We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Chaweng”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great location in Chaweng”
Reviewed September 16, 2006

We stayed here for 8 nights at the end of our honeymoon in Thailand. The hotel was in a great location on Chaweng beach. We were in a busy part of town but the hotel was set back far enough that noise wasn't a problem. The hotel has its own private stretch of beach and a large area cordoned off where beach touts aren't allowed! The hotel was ideally suite for exploring chaweng on foot and there were many good restaurants located close by although we returned to the hotels own Red Snapper restaurant night after night! We made the mistake of trying a differnt place to eat one night but after waiting over an hour for our meal we left and went back to the Red Snapper! The room was nicely decorated (we were supposed to get an upgrade as it was our honeymoon, not sure if we did but the room was great anyway) The tropical gardens were lovely and both pools were great, its worth wandering round to the second pool beside the spa (where the more expensive accomodation was) as it was alittle quieter.

We were at the hotel for thai new year which was quite an experience (prepare for a soaking) and chose to stay at the hotel for the night time celebrations. The BBQ and buffet were superb (with stacks of fresh fish and amazing fruit carvings) the entertainment less so!

All in all a great place to stay, great location with the hustle and bustle of chaweng's main street on one side of the hotel and the best spot on the beach on the other!

  • Liked — great location on Chaweng beach
  • Disliked — Probably would have been worth upgrading to private villa
  • Tips/Secrets — Eat at the Red Snapper
  • Stayed April 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrisandbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay in our property!It was a pleasure to have you with us and we are glad to read that you have had such a great experience!

We shall be looking forward to welcome you back very soon!

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    889
    578
    192
    69
    59
See reviews for
435
880
43
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2006

This hotel was lovely. I need my hotels to be excessively clean and I am happy to say this was the case here.

There are two beautiful pools, a nice stretch of beach, pool bar and great restaurant.

Definitely try the buffet BBQ. The spa looked lovely but was really expensive. We found a lovely thai massage/ beauty hut on the beach that was clean and really cheap.

Ko Samui had some lovely restaurants. Including one where you could choose the raw fish you wanted cooked, how much you wanted and how they cooked it. simple but the best meal we had.

  • Liked — Very clean and good location
  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank OCD-KM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2006

We stayed at the chaweng regent in Koh Samui for our honeymoon. After some wonderful accommodation in Phuket we arrived at the hotel and were very disappointed. We were taken to our deluxe villa - which resembled a basic room at the local motel - not at all like the impression we got on the website and what we expected for the price we paid ($340 AU) per night.

The room smelt like stale cigarettes and our bathroom was less than average - the size of a panty with a tiny bath (i think there was a shower in the bath but I was too scared to shower here) and a toilet that gurgled the whole night. While trying to get some rest the couple in the next room came home - how did we know? well there was a connecting door from our room to theirs and a large gap between the door and the floor - so when they switched on their light, our room was flooded with light - not to mention we could hear everything :o( Our room overlooked the childrens playground another headache when you are trying to sleep in (not that i slept). The breakfast the next day was terrible and we found the staff not very responsive. We left the very next morning.

Overall the chaweng may be good for families especially becuase it is right in the town and there are LOTS of kids there, but for honeymooners some advice - make sure you get a bungalow or something other than the deluxe villa - which is anything but. It's a large resort so you are going to face families and groups of people - perhaps go somewhere a big more boutique style if you are looking for some quite time together.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank domov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2017
Thank you for your patronage and for sharing the details of your stay.We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused.

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2006

My partner and I have just returned from 7 glorious days in Koh Smaui staying at the Chaweng Regent! This was one of the nicer hotels centrally located along Chaweng Beach. The service was excellent and the staff were very well presented, competent in English and incredibly helpful. Upon arrival we were greeted with a refreshing cold glass of juice in the most exquisite cups, a cooling face towel and a flower bangle. (The small attention to detail was lovely) Our travel agent had originally booked us a Deluxe Villa however we were initially escorted to Garden Deluxe room with a poor location! To cut a long story short the staff were very helpful and moved us to the Deluxe Villa, which was a stone's trow away from the beach pool and the beach!

I was very confused when booking as there wasn't much information relating to the difference in the Deluxe suites. From what I can gather there's the Deluxe Garden, Deluxe Villa & Deluxe Regency Rooms. The villa wing I believe is slightly older, our bathroom was defiantly not to a 4/5 Star standard, very dated! The regency wing in centrally located and much nicer! The amenities in our room were great, dvd player (which came in handy), safe, mini bar, couch etc. There’s the usual cleaning of the room everyday and every night around 5pm your room is sprayed with insect repellent, beach towels replaced and bed re-made. The supplied beach bag also comes in handy!

The beach directly outside the hotel wasn’t the best, very shallow and protected be a reef about 50 meters out. However a 2min walk and the beach was beautiful. This didn’t bother us much as we spent most of our time lounging around one of the two hotel pools, shopping or exploring the Island!

I must admit the breakfast failed to impress! It was your usual breakfast buffet, however the pancakes and waffles were dry, the variety of fresh fruit was limited and the milk for the tea/coffee wasn’t fresh! Compared to other 4/5 star hotels that we’ve stayed in, the breakfast defiantly didn’t compare. The food at the beach restaurant & pool bar was also quite average and over priced! The main restaurant attached to the hotel is called the “Red Snapper” apparently is quite good, it looks amazing. However there’s so many great restaurants surrounding the hotel, that finding a bite to eat for a reasonable price is easy! (Pad Thai $3.50!)

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Chaweng Regent. The staff were excellent, the grounds were picturesque and the location was fantastic. I’d defiantly recommend this hotel to couples looking for a romantic get away as well as families with young children. If you’re a young, and out looking for a good time, I’d suggest a different hotel. We’ll be back next year for sure!!! Safe Travels!

Helpful?
25 Thank GDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay with us and we appreciate you sharing your extremely valuable comments with us and others!

It was indeed a great pleasure to have your company and we shall be looking forward to welcome you soon back the The Melati!!

Sincerely,

Denis Martin
GGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,361 reviews
0.7 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,743 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,401 reviews
0.8 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaweng Regent Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Regent Beach Resort

Property: Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Address: 155/4 | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#12 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#21 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaweng Regent Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your own paradise, enveloped in breezy elegance and shaded by majestic coconut trees. Enjoy a taste of tropical living, bask among blooming native flowers and sweeping ocean views and delight in an idyllic holiday of relaxation and pampering. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, where impeccable service and luxury accommodation await, offering a refuge to promote health and wellness with palate-pleasing experiences.This is the place to relax. There is nothing to disturb the blissful tranquility of Samui. This is a place to explore. There is much to see and do, but only at a pace you set yourself. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort is a stunning beach front resort, situated on the famous Chaweng beach on Koh Samui. Conveniently located only a short walk away from the vibrant excitement of Chaweng with its many entertainment spots, restaurants and shopping centers, our resort offers the very best location to suit all tastes. Whether you want to get away from it all and relax in our tranquil surroundings or shop till you drop, Chaweng Regent Beach Resort has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chaweng Regent Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Regent Beach Hotel Chaweng
Regent Koh Samui
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing