We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
Muang Samui Spa Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$252
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$97
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nora Buri Resort & Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$157
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$74
$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nora Beach Resort and Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$136
$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Chaweng Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$217
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buri Rasa Village Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$177
$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amari Koh Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$147
$124
Amari.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Poppies Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$226
$206
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,946)
Filter reviews
1,946 results
Traveler rating
966
628
212
76
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
966
628
212
76
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremier roomspa villared snappergarden poolchom talaykoh samuiroyal suiteswim up bargreen birdpools are greatthe main streetour honeymoonbars and restaurantsfree upgradebuffet breakfasthappy houryour doorstep
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,000 - 1,005 of 1,946 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2013

1. Non professional front desk staff. Probably thought we are not foreigner (as we are Asian) so the treatment is rather different.

Eg. I wanted to borrow an umbrella due to rain, 1 of the girl asked (y u didn't bring an umbrella along? Duh... No one shld even ask such question)

Eg2. 1 of our Girl was having fever and we requested an additional 1 hr for her to rest (chck out 1pm). They said is impossible. (When I chcked their brochure- they mention for certain case, they do allow. After all it's a Tuesday)

Eg3. The service staff (chef who fries egg) at rest (during breakfast) was in poor attitude. I ordered something from him, he looked at me and yelled (Pls wait! Can!)

Eg4. I hv to pay additional the 375 per day for my kid to enjoy full facilities (guess what- it's just the miserable pool!)

If the management do not review their staffs well or educate proper manners, then more visitors will b angry!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jentang55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Jentang55,

While we were very saddened by your review, we thank you nonetheless for taking the time to share. After careful investigation, the Team and I uncovered several disturbing specifics about your stay at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort and I feel compelled to contest your arguments.

We would like to point out that your room was booked for 2 people through a tour operator at a seriously discounted rate; you arrived with a party of 5 people including 2 children and a babysitter. When asked to pay a supplement you became irate and hostile towards our Manager. The amount we asked covered everything from our facilities to breakfast, not just the pool as suggested in your review.

The uncouth behavior sadly extended to the rest of our Team not to mention your babysitter – whom you proposed would sleep on the floor in order to wave our surcharge. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort has served travelers on Koh Samui for over 20 years and has done so by offering warm service and a caring environment. So it is particularly difficult for me to believe that any member of our Team would raise their voice to a guest.

As for the umbrella incident, it was raining heavily and we ran out of spare umbrellas at the Front Desk. Our staff asked if you had one in your room since we do provide two umbrellas per room. Late checkouts are indeed available, based on occupancy. We had a full house during your stay and sadly it was not possible to offer this service. Our prime location makes us a favored choice on Chaweng Beach, regardless of which day of the week it is.

Nevertheless, your feedback was shared with our team and will help us improve in every possible way. Thank you again for taking the time to share,

With Warmest Regards,

Daniel G. Fuchs
Group General Manager
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Melati Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Been to this resort 6 times.
The friedly and serviceminded staff is amazing.
The hotel had the best spot on chaweng beach with shopping,bars and restaurants at the roadside and quite relaxing beachlife on the seaside.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ogjose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Ogjose,

The Team at Chaweng Regent was honored to serve you for the sixth time and looks forward to many more opportunities to do so.

It is a true privilege to welcome our return guests and an even bigger delight to see they had a good time.

We are truly grateful for your high praises and would like to convey our warmest thanks for your nice review.

We hope to welcome you again very soon!

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

stopped here for a week before returning home and back to work. it was a nice finish to our holiday just the two of us, after travelling/being with my partners family in ireland and france.
my travel agent organised this hotel for us and booked it to perfection!!!!
COULD NOT FAULT A THING!! the room we were in was spotless, flower petals on the bed to welcome us and a complimentary btl wine as well=) the staff were always friendly and smiling!!! the breakfast was amazing - catering to all nationalities with all types of food to suit, whether u are visiting from europe or holidaying from bangkok!!!!
since being on the main street of chaweng beach, we went out of the resort and down the road to eat at the local restaurants and we weren't disappointed!!!! one food vendor we got fresh corn on the cob and chicken satay for $2!!!!! oh so good!!!! i recommend to get the fresh fruit at the vendors on the street and also waffles/pancakes =)
beach was just 100m from our room, pool 20m!!!! i was literally in heaven!!!!!!
would definitely recommend it - it will put a smile on your face lounging by the pool =)
frangipani's are now my favourite flower =)

Room Tip: book it through a respected travel agent and if u have a special occasion - special birthday/engagement/just because, let them know and they will take care of it =)
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kiwitarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear kiwitarsh,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
.
It was certainly a pleasure to read that you thoroughly enjoyed our facilities. Your comments on the service and quality of food are most gratifying and will be shared with all the team, as there is nothing more motivating than guests who take the time to send a note of appreciation.

We thank you again for your kind words and look forward to serving you soon.

With Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I just spent the last 9 days at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort and loved every bit of the property. From the gorgeously groomed grounds set on varying levels, wooden decks and pathways, beautiful greenery, and of course the pool and beach areas.

We were greeted with cool towels scented with jasmine, and served refreshing teas upon arrival. I loved that we remained seated at the lounge as they checked us in, and brought all of the paperwork to us, instead of us standing in front of the reception desk, as is usually done at hotels. Nice touch :)

We had one of the rooms right off of the garden pool area, which was both a blessing and a curse. I loved that we could easily hop out of bed and step into the pool. But hated having to listen to loud-mouth drunken ladies late afternoon (even though there were signs every where asking people to keep their voices down). Thank goodness this was not a daily occurrence. But twice is too many when you're trying to take a nap or needing down time.

The room lay-out was awesome: private front porch with lounge chair and bench equipped with a drying rack, spacious room with daybed and massive bed (they pushed together two full beds for us), bath tub/toilet area with a view of an enclosed garden. Beds and pillows are extremely firm, if that's what you like.

I was very impressed with the amount of care they put into maintaining every inch of that property. Someone was always either watering or pruning the plants, sweeping the paths, or picking up discarded water bottles, used towels, etc.

There is a raised pavilion at the end of the garden pool area where you can get a massage treatment. While we were there, they had several two-for-one specials for 700 Baht. They usually set up two mattresses, so you can get a couples massage. My husband used the spa at the resort and said that the facilities were clean, and that the therapist was fantastic.

The property was also dotted with several pavilions with seating for four, which you can use for late night drinks with friends or a game of cards. Just be sure to bring plenty of mosquito spray... the place is teeming with it (as was the rest of Thailand).

The private beach was very well maintained. Every morning, someone raked it clean. They also had a rope delineating the private property, which I noticed the beach vendors respected. They pretty much stayed on the other side of that rope, unless you invited them in to view their wares. Security was tight on the beachfront, which was fantastic. Sometimes, the guards helped the staff set up umbrellas for the guests.

The beach area is transformed at night, with lanterns and string lights, and tables dressed up with votive candles. They changed up the lanterns and decor every night, so it was like going to a different restaurant. Definitely take the time to walk the length of Chaweng Beach to enjoy the lights (it almost reminded me of Burning Man).

If you get a chance, book a Romantic Dinner on the Sea via Chom Talay, the in-house restaurant. Once in a lifetime experience. You can read my TripAdvisor review about it here: http://www.tripadvisor.com/Restaurant_Review-g293918-d2475265-Reviews-Chom_Talay_Restaurant-Koh_Samui_Surat_Thani_Province.html

What we liked:
- Beach front property with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas, shaded by palm trees
- Beautiful landscaping and well-maintained grounds
- Well appointed room with desk and daybed
- Delicious breakfast buffet spread with omelette bar
- Gorgeous garden pool and beachside pool
- Central location on Chaweng Beach. Everything is walking distance from there (you'll only need a Tuk-Tuk to go to another beach area).

Suggested improvements:
- Wi-Fi: as other guests have complained about, this was a big hassle. We didn't mind paying the extra, but would have appreciated more reliable service. The poor Wi-Fi makes this a poor choice for business travelers. I would have given this resort a 5-star rating otherwise

I would stay there again next time I am in Koh Samui.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's as close to the beach as possible so you are spared the chaos of Chaweng Beach Road.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank XtinaDunham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear XtinaDunham,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, the Team will be thrilled to know that you stay with us was enjoyable.

All your indications will be very useful for future guests, please trust that your comments about our internet service will be looked into.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon and thank you for your feedback.

With Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed at the Chaweng Regent with my wife and two kids, ages 9 and 11, for 7 nights. Upon arrival we were greeted with staff that spoke excellent English which was a plus. Upon getting to our room we were happy with the layout and setup. The first night we were there the air conditioner didn't appear to be working as well as it could so after speaking to reception the next day a maintenance man was sent to our room. Eventually our system was re-gassed and our room was icy cold for the rest of our stay.
Breakfast was amazing, everything you could ask for. I read another reviewer complaining about flies, none when we were there.
The only gripe I have, and it seems to be a common one, is the lack of Wifi. The cost was 1000BHT for 7 days, way more expensive than what we paid in Phuket, and the signal was poor. We were offered a router for our room but we also discovered, after paying, that you can only connect one device at a time and have to log in and log out each time you connect a new device. After speaking to reception our package was discontinued and we didn't have to pay anything. The more annoying aspect of the Wifi is that the resort offer it for free at the beach restaurant, not only to guests but to ANYONE walking past. Guests pay for it in their rooms, passersby get it for free? Guests should get it for free in their rooms.
There weren't that many kids at the resort the time we were there which annoyed our kids a little as they didn't have a chance to make many new friends. That's not the resorts fault, the guests seemed to be older and without kids. The 2 pools that are there were enjoyed by the family and kept very well, as were the grounds which were lovely and very well presented.
We slept well every night.
The resort is located less than 10 minutes away from the airport and you do hear the planes when they go overhead but they were never late at night and the earliest ones were between 8-9am. There is a market directly across the road and there are many shops and restaurants close by. Coconut Willy's was our favourite place to eat.
I would not hesitate to stay there again and would happily recommend this resort to anyone looking at staying in Koh Samui.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2013

Dear Chris L,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, the Team will be thrilled to know that you stay with us was enjoyable.

All your indications will be very useful for future guests, please trust that your comments about our internet service will be looked into.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family again soon and thank you for your feedback.

With Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews