We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid Royal Suites at all costs!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Avoid Royal Suites at all costs!”
Reviewed January 14, 2011

We had originally booked a room at the 5* Melati Hotel where we were told upon arrival that they had overbooked the hotel because of the snow storm in Europe but would offer us an equal room at their 4* 'sister hotel' Chaweng Regent. Apparently it is their logic that guests who arrive a couple of days late have a right to stay longer even if it means to send other guests who arrive on time to a different hotel.
We were offered 5000 Baht compensation, the first night in the Royal Suite and the other nights in the Spa Villa Suite.
But what a shock when we first entered the Royal Suite! There was some much dust in the room that it must not have been cleaned properly for over a month and we also found a huge caterpillar crawling in the bathtub! Besides that, the shabby room made the impression to be at least 20 years old! Totally unacceptable, especially for a room with the highest rate.
Luckily, the next day we moved to the newly renovated Spa Villa Suite, which was a completely different experience, very clean, modern and comfortable with an outdoor jacuzzi.
Unfortunately, we didn't like the location of the hotel too much, since it's located at crowded Chawenga beach and we had preferred a more quiet place (like the Melati). But if you are looking to party on Ko Samui, then Chawenga is of course the place to be.
The resort itself is quite big and it has two pools which are not too large but ok. At night there is not too much noise, except some occasional fireworks and the base from some nearby disco which couldn't really be heard in our room but this might be different in others. The beach was not very clean and the water not too clear but this might have been because of the rain storm before we arrived. Breakfast wasn't at all what I expected from a 4* hotel, but the Red Snapper restaurant had some excellent food. Room service is only available until 10.30 pm, also not appropriate for a 4* hotel. However, the staff was very friendly and incredibly helpful.
All in all, I wouldn't really recommend the Chaweng Regent, since there definitely must be better places to stay on Ko Samui for the same price, but if you still feel the urge to go to this hotel, make sure to book no other room than the Spa Villa Suite (my ratings would have been much worse if we had only stayed in the Royal Suite).

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDMC_3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay in our property!It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad to read that you have had such a great experience!

We shall be looking forward to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    867
    568
    187
    69
    59
See reviews for
426
859
40
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

Just returned from an 8 day stay in the Regent, it is perfectly placed, lovely beach front right on the beach, and plenty of crazy nightlife just at the entrance of the hotel, although it does not affect the hotel at all, so you can choose to have a crazy night out in the bars, and clubs or a quiet night in a nice restaurant. Red Snapper was excellent, I think we went three times! We had a superior room which was nice, very large bathroom/shower and flat screen TV, nice for a beach front hotel. Weather was quite humid so most of the time, everything felt damp, but that can't be helped. Staff were very nice, all in all had a great time in Koh Samui. Beds OK, but uncomfortable pillows, most of the time patio was full of leaves and seats were wet, and these were not cleaned every day by the maid.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay in our property!It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad to read that you have had such a great experience!

We shall be looking forward to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

We stayed here in November 2010. We were lucky enough to have a delux room over looking the pool, it was absolutely gorgeous. The staff were lovely,breakfast was good and the location brilliant. We didnt eat dinner at the hotel as we liked to go out and explore. There are so many places to eat that you really are spoilt for choice,but our favourite was the Thai Orchid, which is a little place on a corner about 150m left as you leave the hotel. Legends bar is a good place for a cocktail, I can recommen the Hound dog! They also do homemade chips which are absolutely delicious if you fancy a break from thai food. we loved it here and will definately return

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay in our property!It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad to read that you have had such a great experience!

We shall be looking forward to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vught
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Spent 9 days with my family at the Chaweng Regent during our X-mas holidays. Wow, did we enjoy the hotel with all it facilities! We stayed at a beachfront Villa (304) and it was just magical. Although the English of staff was not as fluent as may expected, they were most helpful at all times. The villa was very clean and confortable. New Year's Eve party was great. The hotel management and its staff went out of their way to make this a fantastic celebration; beautiful food and nice music , and the fireworks.... !
All together, my family and I truly enjoyed our stay at the Chaweng Regent and we will most definitely return next year!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janssen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay in our property!It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad to read that you have had such a great experience!

We shall be looking forward to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

The hotels setting on a lovely beach is the only positive - the hotel is located in a very busy, noisy part of town - the high street has no charm, mcdonalds, burger king, startbucks, 7eleven all within 100 meters of each other leaving aside the drag queens and other novelties that abound - not for families with children, why come all this way and stay here, location alone is a no no. If you like the location, forget this hotel, the gala compulsory new year dinner is a rip off and worse still not compulsory, I met three other families/couples none of whom it was compulsory for, even when I wrote the manager a letter to complain I got nothing in reply, not a note, a call or anything! the dinner cost two adults and three children over £600 !! On checking in at 230pm the rooms were not ready, the front desk is poor in terms of servie, staff relatively unfriendly aside from breakfast chefs making the eggs, the food is ok but overpriced, would strongly recommend you shop around and think twice about this stretch of samui. Below averaage despite the premium price - would not come back even if I was offered a free night!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NJS186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelatiManagement, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Dear NJS186338,

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry I didn't receive information that you would like to meet with me while you were at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort as it would have been my pleasure.

As for the location, we indeed feel it is a selling point for most of our guests as we are conveniently located within easy access to a variety of entertainment and shopping venues, yet embraced by our oasis of calm, greeen gardens along the white sands of Chaweng Beach. I regret you didn't find this acceptable for your family.

As for the Gala Dinner & Show on 31 December 2010, reviewing our feedback, you have brought up an interesting point. While our entertainment spanned the course of 6 hours and our buffet was more than 150 items, perhaps some may not find value in this type of event. I shall look into this and also the issue of compulsory you have raised.

Again, thank you for your feedback and I do hope we have the opportunity to serve you and your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2010

DO NOT book here. I was foolish enough to read some of the reviews but trust trust me. Do Not stay here. Rooms are like 15+ years old. Staff is friendly. THe Spa Charges 1700 baht for a massage? THis is insane prices considering a next door hotel charged 500 and was a way nicer hotel. The hallways are dark, old, and the pool is not great at all. On a positive note, the front staff is nice but would not upgrade me to a nicer room (they said they were full but expedia showed that rooms were available.
This is a 2+ star hotel for a 4 star price. RIP OFF! Stay at Resotel instead; its new beautiful and way better deal.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank In2tunes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nikholasbauer, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Dear In2Tnes2, thank you for taking the time to share your comments in reference to your recent stay at Chaweng Regent. I am sorry that you didn't share your comments with me in person while at the resort as I would have been happy to walk around and explain our operation to you, while finding a way to ensure your happiness.

So to clarify, please note that Chaweng Regent prides itself on being a legend of Chaweng Beach as it has been in operation for more than 20 years. However, all guest rooms, suites and villas have been renovated within the past few years with the exception of a few wonderful garden bungalows that have been kept for our repeat guests who appreciate the Samui of time long gone by. I would also like to point out that yes, some public areas were dark as they were closed to accommodate the construction of brand new Spa Villa Suites which opened on 21 December 2010. As for the comments in refenence to our swimming pool, or shall I more correctly note two swimming pools, I am not sure why you didn't enjoy them, but indeed, they are among the largest and best on Chaweng Beach.

Your comments in reference to cleanliness are well noted and we will use these comments to further train our team.

Again, thank you for taking time to comment and I wish you a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

We stayed here for 10 days and from start to finnish everything was excellent. Service was superb adn when ever we needed anything it was taken care of fast. Every day fresh orchids on the bed, aromatic candles next to the jacuzzi bath.
We stayed in royal suite 303 - this is the best bungalow on Samui island. A foot step to the beach and our own pavillion to look at people going by on the beach while enjoying a glass of white wine. Would come back every chance possible. 304 suite also looked nice but was little "in the bush" so if you want real privacy go for 304.
Not the cheapes but definitely value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tomiturku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay in our property!It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad to read that you have had such a great experience!

We shall be looking forward to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,307 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.7 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
0.8 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaweng Regent Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Regent Beach Resort

Property: Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Address: 155/4 | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#13 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#21 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaweng Regent Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your own paradise, enveloped in breezy elegance and shaded by majestic coconut trees. Enjoy a taste of tropical living, bask among blooming native flowers and sweeping ocean views and delight in an idyllic holiday of relaxation and pampering. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, where impeccable service and luxury accommodation await, offering a refuge to promote health and wellness with palate-pleasing experiences.This is the place to relax. There is nothing to disturb the blissful tranquility of Samui. This is a place to explore. There is much to see and do, but only at a pace you set yourself. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort is a stunning beach front resort, situated on the famous Chaweng beach on Koh Samui. Conveniently located only a short walk away from the vibrant excitement of Chaweng with its many entertainment spots, restaurants and shopping centers, our resort offers the very best location to suit all tastes. Whether you want to get away from it all and relax in our tranquil surroundings or shop till you drop, Chaweng Regent Beach Resort has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chaweng Regent Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Regent Beach Hotel Chaweng
Regent Koh Samui
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing