We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the BEACH”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Ranked #19 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2013

its one of the best resort i have ever stayed .
as we entered they ofered us free upgrade which was quite surprising
also its in the middle of chaweng.
breakfast was really good
the main attraction was that it was right on the beach
would definetly love to go back and stay in the same resort

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vij1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear vij1977,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we are delighted to hear your stay at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort was a success.
The Team will be happy to know you enjoyed the gardens, breakfast spread and the service you received during your stay.
We are delighted you enjoyed everything about the resort and look forward to welcoming you both in the near future.
Thanks again for your fantastic comments.

With Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,895)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

893 - 899 of 1,895 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed there as our part of full moon party event. This is on a very bustling street. All major food brands are on walking distance. Starbucks is 2 mins walk, Burger king/Mc donalds 7 mins walk. The location is unbeatable. Although our first night experience was horrible with our room AC not working. It took about 5 phone calls and 10 odd visits from housekeeping to rectify it but with no luck. Ultimately someone from the higher management heard us and immediately we were allotted a different room. Maybe one bad day but otherwise no complaints from the staff. I would like to recommend booking well in advance for a discount upto 60%. That will make the stay even sweeter.

Room Tip: No need to spend extra on the rooms. The basic rooms are adequate. Rest, for everything else you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imvvirgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear imvvirgo,

Thank you for choosing Chaweng Regent Beach Resort among so many resorts on Samui; we are thrilled by your feedback.
The Team will be glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our guests are quite fond of our prime location. Please trust that your comments about air conditioning are being looked into.
We do hope to welcome you again very soon and appreciate your patronage.

With Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in august 2013.

The rooms (regency luxury room and spa suites) are nice, spacious and comfortable.

This hotel practicing the overbooking policy !!! this is unbearable. On four families, three did not have the rooms booked and had to wait two nights in lower categories room. One family had to stay in another hotel of lower standard . This is completely outrageous! And, despite confirmations received by email 48 hours before our arrival!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alain333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Alain333,

Thank you for choosing Chaweng Regent after searching for the ideal resort. We are confident that your guests would have had the experience of a lifetime if the room was available as booked and I am so sorry it wasn't. Please trust that we have briefed the team to ensure satisfactory recourse is achieved in the event of this type of issue again.
Comments and constructive criticism are always welcome. Thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback, albeit far from perfect.

With Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights in Sept and couldn't rate it more highly. The rooms were great, always clean. The staff were always friendly.. from check-in to the cleaners and the staff looking after the gardens...

We ate at the restaurant a few times. The food was fantastic. Chef is great and very friendly. If they do a buffet, go for it! Pricey but well worth it.

The restaurant has free wi-fi from 11am-11pm otherwise you will need to pay for internet as it doesn't come with the room rate but we survived without it. The hotel should just offer it really.

The hotel is right on the beach so you have option of 2 swimming pools or the beach. You do get hassled a bit by people selling anything and everything but the hotel has a security guard stopping people from harassing guests. He was so cool, very friendly and made sure all guests were enjoying themselves.

Hotel is very family friendly. The room we stayed in wasn't accessible but the grounds were, had ramps everywhere so I'm guessing they would have wheelchair accessible rooms.

Overall highly recommended and if I go back I would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gab M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay with us and we appreciate you sharing your extremely valuable comments with us and others!

It was indeed a great pleasure to have your company and we shall be looking forward to welcome you soon back the The Melati!!

Sincerely,

Denis Martin
GGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We visited Chaweng Regent for 10 nights in September with out 2 and 4 year old, along with my parents. What an amazing place this is. I can hardly believe that the resort is so relaxing and beautiful inside with all the hustle and bustle anyone could want on your door step.
We chose the Regent as we didn't want to be jumping in and out of taxis with the little ones all the time. With everything on your doorstep this was perfect. 7 Eleven across the road, a market, pubs and eateries everywhere. And simply walk along the beach at night and pick your restaurant along the sand, we dined at many of them and they are all great...especially Your Place about 800m to the left of the resort along the beach.
I was worried being so close to the bars and night clubs we might of felt a bit intimidated with the kids but all the people in Koh Samui are so welcoming and LOVE kids. The kids were treated like royalty by everyone, Taxi drivers, guards, store holders and especially the beautiful breakfast staff at the resort. Thanks to all of you for making our stay so very enjoyable.
We had a look through other resorts in the area while we were here and Chaweng Regent is by far the best in this location. Beautiful swimming pools and gardens. I can't believe anyone could complain about the breakfast. I have done a lot if traveling and this breakfast is amazing!
I'm an Australian who lives in a nice big home and I truly can't see how anyone could complain about the standard of this Resort, unless you're used to 6 star resorts. I can't believe it's only 4 stars it feels far more like 5.
Check-in was a little confusing, but don't be deterred as from the moment you step inside this place runs incredibly smoothly. The staff are constantly ensuring everything is perfect. When we visited it was booked out but you really couldn't tell there were always sun lounges to be found, breakfast was never too busy and the pools never over crowded.
We will definitely be back, the sooner the better. Thank-you to all of the wonderful staff for making our stay such a special experience, we hope to see you all there next time. This place is heaven, we were so sad we had to leave.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VictorianBallarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay with us and we appreciate you sharing your extremely valuable comments with us and others!

It was indeed a great pleasure to have your company and we shall be looking forward to welcome you soon back the The Melati!!

Sincerely,

Denis Martin
GGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at the Chaweng Regent Beach Resort (prime location) in Nov 2012 for 10 nights and we absolutely loved it. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast buffet is a must, plenty of food and lots to choose from. Chefs even cook scrabbled eggs, omlettes just the way you like it. The staff at the Resort are helpful and speak good English. The Resort is absolutely beautiful, tropical and stunning swimming pools. My cousin (incl his friends) has been here 9 times, my fiance and I went last year for the first time and now we know why he stays at this Resort. You will not be disappointed. We are now going this year 2013 and staying at this Resort.

There is also a security guard on the beach in front of the resort which is helpful if you wish to have no hawkers annoying you. There is a rope which runs along the resort, which the hawkers are not allowed to go over the boundary if you wish not to be disturbed whilst resting on the beach lounge drinking your cocktails, sunbaking etc. By the way, the beach is absolutely beautiful (no rubbish, very clean), not like Bali which their beach is quite dirty and full of rubbish.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Nikita M,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, we await your upcoming visit with great anticipation. It is an honor to serve our return guests and we hope that over the years, you will get to top your cousin's 9 visits.

Thanks again for a fantastic review, should you need anything prior to your stay, please do not hesitate to contact me personally, pr@melatiresort.com.

With Warmest Regards,

Nadine Rouget
PR Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This review is set out so different areas of the resort are highlighted:
The Resort:
Chawang beach is lined with resorts the entire 7km length. We booked the Chawang Regent as it was at the end of beach, close enough to everything but far enough to still be peaceful and relaxing. We stayed for 10 days in early Sept. which is the rainy season, but this did not impact on our stay too much. Some of the days were cloudy, when it rained it would dump for a short time around 6pm and then clear. Great lighting shows.

Once you are off the road busy with stalls selling all manner of tourist items and massage places you feel the the resort envelope you in a cocoon of green. The gardens make the resort quite special, wooden boardwalks amble pass the rooms taking you to the beach and Chomtalay Restaurant where buffet breakfast is served.

There are two pools, one set in a garden area between two buildings, rooms on two levels. This is where the pool bar is. The depth of the pool discourages children so you don't get the shrieks of kids only the shrill of adults drinking cocktails. The pool is rectangle in shape and is lined with deck chairs.
The beach pool, looks over the beach and is a irregular shape once again lined with deck chairs. More family groups hang out here. There are signs saying no reservation on deck chairs but people still do.
There is a well equipped gym for those you really need to burn off all the booze and food. There are two restaurants.

The resort is on the aircraft approach path, three times in morning and in late afternoon aircraft would pass low overhead. Not that bothersome but if the flights increased it would be.

Free wifi is available in the two restaurants 11am - 11pm or you are able to purchase wifi plans from the resort that can be used in you room.

The Room:
We stayed in a Spa Villa room 407. Cost per night 7560BT or NZ$315.00
We choose the spa room for the extra space. The room is enclosed with a small courtyard with outdoor seating. The court yard does make you feel cut off from the view, full views cost extra. The spa pool is in the room but is surrounded by glass walls and open to the sky.

The bed is a large king, but we found to be very hard. There is a couch, mini bar, TV with movie channels, news channels. The bathroom has a good sized shower, with both rain and regular shower head, the hot water is very hot and arrives quickly. Off in a small side area is the wardrobe in which is a safe. The room is decorated simply, some of the cabinetry is a little worn.

The room air-con is very noisy, as is the air-con machine for the room next door, would highly recommend you bring earplugs. There is also a ceiling fan, but the humidity is such that the air-con is needed. I did request another room but it was right next to the pool and would have no privacy during the day with people splashing in the water.

Room 407 is on one of the main walkways around the resort and close enough to the pool, beach and restaurant with out being noisy with other guests coming and going.

The Two Restaurants:
Chomtalay Restaurant
This is were buffet breakfast is served and is excellent. A very good selection of the usual breakfast items and several Thai items. They have an a la carte lunch and dinner menu also on several nights weather permitting, theme buffets are set up on the beach for alfresco dining.
We had Thai noodle dishes on our first night. They were both very tasty, with a good amount of chilli.
Went to the Thai Banquet Night, many different Thai dishes, some just ok, but the curried blue crab was excellent. Not sure it was worth 2206BT

Red Snapper Restaurant:
Is European style with a bent for Italian. But why come to Thailand and eat Italian ?

Wine:
On the Island is very expensive and limited in choice. A NZ Sav Blanc from 530BT - 32000BT or NZ$20.00 - $130.00 at Tesco. A large K-Mart style supermarket. Three times that amount in restaurants.

Service/Staff:
Reception
On check-in there did seem to be a little confusion but once all sorted they were helpful and friendly.
Waiters and bar staff
All are friendly with ready smiles and remember your name much better than we ever could their's
Room service and garden staff
Everyone says Sawadee and smiles. The rooms are kept clean and tidy.

Beach:
In front of the resort is a large reef 200 meters from the beach so unless it is high tide the water level is very low and you have to wade a long way out for the water to reach your waist. Even at high tide you can easily stand in the water.

The reef does mean that you are not hassled by the jet skis that zoom along at high speed further up the beach. There are plenty of deck chairs on the beach. Hawkers sell clothes, hat sunglasses and ice creams but they have to stay behind a line in the sand. It can be a little annoying, if you ignore them they don't try and hard sell but if you show interest your fair game.

Final comments:
The resort is big, having two pools a plus. If you were a family I think you would enjoy more than we as a couple. The food and drinks are ok but geared towards the tourist taste rather than true Thai flavours and you are paying resort prices with 10% service charge added plus government VAT tax 7%. The staff are very friendly and helped make our stay enjoyable, but would I stay here again probably not. The hard beds and noisy air-con distracted from a real relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Villa spa rooms give you more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank himandme2gethr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear himandme2gethr,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, we are happy to read that your stay with us was mostly pleasant. Your feedback is welcome and will certainly help our team improve our overall guest experience.

On behalf of everyone, please accept our sincere apologies for the air condition and small details which kept you from enjoying Chaweng Regent to its fullest. Thank you for staying with us.

We hope to welcome you again in the future!

With Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,574 reviews
0.7 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,937 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,393 reviews
0.8 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Muang Samui Spa Resort
Muang Samui Spa Resort
#3 of 104 in Chaweng
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaweng Regent Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Regent Beach Resort

Address: 155/4 | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#17 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $137 - $340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Chaweng Regent Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your own paradise, enveloped in breezy elegance and shaded by majestic coconut trees. Enjoy a taste of tropical living, bask among blooming native flowers and sweeping ocean views and delight in an idyllic holiday of relaxation and pampering. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, where impeccable service and luxury accommodation await, offering a refuge to promote health and wellness with palate-pleasing experiences.This is the place to relax. There is nothing to disturb the blissful tranquility of Samui. This is a place to explore. There is much to see and do, but only at a pace you set yourself. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort is a stunning beach front resort, situated on the famous Chaweng beach on Koh Samui. Conveniently located only a short walk away from the vibrant excitement of Chaweng with its many entertainment spots, restaurants and shopping centers, our resort offers the very best location to suit all tastes. Whether you want to get away from it all and relax in our tranquil surroundings or shop till you drop, Chaweng Regent Beach Resort has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chaweng Regent Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Regent Beach Hotel Chaweng
Regent Koh Samui
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing