We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant”
Review of The Larder

The Larder
Ranked #16 of 184 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $24
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: No fuss. No fancy terms. No pretension. The Larder takes things back to basics, serving up rustic casual dining and cocktails with a twist. Offering up modern British and International cuisine with a mix of comfort food and classics that have been revived, remixed and reinvigorated by merging modern cooking methods and techniques alongside cocktails that have been deconstructed into new liquid magic.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best restaurant”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We went to try The Larder and were so happy we did. From the minute you walk in you feel good about the place. The food was sensational and the owners are incredibly friendly. I would go back to Samui just to visit the restaurant

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    651
    172
    75
    26
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and a great night”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We booked a night here for a low key pre-wedding night out (for 6 of us). The restaurant is away from the main strip of Chaweng and was quieter. The staff really took care of us and the food was excellent - pricier than other places so if price is an issue you may want to look elsewhere. However, loved the Thai Chilli Martinis and the food was top notch. Really made for a perfect night.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank paddyv71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Samui
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Just finished dinner here, great stuff.
As a regular to samui (around 6 months of the year) I'm really pleased to have found this little restaurant, which is simply serving great food!
Didn't get to meet the owners, but I guess if they were sat around talking to us (guests) all the time they wouldn't be serving such a great product. The Thai staff were fab, so service gets a five! And I'm sure ill meet them soon as I'll be returning to this restaurant a lot...

Another little note, The Larder does not charge that 17 percent to its bill! nearly all the good restaurants on Samui do, so this is really refreshing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MasterMikeKohSamui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not consistent enough- sorry”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Eaten here prior -with a completely different result this time around. We both had steaks (angus rib eye special and sirloin) and found them to be not the best cuts of meat and tough. I can cook same if not better at home. Roasted vegetable side dish consisted of sparse vegetables, 1 baby beet and a couple of baby carrots(not even roasted) and small piece turnip with no seasoning. Thai staff lovely though, yet Management ignored us even though place was very quiet. Disappointing as consistency is key. Think it depends on what you choose from menu also.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodiesimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding food & great people, hard to find better than this!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I went to The Larder with a fellow expat that knows his food & had mentioned this place many times, in short, it surpassed the hype Jeremy had given the place & I had the best meal in ages, living & working in Bangkok surrounded by good restaurants it was a surprise to find this on Samui, absolute gem .

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Larder also viewed

 

Been to The Larder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing