We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coral Bay Resort
Nearby Hotels
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Amari Koh Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$136
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nora Buri Resort & Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$154
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$177
$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Nora Beach Resort and Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$106
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dara Samui Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$111
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$176
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
KC Resort & Over Water Villas(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$300
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Poppies Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$401
LuxuryCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveler rating
98
58
33
12
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
58
33
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshuge bungalowskoh samuichaweng beachprivate beachtraditional thaiour honeymoonquiet areacomfy bedfresh fruitsea viewtaxibahtpornsandaccomscooterusable
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 209 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed at Coral Bay from 01 - 05 December 2012 .. for our silver anniversary. It is really a lovely place. Accommodation is in the form of spacious and independent wooden bunglows with the interiors also in wood. It has a massive bed and one of the most comfortable one I've slept in any hotel for years. A great bathroom with skylights and plants growing inside. The bunglows are located in a tropical garden that gives each bunglow its individual privacy. Staff is warm and friendly without being intrusive. Breakfast was quite good. The beach was just a couple of minutes walk from our room, some bunglows are on the beach itself.
The hotel is on a the popular Chaweng Beach but still a bit away from the busy market. One can walk or take a taxi. There are adequate stores, restaurants and massage parlours located outside for days when you don't want to venture too far out.
On the whole I strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for an independent bunglow, I think some bunglows are twins. Enough shops and restaurants for beer and other drinks outside the hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank esskayw115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This was our first visit to Thailand and we read Many reviews on tripadvisor before hand. Dispite some of the negative reviews we just kept coming back to the same resort because of the beautiful pictures of the authentic wooden huts. I am so glad we did! The experience has been awesome!

On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who offered us complimentary drinks, he showed us to our hut (102) over looking the sea and carried our bags. He showed us how the room worked, airco, mini bar, safe, wifi Internet ect and then left us to it.

The hut was amazing, very clean and comfortable. We were blown away by the decor and the romantic feel. Fresh flowers laid out on the bed, scented oil burner in the bathroom and the most incredible rain shower!

The resort itself was very quiet when we arrived the week before Xmas which suited us perfectly, as we were after a romantic getaway.

The gardens are beautiful and the staff work very hard to keep them clean and tidy.

The resort is situated perfectly... Close enough to the main shops and restaurants, but far away that you are not in amongst it all. We hired a scooter from the shop opposite the resort as recommended by the staff and they were brilliant.

Some people have said that the staff seem unfriendly here, we totally disagree, they smile and are very happy to help, just like any forgien country you need get to know the locals and you need to say hello and smile too.

The restaurant food is lovely, lovely staff and very well presented food. It is expensive in comparison to thaifood on the main strip but not over priced compare to back home.

Most days we were the only couple on the beach and by the pool and it was so relaxing... Being that I am a school teacher the lack of screaming kids dive bombing the pool suited me just fine, but I am sure kids would love the resort too.

The beach is small and not the picture postcard Thai beach but it's a very close second. The sea can be a little rough to get the best snorkeling in but if lying on a secluded beach is your thing then it's no problem at all.

Honestly the only negative thing I can say from our stay is the beds are a little hard, I prefer a softer bed but in the end I slept very well!

Hope you enjoy the resort as much as we did, we will be returning next year!

Room Tip: We had a beach front bungalow! Loved listening to the waves crashing as we fell asleep hut 102
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KateB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Title really says it all. This place used to be great and we booked the beachfront villa at the last minute. We loved staying at this place for the idyllic view, relaxed walks on the beach in the morning and evening. For half the price this place would be packed. They are just too expensive for what they now offer when Koh Samui has so much choice.

The actual resort amenities are run down to a point of no return, the staff really do not appear to enjoy working here, and the breakfast is the bare minimum to be called a buffet. We strolled up to the resort a few doors up and paid for the poolside food and drinks. Much better than Coral Cove.

Room Tip: Beachfront or nothing at this place
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AsiaTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Oh dear, how fast things can go downhill. not 2 years ago this was a lovely resort, the reason we returned obviously. It hasn't kept up with the times nor has there been any investment we could notice. It still has its lovely nature charm and the bungalows (as is) are still great but nothing has been updated. Even fewer sunbeds, stained and weathered, sunshades tired and dirty, beachbar closed. Shame..... still peaceful and quiet.....until 05.30 in the morning when the fishing boats sail out with a terrific racket! Like someone starting their Harley beside your bed. Complained at reception but they wanted to know who the fisherman was.....what? TV way too small at the other end of the room and channels not what were on the guide (again shame cos of the olympics) and for a tropical destination quite a lot of snow on tv ;-)
On the up-side we did have a few issues that were dealt with promptly with no fuss, complimentary Xfer to/from the airport and the staff are still friendly. a few times housekeeping didn't arrive til past 4 o'clock, free wifi (beach is in range too). I do hope they invest in the resort and get it back to what it should and can be, until then we'll be staying elsewhere on samui. Not to say we didn't enjoy ourselves.

Room Tip: I would say beach front but the early morning fishing boats ruin it. Ask for a bungalow further away.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank icepackbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights in a deluxe double bungalow and we couldn't of been happier with the accom itself. On the downside though I found the staff at the resort bar and restaurant to be very rude and unhelpful and the food itself was the worst meal we had during our entire stay in Thailand, but that was the only downside being honest, the setting, location and facilities were quite good overall.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mageek84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews