We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for a beach holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Ranked #18 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great base for a beach holiday”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed at the Chaweng Regent for 6 days as part of a 'Secret Escapes' package.

The hotel is beautifully laid out with direct access to the beach, and also the main area of Chaweng.

The rooms are clean and bright, with plenty of space. There was a walk in shower as well as a bath, and plenty of cupboard space.
The only let down was the number of electrical sockets...there were only 4 (including the shaver socket in the bathroom). This sounds plenty, but with the amount of electrical items we had, it was a constant juggling act to recharge them (iPhone, kindle, netbook, 4 cameras), also, the room key operates the electrical supply to the rooms, so you can only charge things up when you're in the room, as soon as you leave the room, and remove the key, the electricity goes off.

The hotel has 2 pool areas, one having a swim up bar. We declined to use it, as we observed some holidaymakers sitting at the bar for hours, without getting out to use the loo...... they either have bladders the size of beach balls, or they were using the pool as a loo! Yuck!

Breakfast was a mixture of English, Thai and Continental, with something for everyone... cereals, cooked breakfast, fruit, pastries, toast etc..... very nice.
We had one dinner in the attached 'Red Snapper' restaurant. The steak was cooked to perfection, but so it should be for the price charged.... the rest of the time we sampled some of the many Thai restaurants; these provided 2 of us with enough food to feed a small army, at the same price (or less) that one steak meal!

As someone else mentioned, the hotel was full, and we were offered a move to a 'sister' hotel about 15 mins away, but it was only for the last day of our holiday, so we declined..... we were going to be travelling enough the following day!

The outside space at the hotel is a maze of small decked areas, all eventually leading to the reception or pool, here were quiet areas with soft furnishings under wooden pagodas, for when the sun became too much, and all the sunbeds around the pool had sunshades. Most also had a call button, to alert the staff that you required a drink or food!

All the staff were very friendly, especially if you said 'Sawadee ka' to them.

We had a lady from housekeeping call every late afternoon, just to spray the rooms with mosquito spray. In all the time we were in the rooms, we never got bitten by anything.
The housekeeping staff kept all the rooms and public areas spotlessly clean, and they all smiled, all the time, even when it was stifling hot!

The main road out the front of the hotel is really busy, especially at night, when there seem to be a constant line of touting taxis beeping incessantly, but once over the hotel threshold, past reception, you could barely hear the noise of the street, and we slept well and undisturbed.

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip, and would recommend this hotel to anyone who loves the beach and pool scene, but also wants to see plenty of shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanP72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Chaweng Regent Beach Resort as your home to stay on Samui Island and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

The team and I are very thankful for your feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

At the Chaweng Regent Beach Resort we are all dedicated to serve and provide the best service toward at all the time.

I hope you had a safe journey on the way back home and we wish to welcome you again in a near future at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort.

If you have additional comments, feedback or for future reservation please don't hesitate to e-mail me at gm@chawengregent.com

Kindest regards,

Matthieu Reynaud
Group General Manager
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    590
    197
    71
    60
See reviews for
449
894
43
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Had a great holiday and would love to go back.
Good location. On the beach and at the end of the 'strip' but far enough away to be peaceful.
Went on an amazing day trip booked through the hotel to the National park islands. Speed boat ride there, snorkeling, kyaking and sight seeing.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Chaweng Regent Beach Resort as your home to stay on Samui Island and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

The team and I are very thankful for your feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

At the Chaweng Regent Beach Resort we are all dedicated to serve and provide the best service toward at all the time.

I hope you had a safe journey on the way back home and we wish to welcome you again in a near future at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort.

If you have additional comments, feedback or for future reservation please don't hesitate to e-mail me at gm@chawengregent.com

Kindest regards,

Matthieu Reynaud
Group General Manager
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

When we checked in to the Charweng on the 8th July and told that the hotel was overbooked. So the hotel very nicely moved us to the Amari <a Beautiful hotel> about 5minutes away for 1 night, before transferring us back to the Charweng for the remainder of our stay.

The Charweng is beautify set out with nice gardens & has a fantastic beach front position.
The breakfast was ok, but still a little below the standard of other hotels in Koh Samui.
The hotel restaurant is ridiculously over priced, as are drinks from the bar.

Given most of the hotel is made up of Villa style accommodation we noticed allot of family's, which in turn meant the pools & common areas were constantly over run with kids, so I wouldn't recommend this hotel for couples wanting a relaxing romantic get away.

I feel that the hotel would gain allot by making the pool bar an adults only area.

We stayed in a Spa Villa suite <the next room down from the top Royal Suite> and although it was nice, we found the bed was very hard & definitely not to standard for a luxury hotel.

Overall the Charweng is nice, I give it a 6.5 out of 10, the staff were great to deal with, but we wouldn't choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Chaweng Regent Beach Resort as your home to stay on Samui Island and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

The team and I are very thankful for your feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

At the Chaweng Regent Beach Resort we are all dedicated to serve and provide the best service toward at all the time.

I hope you had a safe journey on the way back home and we wish to welcome you again in a near future at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort.

If you have additional comments, feedback or for future reservation please don't hesitate to e-mail me at gm@chawengregent.com

Kindest regards,

Matthieu Reynaud
Group General Manager
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here fro six nights after 5 weeks in Europe.
We booked a Spa Villa suite and asked to be nearest the pool - we were not disappointed. We were upgraded to a Deluxe Spa Villa
These rooms are great. Spacious, private, wonderful shower, and a in ground 2 person spa. we were close to the restaurant both pools and Beach.
The resort gardens are beautiful and the bottom pool and restaurant is right on the beach.
We had some of our best meals in the Motel Restaurant on the beach.
At the reception area end you are right on the main drag and there's lots of bars and restaurants and shopping - no shortage at all.
Taxis abound but best value by far are the "Song-sow" non metered local pickups - they go everywhere and usually only B200 for 2 people, even up to Bho Put.
I'd much prefer it here to the areas further south.
The only thing I did not like was at Breakfast a lot of the food was not covered and flies constantly sat on the food. Hygiene does not seem to be a priority.

Room Tip: 3062 deluxe spa villa is in a great location, close to the restaurant both pools a Beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenn_terrigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing Chaweng Regent Beach Resort as your home to stay on Samui Island and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

The team and I are very thankful for your feedback and glad you enjoyed so much your 6 days with us.

At the Chaweng Regent Beach Resort we are all dedicated to serve and provide the best service toward at all the time.

I hope you had a safe journey on the way back home and we wish to welcome you again in a near future at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort.

If you have additional comments, feedback or for future reservation please don't hesitate to e-mail me at gm@chawengregent.com

Kindest regards,

Matthieu Reynaud
Group General Manager
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed at the Chaweng Regent back in June for 8 days a part of a 16 day visit to Thailand.
We stayed in a Premier Room located a short walk from reception. Very happy with the room we had. Spacious, clean and well furnished with the interior of the room tastefully decorated with Thai influenced décor and wall paintings. The King Size bed along with excellent quiet air conditioning ensured a great night sleep. The bathroom featured a separate shower and Jacuzzi oversize bathtub. The room has a private courtyard also. My only criticism was that the room still uses a key instead of the swipe card but then this was not really a major issue. Or, as the staff at the hotel say part of the “Classic Touch”. The hotel location set in a tropical setting provided excellent access to shopping, restaurants and beach side eating but still provided the tranquility expected. Breakfast was great. The usual Asian and western choices. There is a choice of two pools. One has a swim up bar. The other is located next to the beach. Poolside service is excellent.Resort staff welcome to Happy Hour is fun to watch.
Happy to recommend this Resort Hotel and would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Go for the Premier room or above. Villas worth considering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomB58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing again Chaweng Regent Beach Resort as your home to stay on Samui Island and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

The team and I are very thankful for your feedback and glad you enjoyed so much your 8 days with us.

At the Chaweng Regent Beach Resort we are all dedicated to serve and provide the best service toward at all the time.

I hope you had a safe journey on the way back home and we wish to welcome you again in a near future at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort.

If you have additional comments, feedback or for future reservation please don't hesitate to e-mail me at gm@chawengregent.com

Kindest regards,

Matthieu Reynaud
Group General Manager
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed here after spending 9 nights in Bangkok. We walked into the reception area and were thrusted cool drinks and towels and told to wait while they got our rooms ready. The receptionists, like most people have mentioned, weren't exactly the friendliest bunch. They disappointed us with the service they provided especially since we had stayed at the wonderfully accommodating Amari Watergate in Bangkok. This is a shame since they are the first part of the resort we experience. We got escorted to our deluxe villa which was a welcoming sight. The location of it was great since it was further away from the busy sounds of the main road. I loved the look and feel of it. But it didn't last long as some nights later the air conditioning unit started leaking and flooded the vanity. A repairman was sent promptly and somewhat contained the problem. The garden pool was right next to our villa and has an excellent swim up bar. Highly recommend the Coconut Tree cocktail. I actually preferred the garden pool to the beachside pool. The buffet breakfast was nothing too special. Besides the breakfast we didn't really eat at the hotel as it's a bit pricey and there are cheaper options outside. Staying in a resort by the beach has its perks. We loved walking along the beach at night. It comes alive with music and beachside eateries.
Best parts: Swim up bar, beach access and close to the main strip.
Worst parts: Receptionists and room malfunction.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mashaba A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing again Chaweng Regent Beach Resort as your home to stay on Samui Island and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

Really sorry if you encoutered some issues as at the Chaweng Regent Beach Resort we are all dedicated to serve and provide the best service toward at all the time.

I hope you had a safe journey on the way back home and we wish to welcome you again in a near future at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort.

If you have additional comments, feedback or for future reservation please don't hesitate to e-mail me at gm@chawengregent.com

Kindest regards,

Matthieu Reynaud
Group General Manager
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flinders, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Great time from check in to check out.
All staff were very helpful, friendly and competent.
Rooms were well looked after. ie cleaned as required, repairs done timely.
Food was delicious with great variety for our 5 night stay.
Lots of choice for breakfast.
Great to be able to dine on the beach if wanted.
Being close to centre of Chewang but away from the noise was great too.
Being located on the lagoon was good for us as it gave a nice atmosphere and clean clear water, however we only swam in the resorts 2 swimming pools.

Room Tip: All good :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony and Sam... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for choosing again Chaweng Regent Beach Resort as your home to stay on Samui Island and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

The team and I are very thankful for your feedback and glad you enjoyed every moments in our resort.

At the Chaweng Regent Beach Resort we are all dedicated to serve and provide the best service toward at all the time.

I hope you had a safe journey on the way back home and we wish to welcome you again in a near future at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort.

If you have additional comments, feedback or for future reservation please don't hesitate to e-mail me at gm@chawengregent.com

Kindest regards,

Matthieu Reynaud
Group General Manager
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.7 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,775 reviews
0.3 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,401 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,412 reviews
0.8 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,344 reviews
1.3 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaweng Regent Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Regent Beach Resort

Property: Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Address: 155/4 | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#13 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#21 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaweng Regent Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your own paradise, enveloped in breezy elegance and shaded by majestic coconut trees. Enjoy a taste of tropical living, bask among blooming native flowers and sweeping ocean views and delight in an idyllic holiday of relaxation and pampering. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, where impeccable service and luxury accommodation await, offering a refuge to promote health and wellness with palate-pleasing experiences.This is the place to relax. There is nothing to disturb the blissful tranquility of Samui. This is a place to explore. There is much to see and do, but only at a pace you set yourself. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort is a stunning beach front resort, situated on the famous Chaweng beach on Koh Samui. Conveniently located only a short walk away from the vibrant excitement of Chaweng with its many entertainment spots, restaurants and shopping centers, our resort offers the very best location to suit all tastes. Whether you want to get away from it all and relax in our tranquil surroundings or shop till you drop, Chaweng Regent Beach Resort has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chaweng Regent Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Regent Beach Hotel Chaweng
Regent Koh Samui
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing