We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food - loved the peanut butter martinis!”
Review of The Larder

The Larder
Ranked #16 of 184 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: No fuss. No fancy terms. No pretension. The Larder takes things back to basics, serving up rustic casual dining and cocktails with a twist. Offering up modern British and International cuisine with a mix of comfort food and classics that have been revived, remixed and reinvigorated by merging modern cooking methods and techniques alongside cocktails that have been deconstructed into new liquid magic.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
277 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Excellent food - loved the peanut butter martinis!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Great food - and nice to get a proper cheese plate in Samui. Shame it doesn't have a view, but food is worth the trip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HongKongCallisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    651
    172
    75
    26
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good gastro pub food”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Great gastro pub food for those getting tired of the spicey thai food. Try it - you won't be disappointed

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hebe44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Comfort Food”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Eventhough it could be considered pricey for comfort food, some items are outstanding while others are not worth ordering. Salmon Salad as an appetizer is great! Lamb coulet three pieces superb. Pass on the pulled pork it was a disappointment. Deserts are plenty and tasty. If you can find the Larder which is on the north end of Chaweng jst before the wood carvin and metal scuplture shop, it is worth checking out. Great eats , no tax, no tipe no fuss, just good old fashioned food.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kaleidoscopeofdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not what I Expected”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

After reading the reviews I was expecting something more if I am honest. The food was good I had seabass which was lovely but my partner had Lamb which was fatty. However the desert made up for this it was fab and the wine selection was good.
was a bit far off the main strip for us

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaraT1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible ,terrible,terrible!!!!!”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Try this place at your own peril. Quite simply the entire experience was only what could be described as unacceptable. The service was non existant , we had to wait and wait on every part of the dinner service. Including getting up to collect my own bill so we could get out of the place . The food , my lamb was just on the turn and should never have been served. My friends main was good. The starters were only acceptable.
As other guests came in we could see that their entire system was in disarray. The table of two next to us still had no drinks after approx 20 - 25 minutes of arriving. The night was shambolic and we could not get out fast enough...never to return. The part that makes it even worse is that The Larder is a only small restaurant of about 30 seats. Take a look around you Larder team , there are plenty of hospitality professionals in Koh Samui , but none can be found amongst your team.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Larder also viewed

 

Been to The Larder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing