We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Larder

The Larder
Ranked #13 of 182 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: No fuss. No fancy terms. No pretension. The Larder takes things back to basics, serving up rustic casual dining and cocktails with a twist. Offering up modern British and International cuisine with a mix of comfort food and classics that have been revived, remixed and reinvigorated by merging modern cooking methods and techniques alongside cocktails that have been deconstructed into new liquid magic.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

The food at The Larder was exquisite. We felt like we were in a top restaurant back home In Australia. We never though we would find a place like this in Samui. It's pricey for Thailand but do yourself a favour & splurge, you won't be disappointed.
The salmon with quail eggs is to die for.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank missaj26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    641
    167
    74
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
1 review
“World Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Simply outstanding.

Amazing cocktails and even more amazing food. (The peanut butter martini is to die for)

The scotch egg to start is brilliance, I then had the wagyu beef which was perfect whilst my partner had the seabass which looked equally as good.

The service is on point, swift and friendly yet not over powering.

We spoke to the owner at the end to thank him and to book again.

Our favourite food in samui by a mile.

Helpful?
Thank JayB1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic food! Lovely decor and really friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

We ate here twice as we enjoyed the whole experience so much the first time. I have seen some negative reviews and think that they must have eaten at a different restaurant! The staff were really friendly and welcomed us back the second time which was a nice touch to be remembered. The decor is quite contemporary and modern with great air conditioning. The menu is varied and the food is delicious! I have eaten at some top London restaurants and I personally would say that this is one of the best restaurants I have ever eaten in! I only have one very minor observation and that is that the specials should be written down separately so that you don't have to go looking for the specials board, especially if sitting outside. Overall, well done to the chef and his lovely staff!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lridley1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
197 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very nice, pity about noisy children adjacent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We had a great meal, especially main course scallops and tuna tacos. Wine list extensive but overpriced and unfortunately had 2 noisy toddlers, disturbing our romantic dinner. This is happening more and more frequently and we do not know how to vote with our feet, since every second meal is ruined by inconsiderate parents, who bring misbehaving children to fine dining establishments.PLEASE TRIP ADVISOR IF YOU COULD ADD AN ICON FOR MEALS RUINED BY CHILDREN AND AN ICON FOR PUNISHING WINE PRICES!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent last night choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

My wife and I went to the Larder on our last night in Koh Samui. We chose it from the reviews on tripadvisor and had a very enjoyable evening. The restaurant is not in the greatest location, we actually got a taxi into Chaweng Beach first and then after a stroll around had to get a taxi back out to the restaurant so make sure you are armed with the address/location before you travel as you cant walk from Chaweng main drag.Food was excellent, ambiance and service both very pleasant and I would highly recommend it to all

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank andyash61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Larder also viewed

 

Been to The Larder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing