We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, beautiful grounds, rooms dated...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Ranked #19 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2011

This hotel is in a fantastic location!! It's located right on the strip but still a few doors down from the noise and flight path of the nearby airport. We had originally booked a junior deluxe villa but upon check-in was informed that they were upgrading us. They moved us into a hotel room, not a villa, explaining the villa i had booked was much smaller and older. I was still not satisfied as we were now paying a small fortune for a hotel room. The room was fine, but we were off in a corner facing a bamboo wall. I promptly complained and we upgraded to one of their beautiful new villas for the rest of our 6 day stay, but at an additional cost. The rooms facing the garden seemed really quaint but some of the guests had said they were a bit out dated. The original villa we booked was indeed, quite small and older. However, the new villas are absolutely stunning. Very private and located very close to the pool, beach and restaurant.
The ground of this hotel are absolutely stunning. Beautiful lush gardens and a wooden pathway really make you feel like you're in paradise.
The breakfast was lovely.
The few complaints i had was the size of the two pools. Both were quite small and unless you're up at the crack of dawn getting a beach lounger is impossible. I wouldn't have a problem with this but the beach located right in front of the hotel is quite small, in the sense that the tide doesn't go far out and there is no room to just throw down a towel.
Unless you're staying in the new villas, i would say this hotel is overpriced for what you get.
On a side note, if you're travelling to ko samui from phuket or elsewhere on the otherside, you will be dissappointed with the beaches here. chaweng is the nicest beach, but it is still quite dirty and the water is not as clear and gorgeous as the adaman side.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missmartina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay in our property!It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad to read that you have had such a great experience!

We shall be looking forward to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,895)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,305 - 1,311 of 1,895 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2011

This hotel delivered excactly what we expected, which is always nice. Great location on Chaweng Beach, just at the end where there is no loud music during the evening/night but still within easy reach. The firework (an occasional big bang 4 - 5 times per night which seemed to stop around 22.30) was a bit of a surprise the first night when we were jetlagged and went to bed a bit earlier than normal. "City life" just outdoor, (restaurants, shops and bars). We booked a Premier Room on 2nd floor with garden view, wonderfull bathroom, great balcony with 2 comfy chairs and coffee table. Apart from the usual turn-down of bed, the room was sprayed with anti mosquito. Having read some reviews mentioning big mosquito problems on Samui we were a bit nervous, but it turned out the plague was no more than what we have experienced in Hua Hin or other places in Thailand. Breakfast was nice, buffet with all you can hope for. Eat your hearth out or stay on your diet, it's really up to You. Nice pool area and nice "private" beach with sunbeds exclusively for hotel guests. Right on the beach there are a number of small restaurants where drinks and sandwich comes with a smaller price tag. Would we come back to the same place; definately.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter1406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay in our property!It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad to read that you have had such a great experience!

We shall be looking forward to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

When my husband and I landed in Samui in 2009, we didn’t think we’d be here more than once in our lives. We take beach vacations twice a year and Phuket had been our favorite Asian destination. However, by the end of our stay we knew we’d be back for sure. We went back in 2010, and yet again in January 2011 for the 3rd time. Each time we returned to one place: Chaweng Regent Beach Resort.

The resort sits on the northern stretch of the Chaweng beach. The sea at the front is sheltered by a natural reef approximately 150m out there, which creates a sizeable lagoon perfect for swimming. We also did long evening walks up and down the beach, enjoying the starry skies, ocean waves, cool breezes and peeks into parties at the bars.

The hotel is nicely spaced out with tropical gardens and fish ponds. The elevated wooden walkways meander along the sprawling greens, complete with clearly marked signs for rooms and amenities. The fitness club and library are adequate enough. The massive garden-side pool and its swim-up bar are terrific for cool-off after a day at the beach.

Once stepping outside this calm hotel, you are instantly amongst the hustle-and-bustle of the Chaweng Beach Road, with a 7-Eleven, Starbucks, Bookazine and loads of shops and restaurants. Our favorite restaurants, however, are right within the resort. Red Snapper, with its tantalizing Mediterranean fusion cuisine and sleek ambience, remains our solid No. 1 pick after trying out many spots across Chaweng. Chomtalay at the beachfront has decent fish dishes and extremely obliging staff.

Tips for guests: 1) The royal suite and newly added spa villa are terrific if you choose to splurge. Otherwise book one of the deluxe regency rooms which we liked better than the bungalows and superior rooms. 2) The Privilege Card is a good deal for the hotel dining (Red Snapper and Chomtalay), beach/pool-side F&B and spa, with roughly 20% a discount.

Suggestions for management: 1) We couldn’t help noticing the hotel looked a bit tired with little change in three years. We were delighted to see the renovations done to some of the units. Further upgrades are hopefully on their way to rooms, facilities, buffet breakfast offerings and more. 2) Staff quality needs improvement. We encountered some highly courteous and attentive ones, but others below the average Thai service standards. The smiles on the faces of all housekeepers, gardeners…do make a difference but this year we spotted much less. 3) Management should make efforts recognizing and rewarding repeated guests. 4) Room service should be extended to a later hour. 5) Please evaluate guest feedbacks on the New Year Eve gala dinner charges. We know it is common practice among Thailand hotels. We find it unacceptable and believe it should be made non-compulsory.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BCC64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay in our property!It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad to read that you have had such a great experience!

We shall be looking forward to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

We just had a great 6 night stay at the Chaweng Regent. We live in China - I am American and my husband is British, in our 30s.

PROS - beautiful resort, grounds, 2 pools and wonderful location on the sandy beach with many sun loungers around both pools and on the beach. Landscaping and decor is very nice/calming throughout the resort and it really does feel very secluded from the noise of chaweng once you walk in (didn't notice any fireworks noise as mentioned by others). And once you want action, it's all right outside your door and along the beach. So many shops, restaurants, bars, pharmacies, banks, motorbike rentals, etc!

We booked a Deluxe Regency pool view room and it was beautiful, modern enough, very clean with a balcony overlooking the side pool, a big comfy bed, strong A/C, flat screen tv and DVD player, large bathroom with separate bath tub and shower and toilet room. No complaints about the room at all (though an ipod docking station and screen doors on the balcony would be very nice additions!) Also very nice that housekeeping comes around each night to spray for mosquitoes.

The hotel's policy of not allowing guests to reserve beach chairs is very helpful and allows you to sleep in without having to worry about waking up everyday of your vacation at 7 am to reserve a chair like at other hotels - a welcome relief. The policy seemed to work most days but not sure how strictly it's actually enforced or if they just have lots of chairs (we were there when the hotel was fully booked so that's a good sign. The chairs around the main pool do get nabbed earlier though). The beach water was very calm, clear, clean, warm and shallow.

Breakfast buffet (630-1030 am) at the beach & pool-side restaurant Chom Talay is good and plentiful - would be nice if there was a bit more rotation of the dishes though as it is exactly the same every day with the exception of a rotating noodle dish and one dim sum. They have breads/pastries, cereals, fruit, salad, egg station, asian noodle soup, sushi (not very good), etc..

Aside from breakfast, the lunch items were good though not especially memorable. We also tried the Red Snapper restaurant and the food was fantastic though we recommend you not go too near 11 pm as we were repeatedly rushed and told that the kitchen was closing when arriving at 1045 pm for a birthday celebration. (The bar closes at 1 am but it's not clear that the kitchen stops at 11 pm). When we complained about the service that night the management did make an effort to make it up to us and we did appreciate that but obviously it's better not to be in the situation in the first place when you're going out for a nice birthday meal. Also the ambiance, decor and entertainment at Red Snapper are only average for the trendy, slightly upscale positioning that the restaurant aims for.

SERVICE overall was generally pleasant though nothing particularly special to highlight.

CONS - Wifi and internet is crazy expensive (even if you bring your own computer) like 350 baht for 2 hours, forcing you to leave the hotel to go online (many internet cafes nearby though), spa is ridiculously overpriced (when there are dozens of massage shops steps away from the hotel on the beach and on the road), Happy Hour only lasts one hour -- too short - especially considering cocktails are pricy compared to average prices on the island , the one key per room policy is inconvenient but a minor irritation. If these could be fixed, we'd give it 10/10.

Overall a great stay and the wonderful ambiance, beautiful facilities and great/convenient location and friendly, pleasant crowd of guests (a good mix of people - many nationalities and ages spanned families with young kids and couples/groups of all ages from 20s to seniors) will definitely bring us back.

A few final tips - massages and roasted corn on the beach are great, DO NOT visit the boat rental shop (SP Group) right next to the hotel beach - they are SOOO rude(!), great Express Laundry place immediately across the street for much lower prices than in the hotel.

Best restaurants we tried outside the hotel -- Prego at the Amari Palm Reef hotel (best Italian food, great ambiance and good service!) and H.O.T. (House of Thai) was terrific for Thai food, service and value. We also tried Zazen which has a lot of hype - the restaurant is pretty and the food is good but it is certainly overpriced for what it is and in our opinion not worth the 300-400 baht per way you need to spend to take a taxi there and back.

DiveVersity (formerly Discovery Divers) at the Amari Palm Reef hotel was fantastic for scuba diving. OK this is way too long! Hope it's helpful though :)

Happy travels.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank pandaxpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay in our property!It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad to read that you have had such a great experience!

We shall be looking forward to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

My partner and i had a wonderfull stay at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort in December 2010. We travelled around Thailand for three weeks and this was the most expensive place we stayed at but it was definately worth the price. We had a superiour bungalow and were very pleased with it, the rooms are not large but they have everything you need.
Pools were beautiful and we enjoyed cooling off in them each day.
Location is excellent, right on the beach with private lounges and also right next to all the shops and food places.
Breakfast which was included in the price was very good, plenty of choice and right in front of the beach with music every morning.
Only complaint would be that the toilet blocked up easily but then that seems to be the same with most thai toilets.
Really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikki_gibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay in our property!It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad to read that you have had such a great experience!

We shall be looking forward to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2011

Nice hotel, kindly update my room, the room 407 had a good position, I could see the pool and beach through the door. The breakfast is good, people lived in the hotel are all friendly. Next time I will choose it again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aiwabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay in our property!It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad to read that you have had such a great experience!

We shall be looking forward to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

Stayed three nights in this hotel recently. If interest is to be close to town center in Chaweng, this hotel can't be beat. In the center of things right outside of the hotel. Hotel staff was polite and efficient. Pools were good size and clean. Rooms need to be upgraded. They are good size and comfortable but a little damp and dark Biggest issue is the very small, very crowded beach front. This is a nice hotel if you are traveling with older children, but not the place for a quiet vacation, Also very nice fitness center

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rad4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay in our property!It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad to read that you have had such a great experience!

We shall be looking forward to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,572 reviews
0.7 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,932 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,393 reviews
0.8 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muang Samui Spa Resort
Muang Samui Spa Resort
#3 of 104 in Chaweng
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaweng Regent Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Regent Beach Resort

Address: 155/4 | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#21 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $127 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chaweng Regent Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your own paradise, enveloped in breezy elegance and shaded by majestic coconut trees. Enjoy a taste of tropical living, bask among blooming native flowers and sweeping ocean views and delight in an idyllic holiday of relaxation and pampering. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, where impeccable service and luxury accommodation await, offering a refuge to promote health and wellness with palate-pleasing experiences.This is the place to relax. There is nothing to disturb the blissful tranquility of Samui. This is a place to explore. There is much to see and do, but only at a pace you set yourself. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort is a stunning beach front resort, situated on the famous Chaweng beach on Koh Samui. Conveniently located only a short walk away from the vibrant excitement of Chaweng with its many entertainment spots, restaurants and shopping centers, our resort offers the very best location to suit all tastes. Whether you want to get away from it all and relax in our tranquil surroundings or shop till you drop, Chaweng Regent Beach Resort has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Chaweng Regent Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Regent Beach Hotel Chaweng
Regent Koh Samui
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing