We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearest place to perfection”
Review of Poppies Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Poppies Samui
Ranked #1 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The combination of tranquil tropical setting, excellent restaurant, white sand beach and access to the bustle of Chaweng when you want, is for me the closest thing to holiday perfection.

The staff are wonderfully welcoming and helpful and I understand why so many guests return.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank tziemek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (761)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

407 - 413 of 761 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2012

First of all not everyone will like Poppies. If a large Hotel complex with water slides, multiple restaurants and other such diversions is your choice of accomodation then Poppies will not be for you. For those who want an oasis of almost impossible calm and charm situated at the southern end of Cheweng, please read on.
Mrs. Electric and myself first visited here in 2004 when Poppies was under the steerage of Susan and Michael Holehouse. Trip Advisor was still only a baby back then and we were not aware of it so although this is our second stay, this is only our first review. We were here from April 26th to May 10th and it really was not long enough.

So what exactly is Poppies? And what makes it so special?

Poppies is quite simply a collection of Thai style cottages surrounded by lush gardens, wooden bridges and waterfalls. The design is a work of art for a number of reasons. Firstly although the Hotel reception(modest but beautifully designed) is very close to the main Cheweng road, the moment you step up into Poppies itself almost all of the road noise disappears completely. And the location of the Thai cottages is such that you feel as if you are in your own little paradise. You can see your neighbours cottages but they are so well hidden that you won't be aware that you have company in the near vicinity. This gives you a remarkable feeling of exclusivity and peace. Tell me, has anyone NOT noticed how stressed our 21st century world has become? At Poppies you can truly relax and leave it all behind. What price that kind of relaxation?

The Cottages are built in Thai style and are of a spacious size offering efficient air conditioning and a room ceiling fan just in case you need that extra little breeze. Beds are large and comfortable. They are quite firm which will not suit every taste but there is a softer sofa area also along with an armchair, a table and furnishing housing a fridge and the expected tea and coffee making facilities. Poppies has taken the excellent initiative of leaving the fridge empty so you can stock it with whatever you wish from the Seven-Eleven which is within five minutes walk of the Hotel. Poppies does provide water every day along with milk. The bathrooms are a lovely design with the more unusual feature of having a small area of plants at the rear of the bathroom. Toiletries are of an excellent quality and will leave even the more ..erm..rock and roll smelling types like me smelling of exotic lime and coconut.
Poppies does have a pool which is modest in size but this is not a problem as the sea is particularly appealing in this part of the world and the area of the Hotel at the opposite end of the reception is right on the beach. The bar and restaurant is almost on the beach too and the evening breeze is a welcome reprieve from the usual high temperatures of the day.
Mrs. Electric and I are not breakfast people so we did not book a breakfast package here. But we had an evening meal which was superb. I had the duck and that bird did not die in vain.
Indeed Poppies food is well respected throughout Koh Samui with many customers eating there even if they are staying at a different hotel.
And when you peruse the menu see if you can spot the little Thai joke hidden in the name of one of the dishes....... ;)))
Another lovely touch here is that when you return to your cottage you will usually find a small treat for each occupant wrapped in a banana leaf. And extra fruit will be delivered to your room first thing in the morning.

Can I also just point out that it is the treat which is wrapped in a banana leaf. The occupants do not have to wrap themselves in a banana leaf in order to receive it...:))))

Happy hour is currently available from 1700 to 1900 and the Chang is ice cold and also a hefty 6.4% ( as opposed to the 5% available in the UK) so if you like a good bang for your baht ( steady chaps, don't be naughty!! ) then Chang is the beer to go for.
The beach is a lovely clean gentle sloping sandy one and the South China Sea is rather like stepping into a nice warm bath. Later in the day you will even see pretty little stripey fish swimming around you as you walk through the more shallow water back to the beach.Pure Heaven. There are pleanty of sun beds and the Poppies beach attendants will supply you with plenty of iced water while you are toasting your toes.
The staff here are friendly, professional and of a very high standard and they are one of so many things here which make this Hotel so very special. The good ship Poppies is currently steered by Captain John Ens, a Dutch chap and General Manager of excellent capability and a super sense of humour. Once a week he and the Poppies staff host an hour long meet and greet on the beach and canapes and slurps are provided. This is a long standing tradition here which once again makes you feel very welcome.
During our stay the Island was hit by a mini hurricane. The whole event lasted only around 25 seconds and caused some moderate damage which included splintering the chairs on the bar terrace when a tree hit them, and also sending part of the neighbouring hotel's roof into orbit. It was only made of corrugated plastic as it was part of the next door hotel's extension and it only hit my head flat on, thus not having enough impact to knock any sense into me. My first 'job' was to get Mrs. Electric back to the safety of the cottage. Having done that I then returned in the pouring rain to help to tidy up the damage, as did a number of other British guests. I did feel rather proud of that. We might be a moany old bunch at times but when things hit the fan we do have a sense of duty. This duty was of course also matched by the Thais ( who are very well known for just getting on with things), and also GM Captain John who also encapsulated the Dutch spirit and hospitality perfectly by very kindly rewarding the British contingent with complimentary Mohitos. May i reassure everyone who reads this that this sort of weather is very unusual in Koh Samui. Captain John has lived here for a number of years and never seen this before so I mention it only as a holiday snapshot, not as a threat or warning.
So there you have it. This is Poppies and we are already planning a return trip.

Now I an sure that by now you have realised that Mrs. Electric and I adore this place. but in the interest of balanced reporting there are just one or two very minor things of which you should be aware.
1. The bathroom floor tiles can get very slippery at times so please take care when taking a shower. It might be a good idea to get extra towels so you can place one on the floor for extra safety.
2. Sometimes the shower temperature does fluctuate which is not unusual in Koh Samui so do be aware of that.
3.One final thing. Do keep an eye on your bill at the bar. On two occasions the number of beers we were going to be charged for was incorrect. The problem was rectified quickly and we do not think anyone was trying to cheat us. Being on holiday our capacity was large and frequent and I think that caused the two genuine mistakes. But nonetheless keep an eye..... :)

Before my fingers turn to dust let me note a few things which may help you in this part of our wonderful world.

TAXI
Look to pay around 200 baht minimum. Unlike Bangkok where using the taxi meter is law, here this does not apply so it is essential to agree a price before you enter the taxi. There are also multiple stop medium sized trucks with benches in the back for which you will pay a minimum of 150 Baht. Once again agree the price before you board. Thailand has problems with its economy just like most parts of the world. Petrol here is approximately £1 per litre which seems like a dream for us in the West. But when you take into account that even from NEXT January the Thai minimum wage is only going up to 300 baht per DAY ( approximately £6) you will appreciate, I am sure the problems faced here in this wonderful country.

FOOD.
Something which HAS changed since our first visit to K/S in 2004 is that there are now a number of new posh nosh or fine dining eateries to be found. The food is good but bearing in mind that you can pay around £100 plus for a meal for two including drinks one has to question whether these places are actually worth the extra expense considering that you can eat in much simpler places and still have excellent food for a fraction of the price. (One such example is the truly excellent Tom yam Goong for only 80 baht ..approximately £1.55 ). All eateries will be reviewed separately.

THAI TRADITIONS
Just a few helpful pointers here. Never touch a Thai on the head as they regard this as the closest part to Buddha. Try not to sit with your feet pointing towards a Thai as the feet are the most offensive part of the body to the Thais. Never insult their King in any shape of form ( and that includes writing on banknotes etc) as the Thais love their King very much indeed. And do not lose your temper in Thailand as you will lose considerable face if you do. Do not walk into any sort of restaurant without your shirt on chaps. The Thais do tolerate it but still find it rather offensive.
TOUTS
There are a few walking the beach selling materials, sweetcorn, ice creams and so on. They are not offensive and a simple no thank you will sort things out.

JETSKIS AND ADVERTS FOR THAI BOXING
Jetskis and the occasional banana boat have been spotted in the bay. Thai boxing trucks roam the streets and while the theme from the Rocky films will become embedded in your mind just remember that the world is in tough economic times so try to be tolerant to these minor irritations.

AND FINALLY...
As with so many parts of Thailand there IS an adult element here. Being at the south end of Cheweng, Poppies is away from the thick of it and the plethora of massage parlours around here do seem to actually offer genuine Thai massage. If you want something more esoteric then turn right out of the hotel and a twenty minute walk will find you in a bar off the main road talking to a wide variety of ladies, some of which may just be sporting a slightly different package to what you may have been expecting. and to be fair even these are very pleasant to talk to and not threatening.
Well I think that just about covers (or should I say uncovers) everything.

In conclusion Poppies and Koh Samui are definately in our top five most enjoyable Holidays and we look forward to returning soon.
Well Done.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Electricwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

I did a lot of research on hotels before deciding on Poppies (based on quieter location and price). When we arrived, I was so happy with my choice. We were greeted with fresh lemon tea & excellent customer service. The rooms are fairly spacious (three of us) and very clean. The hotel grounds are beautiful full of lush gardens and tropical trees. Breakfast is included which is delicious-many choices available.
The restaurant menu is excellent and extensive. Some of the best thai dishes we had during our 9 days visiting thailand. The saturday "Thai" night that they put on is superb.
The staff makes this place!-they know your names during your stay and go out of their way to ensure that every aspect of your stay is enjoyable. I would go back here again without hesitation!

Room Tip: All rooms are the same configuration-we had 102, close to pool/beach/restaurant which was perfect fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

whenever we are in samui we love to stay in poppies, the suites are lovely, the restaurant is great, just by the pool and overlooking the lovely beach. service is sublime. the beach is really great. when we came with a yacht, we anchored just close by and went there for dinner. staff is really lovely and attentive. rooms are a treat.

Room Tip: all rooms are great, but preferably have the suites closer to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avner C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

Awesome service. Room 101 is the best. Beachfront view. No neighbors. Fifteen steps to the beach and maybe thirty steps to the bar.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alisatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Just returned from 12 nights at poppies. We went there for dinner 7 years ago and I vowed if I came back to Koh Samui, this is where I would stay! Small, intimate, thai style hotel set in lush gardens! It was like a family! The staff were so attentive and always smiling! One of the traditional style hotels left. Since our last visit there have been a lot of concrete, modern hotels buit. These look very flash but do not have the Thai ambience of poppies which makes it sooo special! The rooms were traditionaly thai decorated and spotlessly clean. I looked forward to returning to my room each night to find our goodnight proverb and little gift found on our bed! (you don't get that at the likes of the Hilton etc etc!!..) We even had our very own garden gecho chanting goodnight to us each evening!! We also had a usual complimentary massage which to my suprise lasted an hour (expecting only half as it was a freebie) and a complimentary meal which I also thought would be basic but it was a full on set menu! A hotel full of gorgeousnes! Also...the manager throws a weekly cocktail party on the beach with complimentary drinks...what a lovely touch that was! John the manager appeared almost daily at the bar to mingle with his guests and made each one feel so special! We had a mini hurricane one day which totally messed up the beach and poo and debris everywhere!l, so some of the guests (mainly english and a couple of aussies I might add, while the other un named nationalities hid in their rooms!!!)) helped with the clean up operation while john gave us free mojhitos to help us along! The staff were soo grateful of our help. I didn't want to leave. You won't be dissaponted with this hotel! Only one complaint....we ran out of days.......Thankyou to all at poppies for making our vacation soooo special!!

Room Tip: we had room 103 perfect . Ask for a garden view room but to be honest I think I would have been happ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank penny190817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Spent 5 nights here with my husband and 2 boys and had a wonderful time. Walking in from the busy road outside Poppies you would be forgiven for thinking you had suddenly been transported into a wonderful haven of waterfalls, beautiful gardens and peacefulness. The cottages are equipped to the highest standards and are cosy but spacious at the same time with a lovely little deck outside to sit and enjoy an afternoon cup of tea ( my favourite) the bathrooms are gorgeous. Turn down service at night is lovely and we always looked forward to seeing what surprise they left on our pillow each night.

Now to the staff and they are fantastic, polite, friendly , happy they were all lovely but special mention to Ann and Wan and our favourite older waitress as well as beach boys Pick and Thep who managed their strip of the beach perfectly.

The beach which was directly off the pool area was like a picture postcard, golden beach, blue seas fabulous.

We were lucky enough to be at Poppies during Thai New Year and went into the streets with the staff to celebrate. Such a friendly nation of people.

Thanks to all at Poppies for making our first trip to Thailand so memorable

Room Tip: we had adjoining rooms 112 and 113 and they were perfectly positioned
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
2.1 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
10.4 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
0.6 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#4 of 185 in Bophut
1,622 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,525 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poppies Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poppies Samui

Address: 28/1 Moo 3, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#1 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $114 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Poppies Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tiny magical oasis of tropical enchantment, Poppies Samui lies on a pristine white sandy beach in the Gulf of Siam. Located at the south end of renowned Chaweng beach, well away from the hustle and bustle of the main resort area, Poppies has earned its reputation, since opening in 1994, as Koh Samui's most exclusive boutique hideaway. In addition to offering the same idyllic style and charm as its famous namesake and sister hotel Poppies Bali, Poppies Samui offers its guests exceptionally high standards of friendly service and attention to detail in a perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Poppies Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poppies Samui Hotel Koh Samui
Poppies Samui Koh
Poppies Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing