We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection in every way”
Review of The Larder

The Larder
Ranked #14 of 186 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: No fuss. No fancy terms. No pretension. The Larder takes things back to basics, serving up rustic casual dining and cocktails with a twist. Offering up modern British and International cuisine with a mix of comfort food and classics that have been revived, remixed and reinvigorated by merging modern cooking methods and techniques alongside cocktails that have been deconstructed into new liquid magic.
Dungarvan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfection in every way”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Quite simply one of the most wonderfully tasty dining experiences ever..... From the attention to detail with everything, perfect ambience, welcoming attentive staff & as for the food we order for 3 even though there was only 2 of us as the menu read so well we could not decide! Every aspect of every dish including all the sides were seasoned, cooked & delivered to a world class standard.
I can honestly not understand some of these negative comments, as this establishment is 100% perfection.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emilene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    656
    176
    78
    26
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“COOL, STYLISH EATERIE”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Highly recommended spot for lunch (or dinner). Opposite the Anantara Lawana Resort & Spa - just outside of Chaweng - the food ("modern European", I suppose) is very good and reasonably priced; nice and comfortable ambience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelnut113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“2nd visit not so great”
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

We were really excited to visit here, for the 2nd time, but unfortunately it just didn't reach our expectations.
The waitresses were on a hard sell with the drinks and the bread was of poor quality and stale, the food left a horrid greasy after taste. Such a shame as our first visit was good. It was so bad, we won't be going back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Miss Moffat A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing food. Sad we left it until the last night.”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The food here was amazing!!! I had the pork belly and it was simply Devine. Cocktails that are a MUST try is the tom yum Siam and grab the peanut butter martini after your main. Great service. Great atmosphere. 10/10

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ndunnjohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little bit of home with a twist!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I have to say what a great little restaurant. We have been a few times now over the past year and it has now become one of our favourite restaurants in Samui. The food, drinks and service are great. It's warm and friendly. The Chips are to die for! The Scotch Eggs are so yummy! The cocktails a little wacky, but so yummy! It is defo worth a visit for lunch or dinner!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl69HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Larder also viewed

 

Been to The Larder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing