We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$397
LuxuryCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amari Koh Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$135
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nora Buri Resort & Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$153
$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dara Samui Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$111
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$197
$154
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
OZO Chaweng Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$122
OZOHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nora Beach Resort and Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
KC Resort & Over Water Villas(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$300
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Poppies Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,961)
Filter reviews
1,961 results
Traveler rating
973
634
214
76
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
973
634
214
76
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremier roomspa villared snappergarden poolchom talaykoh samuiroyal suiteswim up bargreen birdpools are greatthe main streetour honeymoonbars and restaurantsfree upgradebuffet breakfasthappy houryour doorstep
Filter
Updating list...
829 - 834 of 1,961 reviews
Reviewed March 9, 2014

very beautiful hotel,as always in thailand.paid over 300 u.s$ per night(double room).the room is nice and spacy,has a big jacousy(which we never used, like most peaple).Other then that,we got the feeling that we are just an ATM.At the check-in they asked for half the stay fee,as if we are going to run away with the money.wi fi was extra(AT MORE THEN 300 $?).we asked for a cup of espresso at breakfast,and were charged extra.(the coffee was lausy).We took a buffet at evening,it was no good and expensive.we asked for two room keys,and had to raise hell to get them.Finally i am not reccomending this hotel for that price,categorically.
rafi3342

Room Tip: do not take the spa villa,as it is not worth the money.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rafi3342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear Rephael R
Thank you for your much appreciated comments and my team and I are sad that you were not happy with some aspects of our service.
Please allow me to apologize for the issue that you had with obtaining a second room key. I have briefed my team again and this really should not have happend and again my most sincere apologies for that.
Wifi, I am truly sorry that you are not happy with this aspect and I know that many of our guests would prefer free wifi. However we clearly advertise that we only offer free wifi in certain areas of our resort and may I add we are not the only one charging. However your point has been received loud and clear, we are reviewing our policy. Lastly my apologies about the coffee at breakfast not being to your liking. Indeed tastes differ and many of our guests do enjoy the coffee that we serve at breakfast. Again my apologies if the coffee was not to your taste. I have asked our F & B Manager to investigate this issue.
Lastly we are truly dismayed that you felt you were being treated like an ATM machine this was clearly not our intention and we never wish to treat our valued guests like this.
I hope you will give us another opportunity to expeirence a different Chaweng Regent Beach Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 7nights stay here, it is just perfect the grounds are lush you would think you were in a jungle they are kept immaculate , the breakfast and setting was just great with lots of choice, with the beautiful beach at one side and the hustle of the main strip at the other the setting is just perfect. As other reviews say there was a problem with our room not being available i booked a superior bungalow 8mths ago but ended up in a second floor room although this was lovely it was not what i booked. There is a problem with sunbed situation but in the end i just did what everyone elsr did and reserved one when i went for breakfast. The only niggle i had was we had a late flight on leaving and requested well in advance to pay to keep room on til 6pm, after 5trips to reception and them saying it would be ok on the morning of departure i went to pay for the room as instructed only to be told i had to be out by 12 and this was at 10.30 needless to say i was annoyed and this marred our last day. But other than that the hotel is perfect

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2014

Dear Knottla
Thank you for your excellent review and sharing your expeience on trip advisor.
Please allow me to apologize for this very unfortunate expeirence with the late check out on your last day. This is truly not a desireable way to end your holidays.
I will discuss this issue with my front office team to ensure that future guests do not have to experience what you did and again my most sincere apologies.
Thank you for being so kind and understanding and above fair still giving us a great review.
Your comments are highly appreciated as we now have an apoortunity to learn and improve.
All of us hope to be able to welcome you back and wish you all the best.
Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed here after a short stay in Bangkok. We arrived around 14:30 and had a short wait for our room which was a garden bungalow. Was quite a small room but clean and tidy and probably looked smaller due to the huge comfortable bed we had. As you don't spend much time in the room didin't matter too much but did find lack of storage for clothes etc. a bit of a problem. However, the bungalow was surrounded by lush gardens that were very well tendered and we were right at the front of the hotel by the Koi Carp pond - beautiful! We did have a rodent in our room one night that scarpered when we put the light on and we reported to reception who come and sprayed the room the next day and we never saw it any more. This was probably due to the surrounding lush gardens and was in no way to do with the hotel being unclean.

Out of the front of the hotel was the hustle and bustle of Chaweng with plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from and lady boy shows. Out of the back of the hotel i.e. the beach and pool area was like heaven - beautiful beach and pools with plenty of shade if needed and a bar on hand for refreshments - plenty of happy hours. At night if you didn't want the hustle and bustle of the street life you could go to the beach and find a nice bar to sit at or have a nice meal on the beach.
All of the staff we encountered from reception, to gardeners, waitresses, waiters were very polite and always greeted you with a smile. Breakfast was perfect with plenty of choice.
Was our first time in Samui and would definitely come back and highly recommend this hotel/resort!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debymanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear Debymanning
Thank you very much for your kind and appreciated review and for sharing. Indeed despite the fact that we not only pest control our rooms on a regular basis but our gardens as well, these critters are native to this sub tropical climate and especially in a low rise resort setting often unavoidable. Our Bungalows have been recently renovated and yes we are aware that closet space is at a premium and a bit sparce. My most sincere apologies for this. We do have many larger room types available and our reservation staff would be most delighted in sharing this information with you should you hopefully wish to return.
It is always a pleasure to know that we have been able to create a positive holiday experience for our guests. Again thank you for sharing and I do hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stayed here in April 2013 and am going back in April 2014. It was one of the most beautiful hotels I got to experience in Thailand. We had a free room upgrade on arrival.... grounds were beautiful and there was wooden boardwalks all over. 2 gorgeous pools (1 with swim up bar which was a must for us). The rooms were very private and secluded but so beautiful. The breakfast buffet had an incredible range of food including local thai food, other typed of asian food, omelette bar, sushi, fruit etc. And all of this with a gorgeous view of an incredible beach!
Cannot reccommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l_bunga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Dear I_bunga
On behalf of the entire Chaweng regent team allow me to thank you for your kind and appreciated comments in your trip advisor review.
it is always very gratifying for us to receive such a review and to know that our work is appreciated and we succeeded in creating a memorable vacation experience.
Looking forward to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Just returned from our visit ever trip to the island of Ko Samui and stayed at the Chaweng Regent Beach Resort. We had asked for a superior/deluxe bungalow in a quiet location and the hotel duly obliged. Our bungalow was tucked away so we had lots of privacy and were not disturbed at night by any late night revellers.

We soon got used to the occasional noise from the planes taking off from the airport but hey after all it’s not like we were on the main flight path at Heathrow! Most of the air traffic was in the morning and late afternoon.

We had booked a bungalow and we were happy with it although we are not sure that we would agree with the description that it is superior/deluxe in the way the hotel/brochure does.

I’m not sure when it had been refurbished but it could do with a lick of paint inside as some of the woodwork was looking a bit tardy in places. It was also a pity that there was not a bit more storage place to hang up our clothes. The magnetic key was also temperamental at times which meant our power would suddenly go off without reason. This was eventually rectified by the hotel.
Our room was also sprayed with insect repellent every evening around about 5pm.

Some other guests who had booked the bigger superior rooms were not so lucky. During our 2 week stay we were aware of at least 3 parties who had been downgraded due to problems with overbooking. This seems to be a constant problem with this hotel.

The hotel is set in some lovely well maintained gardens; you really do feel that you are in a tropical paradise. We sat out in one of the pagodas a number of times. It was lovely to look at the lovely vegetation and listen to the birds singing. This is one of the unique selling points of this hotel; you can sit out in an oasis of calm oblivious to the fact that the vibrant main high street is just a stone’s throw away!

As for the rest of the hotel.

The breakfast was good. There is a good selection with some variety each day. We had spinach one morning, enjoyed the sushi and we also made use of the egg station more often than not. One comment about the staff, they are sometimes too quick to clear your table when you go back to the breakfast bar so you have to ask for a fresh brew and fresh cutlery when you get back to your table (assuming someone else isn’t sitting at it in the meantime, yes this did happen to us more than once!). At the same time the staff could also be a bit more attentive in topping up hot drinks, we used to be down for breakfast before 8am so it wasn’t as if they were rushed off their feet.

Now to the sun bed situation which seems to crop up in the majority of the reviews. Now the daily fresh towels don’t normally arrive until just before 8am but of course the usual suspects will have already reserved their prime locations around the pool well before then, putting down an assortment of items on their favoured real estate including such diverse items as fishing rods and walking sticks in lieu of the fresh towels.

Unless the tide is in there will however usually be beds available on the beach. A positive point I would mention is that even if they are all taken the staff will find you beds, as they did for us on our first day at the resort. It’s just a pity that you have to be up with the lark to get a pool side bed.

We didn’t use the spa, drink or dine in the restaurant or the Red Snapper as we wanted to get out and about and by doing so get better value for our hard earned currency. We enjoyed buying corn on the cob and fresh fruit from the beach vendors who are all very friendly and not so much in your face as they can be in other countries. It was also nice to wander up and down the beach.

The hotel does enjoy one of the best spots on the beach.

One final niggle.

We had a 6:15 am departure on our final morning and we had been told that a packed breakfast would be available for us to collect at check out. Unfortunately this had been overlooked by the hotel and so we left empty handed.

Overall, a nice tranquil location on the best part of the beach and on the door step of the vibrant main high street.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rowen10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melati_Samui, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Dear Rowen10
Thank you so very much for sharing your experience with us on trip advisor, this is highly appreciated.
All of us are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and your comments are taken in a very positive and thankful manner.
We can and will improve because of good and detailed description of where we have failed you.
Thank you for that.
Please allow me to apologize for these hickups.
Leaving on an empty stomach is not a good thing and I will share your review with the food and beverage management to ensure ways of avoiding future issues like this.
Likewise with the too efficient waitstaff.
Again thank you for sharing and we hope to be able to welcome you backk soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews