flick between scolding hot and an icebath, which was not pleasant to say the least for me, who suffered from severe food poisoning including hot and cold sweats, only encouraged by the varying shower temperature.
The toilet overflowed all over the bathroom, leaving faeces all over the floor.
The rooms were overbooked, putting our group of in a studio room instead of the private pool villa we booked and paid for with no refund, or even sincere apology.
The breakfast is worthy of a 2 star at best, it is a dull variety of dry stale bacon, hard fruit, the eggs are really the only thing worth getting up for, and they are even a little on the dry side.

I have no doubt by the end of your stay at this "luxury" hotel you will feel no less battered and worse for wear than my friends and myself did.

With a small insight into our truly tedious trip, I will finish off on a positive note, the rooms are very lovely, modern, and incredibly spacious, however the resort is definitely nowhere short of a hike to the beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brittany K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

My husband and I booked to stay here for 1 week to finish off our holiday in Thailand, whilst the staff are very friendly here and pleasent the rooms that they have available are not what they tell you on the website, a deluxe pool view room has a view off a scrap junk yard, it was noisy at times because the hotel staff stay at the back of the hotel they had a few dogs so you could hear them barking. Our bed was rock hard with really high pillows so every night you would wake up buckled. The wifi connection was really bad and only worked every now and again, the cable TV didn't work only has CNN channel the rest were in a foreign language. We paid for Breakfast for our stay which was ok not much of a selection gets boring after eating the same everyday. The location was ok inbetween chaweng and lamai but on a main busy road. This place offers private villas which look great but when you get here its a completely different story. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone unless you want a crap view , noise and uncomfortable beds!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jemla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my wife for one night in this hotel.We have stayed in their pool facing deluxe room and the experience we had was terrible.The bathtub knob was broken and so after you take shower water does not drain.I have informed them about the problem but they did not took it seriously.Getting connection to the wi-fi was another issue one would face.According to the hotel staff it is very hard to connect to the wi-fi before mid-night as they can only support a certain number of users at a particular time.The hotel bed is hard like rock and you will be again dissapointed with the buffet breakfast menu.The only thing good about this hotel is their staffs.They are very friendly and could say sorry to you in a very nice way.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ShehzadHassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Me and my parents stayed there for three nights at the beginning but we enjoyed the staying so much we decided to stay for another three nights.
Where should i begin? at the first day we arrived a great receptionist named Bao welcomed us so kindly and did everything possible to help us Seattle in samui- close for us trips and answered every question we had and ALWAYS with a smile. The next day we met the manager named Apple who offered us so kindly to take us for a few hours in chaweng to get to know the place her self! and always makes sure your having the best time in the stay. (We even met her beautiful doughtier..!)
The place is all new and with a beautiful desigen, right now they are still working on it so we get an upgraded room with no addition of money because of it, with a FREE wifi to all area.
I can go on and on about how the stay at this resort is amazing from the service at the restaurant- that gives the best service we ever had to the beautiful and CLEAN rooms to the chattels the hotel provide but really there is not enough space..

we highly reccomed chaweng noi pool villa.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 890Daniela_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The good:

1. The pool villas are big/roomy (bigger than really needed actually)
2. The reception staff is mostly friendly and courteous (except one girl, who didn’t smile even once)
3. The kitchen/restaurant staff are friendly and smiling. They also do their best to help when asked.
4. The private plunge pool – although probably too deep for some peoples liking (maybe 1.6 m deep, and with a submerged bench too deep in the pool for my wife to sit on)

The bad:
1. Location is right on the island main/circle road. Its on the land side, so there is no beach.
2. Very far from the beach (not far on the map – but you can’t access without a major detour). Tracking on my GPS enabled watch, its 1.6 km walking to the sister hotels (First House Samui) private beach.
On google maps however, its looks really close to the beach, but as you can’t access through other properties (most properties try to protect their beach access from non-paying guests using them), you need to walk until you can find a public access road, which is quite far away. A western man with a German sounding accent behind the counter in the reception even told us that “the beach is not within walking distance – you better take a taxi”.
3. Its too far to make a dash back and forth between the beach and the room, so you have to bring everything with you to the beach, which isn’t really the best/most relaxing.
4. Breakfast is terrible and worthy of a 2 star hotel at best.
• Boring supermarket toast,
• Boring industrial grade marmelade,
• Soggy bacon, and too little of it (seems they only cook a few pieces at a time!?)
• Dry fruit, which seems to be left over from previous days (one day it even had a mouldy taste to it)
• The kitchen staff seems not to notice if something runs out, and just leave you with whatever is left.
• We noticed some customers came, looked and left because the breakfast looked so uninspiring. If we hadn’t taken the room rate including breakfast, we would not have eaten our breakfast in the hotel either.
• There is no high chair for little kids.
• The staff in the restaurant are friendly though.
5. The hotel isn’t really for staying with small kids.
6. The hotel is not yet finished. In fact only some rooms are open for guests (the reception informed us that they opened the door for guests on 1 August 2013), and construction is still very much ongoing. The villas are mostly done, but the room block is entirely unfinished.
7. The master bedroom air con is a very large unit, which is very noisy. On an iPhone app (may not be 100% accurate), I measured a noise level of 65dB, which although it isn’t extremely noisy, it is roughly equivalent to the interior of a driving car or an above normal conversation at 1 meter distance. A quiet bedroom should be around 20 dB, so its definitely also not quiet and to us it was too noisy to sleep, and instead we used the aircon in the other room and let the cold air seep in through the door. That made it a bit too hot at times, but still that was better than the noise.
8. The beds are rock hard and uncomfortable. The pillows are the type designed to be big, but they provide bad support for the neck and head during sleep.
9. The shower is either scolding hot or cold. The water heaters (in both bathrooms) switch off, when you try to mix hot and cold water for a comfortable temperature. We didn’t have one decent shower while staying in this hotel. Despite telling the front desk several times, nothing happened to fix this problem.
10. After staying a few days we started to notice that there are bits and pieces missing (as in hasnt been delivered yet) in the rooms. I.e. there was not a single chair in our villa (we had a sofa and 2 sun loungers though). Also there is a daybed in the master bedroom, with no mattress. The bell boy cleverly used it as a suitcase podium, but nevertheless it’s a daybed without a mattress. In fact that daybed most likely count as the 5th sleeping space, when counting the villas sleeping capacity, as the lounge room sofa isn’t long enough to accommodate a sleeping adult. There is also no DVD player, as stated in the room facilities list. Cable TV was also patchy. The only known channel was Discovery channel, and the rest were completely unknown channels. On top, they kept getting scrambled/blacked out for 30-60 seconds, before coming back. Maybe the hotel management didn’t pay the subscription fee yet, but for sure it wasn’t worth it opening at all, while we were there, as it was impossible to follow any programme with the cut outs happening so frequently.
11. There is no shuttle service back and forth to the beach, leaving you to pay baht 50-100/person (depending on time of day) for a local pick-up truck taxi service (sitting in the back of the pick up) or baht 300 for a taxi ride to the beach.
12. Amenities are really basic and only worthy of a 2-3 star facility. You get cheap looking shampoo and body wash, and a tiny piece of basic soap and a shower cap. That’s it for the amenities. The amenities are branded “First House Samui”, which is the sister hotel, and which is rated 3 stars.
13. The main swimming pool is nice in itself, but its in plain view from the Islands main road, and the hotel entry driveway. Weirdly it doesn’t seem like they intend to put up any privacy screens, to screen from viewing from the main road.
14. WiFi is terrible. Basically we had to step outside our pool villa and stand in the driveway between the pool villas to even get a signal. The connection was really slow, so it took forever to download any emails or even refresh our Facebook pages on the phone.

Recommendation:
The hotel itself is probably overselling itself for what it is. In some aspects they are trying really hard to be luxury (like the size of the rooms in the pool villas, and with the private plunge pool), while in other ways they fail miserably (like in service, breakfast and amenities provided).

The rooms are a good size, but not overly comfortable.

However, the most important factor is the location. In an island/beach location, you want to be on/close to the beach. This hotel is neither.

Once done, this place will be a lot better, but if I had known how new it was, I would have chosen another place (I did go with the Expedia phone booking/recommendation, and that is the last time I will listen to Expedia staff!)

If you don’t mind walking or taking a taxi every time you go out, this hotel is probably just a good as any.

Room Tip: the pool villas are very close to each other and most pools are in plain view from the walking paths...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CPR1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

This place is brand spanking new. They literally wheeled the fridge in when I arrived. We were upgraded to a family pool villa because our other room wasn't ready ( they were still furnishing it). We were getting ready for our wedding at the Impiana across the road & these guys did everything they could to make sure our stay was special. Great villa for families just outside of Chaweng in Chaweng Noi 200-300 baht taxi ride or 50 baht each on a giant Tuk/ mini bus ( if you barter). Only downside is you are not on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellsy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
2.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,275 reviews
1.5 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
1.4 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
0.9 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaweng Noi Pool Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Noi Pool Villa

Property: Chaweng Noi Pool Villa
Address: 4/20 Moo 3, Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Koh Samui, Suratthani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 Specialty Lodging in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaweng Noi Pool Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaweng Noi Pool Villa .Specially designed for guests who are looking for affordable luxury accommodation in Modern-boutique style. 100-Square-metre swimming pool plays a role as the highlight of the hotel. Due to the splendid location, guests are certainly among the lush of tropical greeneries. They can also enjoy Samui nightlife without taking too much time to reach.Great service valid from Now , Free shuttle to Beach & Chaweng Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chaweng Noi Pool Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Noi Pool Villa Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing