We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“terrible experience”
Reviewed May 10, 2010

My partner and i decided to stay at the chaweng regent after my friend who was a travel agent reccommend it. We had stayed in 5 star accomadation prior to arriving to koh samui and were told we wouldn't be dissappointed. Well what a disgrace... The room type we were given was like a 1star hotel. We were given one key which was for electricity and air con, and if you left the room everything would switch off , it would take literally hours to cool down, the air con was a very small vent and not good for extreme heat especially april time in thailand. The bathroom was terrible, mould in the shower the toliet had not been cleaned and had a terrible smell to it, and when you flushed it it was so noisy for like 15 minutes. The bedroom was standard, the bed rock hard and sunk in the middle, sheets stunk and were dirty. The balcony was dirty , the hole room made me itch it was filthy. The hole place is 21 years old and needs a massive renovation, with only 12 rooms in the hole resort that has been renovated.
reception and staff were not helpful at all very dissappointing.
My advice is if you like nice accomadation don't stay here there are so many nicer places for the same money in the heart of chaweng beach.
The Internet photo's are nothing like the rooms and if your travel agent offers you a deal pay for 4 nights and get 4 free don't take it cause they charge you and you are given the bottom type rooms.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joanne025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2017
Thank you for your valuable comments.
We are sorry to read that you didn t enjoyed your stay with us thus accept our sincere apologies.

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    889
    578
    192
    69
    59
See reviews for
435
880
43
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Where to start? This resort was amazing, it was a private oasis in the heart of it all. The resort gardens reminded us of a tropical rainforest, it was extremely private and away from all the noise and hustle and bustle but at one end of the resort was the heart of the main street at the other end of the resort was the beach. This hotel has the nicest section of beach and we walked the complete stretch.

Our first three nights we were upgraded to a Royal Suite as they had overbooked the Premier rooms. HEAVEN. Ten steps to the beach, idyellic views of the ocean and the room was huge. We then had seven nights in a deluxe regency room which was smaller but still a good size. This room was situated around the pool which was awesome. The rooms were very clean, full amentities, private balconys with bench chairs, super comfy beds and spacious. We were just as happy in the deluxe room as we were the Royal Suite. There is a nightly turn down service and they also spray the room nightly with insect spray. We slept like babies and there was no surrounding noise at all.

The service in this hotel was spot on. Emi the receptionist was so helpful and left no stone unturned. The daily breakfast was something to look forward to, freshly made omlettes and cusine to suit all tastes and nationalities, they really have got breakfast perfected.

The pool bar is great, we met lots of people here and made some great new friends. We ate regularly at Chomjalay for lunch and also for dinner, the food was delicious. A highlight was Red Snapper. I read a previous review that wasnt so impressed and was reluctant about eating there but a couple from the resort raved about it. Im so glad we did, the food is world class and not that expensive in comparison to other top restaurants we ate at. We consider ourselves Melbourne foodies and this would be up there with one of our favourite restaurants. Compliments to the chef on some of the nicest food on the Island.

Thanks to everyone at Chaweng Regent, from Jet at brekky to our room maid. A memorable and romantic stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tez99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay in our property!It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad to read that you have had such a great experience!

We shall be looking forward to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

We stayed at the Chaweng Regent for 10 nights to celebrate my birthday and also my retirement. It was an absolutely fantastic holiday and thank you to the staff for making our trip a memorable one. The room, hotel grounds and food were all first class. Out of 10 days we only left the resort once for a round the Island tour!!
No hesitation whatsover in recommending this hotel and we will be return!!
Also a special thanks for the cake and sparkling wine given to us to mark my birthday

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WGRHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay in our property!It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad to read that you have had such a great experience!

We shall be looking forward to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Our second time here and it was fantastic!

We love the location and the service. Staff are always helpful.

You can't beat the location!!! Close to shops, backyard beach and night life.

Only negative was that they double booked our room and we had t change rooms for a day.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay in our property!It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad to read that you have had such a great experience!

We shall be looking forward to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2010

DISGRACE.... if your looking for a room with a dirty and mouldy bathroom, a bed that has sand in the sheets and sags in the middle and feels worse than sleeping on a old fold out sofa bed, and is dirty, then you've come to the right place.Will not recommend this place to anyone. We booked a deluxe room after seeing photo's on net, and let me tell you it doesn't look like that at all. The place is 21 years old and has never been renovated, It really needs it.The service was rubbish ,the staff wasn't helpful at all,clearly we were distressed about the room and we got was a "Bad Luck" attitude. The only positive about this resort is the location.
It is definitely not a 4.5 star resort more like 2 star.Only lasted one night before we demanded our money back and went two doors down to a much nicer and newer resort muang samui for the same price and this is only a 4 star resort but what a difference highly reccommend the muang samui. I hope that this stops people from booking at chaweng regent so noone has to have a experience like we did DONT STAY THERE.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank j0e81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2017
Thank you for your valuable comments.
We are sorry to read about your experience.

the management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2010

Excellent location, beach at back, main street at front. Stayed in deluxe regency rooms 188 and 189, ground floor, right next to the garden pool. Both pools are great, however, very warm in the afternoons. Resort grounds are excellent. Rooms are good, however, beds are hard and bathrooms could do with a fixed shower head and screen rather than a shower curtain. Breakfast is brilliant, a buffet and the location on the beach is fantastic. Red Snapper restaurant at front only had lunch but was really good. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay in our property!It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad to read that you have had such a great experience!

We shall be looking forward to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Fantastic food, swimming pool is a bit small, but OK to throw a ball. The beach is not private, so everyone walks by, which can be disturbing. What is sometimes annoying is the local people selling throughout the evening selfmade flower necklaces, laserpointers and... fireworks every 10 minutes. Setting off fireworks is OK, but they continue to set off up to way past midnight. Sometimes even at 1.30 you make be hearing a loud bang! Every evening there's a different theme on food. Of course chawang is the most expensive, but you pay for the setting and ambiance. It is all quality. The hotel beds are very big, but unfortunately these are outdated spring mattresses. My old back did not rest.
Unlike other resorts, Happy Hour is really only 1 hour. Other resorts would do 2 or sometimes 3 hrs. Staff is very friendly. The massage Spa was good. I think this is a 4-5 star resort and I am perhaps a bit spoiled having stayed in real 5-6 star hotels and resorts, but I think I will not go back. I want a bit more quiet and a bit more away from downtown. Getting old I guess. The garden and fish pond is very impressive.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okapoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay in our property!It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad to read that you have had such a great experience!

We shall be looking forward to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,361 reviews
0.7 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,742 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,400 reviews
0.8 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaweng Regent Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Regent Beach Resort

Property: Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Address: 155/4 | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#12 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#21 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaweng Regent Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your own paradise, enveloped in breezy elegance and shaded by majestic coconut trees. Enjoy a taste of tropical living, bask among blooming native flowers and sweeping ocean views and delight in an idyllic holiday of relaxation and pampering. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, where impeccable service and luxury accommodation await, offering a refuge to promote health and wellness with palate-pleasing experiences.This is the place to relax. There is nothing to disturb the blissful tranquility of Samui. This is a place to explore. There is much to see and do, but only at a pace you set yourself. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort is a stunning beach front resort, situated on the famous Chaweng beach on Koh Samui. Conveniently located only a short walk away from the vibrant excitement of Chaweng with its many entertainment spots, restaurants and shopping centers, our resort offers the very best location to suit all tastes. Whether you want to get away from it all and relax in our tranquil surroundings or shop till you drop, Chaweng Regent Beach Resort has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chaweng Regent Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Regent Beach Hotel Chaweng
Regent Koh Samui
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing