We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, hot rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
205 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Great service, hot rooms”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed over the weekend as we are planning our wedding on another part of the island and we are also staying after our wedding so wanted to check it out. All the staff we came across were great. They acknowledge you when you walk past and were polite and spoke great English. We booked a deluxe room and they have a key that is glued onto the tag which operates the air con so each time you go back to your room it is incredibly hot. We have changed our next booking to the premier room which I think will be much better. We are now looking forward to returning now that we have paid the extra for the premier room.

Room Tip: Book the premier room, much better - this resort is good value for money anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrailingSpouseLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear LMDAuckland

Thank you for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that your experience with us was pleasant. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort is quite involved in keeping operations green and as environmental friendly as possible, which is why we usually do not keep the air condition units running all the time.

Nevertheless, we understand that Samui can be quite hot and we wish to assure you that there will be a follow up on the subject of key cards to manage hot rooms.

We are extremely pleased to know that you will be visiting us again soon and look forward to making your next stay as memorable.

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    886
    576
    192
    69
    59
See reviews for
435
877
42
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

This is my first time here and it was recommended to us. Loved the resort position as it was on the best part of the beach and we sat on deck chairs under umbrellas where it was quieter than the pool area.
Staff were great and the room was lovely but far away from the pool which didn't worry us as it was quiet. Large room but a bit dark.
Great to walk out for dinner and easy to hire a moto and travel around the island.
Perfect weather

Room Tip: If you want quiet don't ask for a room by the pool as it is a lot noisier and people reserve the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janetepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear janetepper,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort.

The Team joins me in thanking you for your kind comments; we were thrilled to read that you enjoyed our gardens and accommodation.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future and meanwhile, please feel free to follow us on Facebook and Twitter for upcoming special offers.

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I have been to Thailand many times and usually stay in Lamai beach and wanted a change so booked this resort.
Our first night was upgraded to the spa villa which we were really happy about! and then to our premier room which was still great with fantastic jacuzzi.
Breakfast is great plenty to choose from and the location looking onto the beach in the morning was perfect.
The gardens and pool areas are very beautiful and all staff area really friendly and welcoming.we were a little disappointed that people don't read the sign and everyone seems to reserve the sun beds abound the pool area,its like going to a hotel in Spain!
A Resort of this price should have free WiFi but it doesn't and is about 1000 baht for a week,little bit of a let down.
The beach has a private security guard watching for the sellers but it doesn't stop them and it can get really annoying after a while of hearing shouting all day long!
Overall a great place to stay and good location,calm beach and sea and one side and busy shops,bars on the other side,would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neil Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Neil Y,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, the Team will be thrilled to know that you stay with us was enjoyable.

All your indications will be very useful for future guests, please trust that your comments about our internet service will be looked into.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon and thank you for your feedback.

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Travelled April 2011
Travelled here with boyfriend on a 2 week Thailand holiday. Stayed for 4-5 nights. We got a great deal on a Premier room which are situated around the right hand side of the resort. We were originally placed in a so called 'Premier room' on the 1st floor, very close to reception and no where near the beach (towards the back of resort). The room did not at all look like the photo's depicted on the website which was the basis for the booking the room type we did. Further, upon entering the room, there were two single beds..we were clearly travelling as a young couple and had indicated that a queen/king bed room. They suggested pushing the beds together to which I declined (I was grumpy after an early/long flight/connection). We were told another room would be found for us. Within 15 mins or so another room was allocated to us much closer to the beach, pool and restaurant hub of the hotel and was PERFECT just like the pictures.
The room was well appointed with a king sized bed, day bed along the window, large flat screen TV, adequate cupboard space (Safe inside cupboard also) and an enormous bathroom with very large circular spa bath. The way in which the bathroom was created was to make it feel as though you were outside showering amongst the rainforest, it was beautiful. The hotel has two pools, the main pool was much smaller than that over on the left side of the hotel but it did overlook the beach. The left hand side of the hotel felt like you were in a totally different hotel, the bungalow rooms are all situation over that side and did not look anywhere near as nice and well appointed as what the other side of the resort looked. While the pool was larger, the atmosphere did not match that of the smaller beach front pool.
Great location, on Chaweng beach road, many nice stalls/shop fronts along this part of the road selling very nice items. Also good base to hire scooter and head north to Big Buddha and other sacred places or down South to visit 'Grandma/Grandfather rocks' and a few nice lookouts along the way.
Good selection for breakfast and poolside snack and drinks menu was reasonable. Would not have an issue staying here again, however I like to try new things and as a result probably wouldn't.

Room Tip: Premier room or higher room type. Ask for premier on ground floor as they seem more recently renovat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miss_aims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear miss_aims,

Thank you for sharing your impressions on Trip advisor. While we were happy to read that your stay was enjoyable, we are truly sorry if you did not experience the level of service upon checking into Chaweng Regent Beach Resort.

Nevertheless, we wish to assure you that there will be a follow up on this subject so this incident doesn't repeat itself.

We would be extremely pleased to welcome you again and thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us.

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Chaweng Regent Hotel has all its rooms set within a large garden, there are footboards running through the property leading to the rooms etc. Dotted around are several gazebos which are lit at night and appeal to anyone with guests to sit in while talking, this is probably especially good for those with smaller rooms.

As mother and daughter sharing we had a premier room for space, allowing our own balcony and day bed. The room was well cooled with secondary air conditioning which just maintained a temperature when you went out

The staff attended to our every need, helping us with directions, needs and any other information. Bassy in the front reception ran to help when I returned with a new empty case.

Thoughtful items were the two umbrellas in the room; also the torch in the wardrobe in case of blackouts. I confess I usually choose a hotel which has free access to WiFi, this cost, although it free and easy to access in the library and in the lounge.

With two pools, other than the first day we used the beach one, for me an older person having a rail to enter and leave the pool with made the decision. The garden pool was shallow mainly but made more difficult by rather slippery steps with no support rails or handles.

We found the breakfast menu more than adequate there. With my sister and a friend, four of us had a well run cooking class, full of information about the menu, Thai culture in cooking, eating and presentation. We were unable to eat it all they covered it and took it to our rooms for us to eat later.

So all these are positives; however I would like the hotel to consider carefully the following as it clouded my feelings to start off with. With a daughter who is probably the worst traveller (no matter whether by car, bus, train, boat and in particular by plane), I had written to ask for an early check in. With no choice on what time we arrived, and having travelled all night from Australia, my daughter was sick most of the way from Perth, and sick again on the way from Singapore. We came to the hotel at 10am, we were informed that the room wasn’t ready and that we were welcome to wait by the pool. Also we were directed to the change facilities behind the exercise area, these facilities were tiny toilets with no hanging spots, wettish floors and stained but clean seat tops. Needless to say I bruised myself – I am large – in several places getting out of my sticky, sweaty clothes. Talking to several other parties, one of whom had arrived from the UK after a very long trip several days before, it appeared no one was allowed into their rooms early.

We did try again, at 1.40pm my daughter asked to go to our room only to be refused again. At exactly 2pm I approached the desk and we were taken immediately to our blessedly cool room which appeared to have been ready for some time. My exhaustion was compounded when I had finally after 36+ hours of not sleeping dropped off and they knocked on the door to give me a courtesy basket of fruit, this was not the courtesy I wanted. It would appear it is a hotel policy not to even try to offer an early arrival entry to their rooms although many other places in both Asia and Europe where I have stayed do allow entry when you arrive. I do know that many people booked out of the hotel very early in the morning, we certainly did at 7.45am, and as there was staffs there working on rooms, ours would be ready again by 9am.

So Chaweng Regent, if you had allowed us and others that we talked to, the ability to access our rooms early you would in all probability have received a 4++ from us, however 4 does give you excellent rating and we must admit after the first couple of days we recovered and you redeemed yourselves in all other ways.

Room Tip: We chose a premium room as I was travelling with my adult daughter and we decided the extra space an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janbee23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear janbee23,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, the Team will be thrilled to know that you stay with us was enjoyable.

All your indications are very useful for to us and trust that your comments about our pre-check in changing rooms will be looked into.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon and thank you for your feedback.

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed between 17/04 and 24/04/2013 for our sons wedding .We have been to Koh Samui before but this was our first stay at this resort . We were most appreciative of the early check in as we were very tired and were most impressed by the friendly and efficient manner of the check in staff . We had booked a Deluxe Bungalow but when we got to our room we were not impressed with the standard and felt ihat it was not in our opinion a true representation of the photos on your website . I enquired about an upgrade and was told that a premier room would be available the next day at an additional cost of 1000tbt per day which we took. Putting all that behind us the rest of our stay was most enjoyable and we were quite impresed with both the resort and the staff , two in particular being Carlos and a young lady in the restaurant from mexico. If I could have any criticims it would be no free wifi when paying resort prices , lack of shade arround the pool areas and poor english skills of some of the frontline staff however I would still recomend the resort to anyone .

Room Tip: Pick an upper level room and read reviews .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 809Bob809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear 809Bob809,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear that your stay at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort was a success, despite some issues with the assigned room.

The Team will be happy to know you enjoyed the gardens and friendly service you received during your stay. We hope to welcome you again very soon and make your next visit a perfect one.

Thanks again for your fantastic comments.

With Warmest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed 7 nights in deluxe room in regency/villa wing overlooking the tropical pool and gardens which set this hotel apart from others. Helpful and friendly staff make you feel very welcome. Great restaurant overlloking the tranquil beach/sea where you can enjoy an excellent breakfast with a wide choice or use as a restaurant for lunch where quality cannot be under-stated (Chom Talay). Will cost you 300 baht for a great value meal. A singha beer will cost 120 baht. Cocktails 260 baht. Also have themed dinners. 2 main pools - one fronting the beach which is sectioned off for the residents. Own Red Snapper restuarnt worth a visit with its own resident band the best I easily heard in the resort area. You must try the mojito cocktail. Bay area protected by a line of rocks for swimming is only shallow. Spa facilities are great - main treatments from 700+ baht. Hotel is located right on the main strip at Chewang where you can find all the bars, shops, markets, clubs etc. 7/11 is just 20 metres up the road. Cocktails cost 100 baht in the main away from licensed restaurants. Singha beer is 60 baht. RIce Italian restaurant also worth visiting. Local massage shops worth a go also (200 baht upwards for foot massage - they do cross-sell). Watch out for the added 10% mandatory service charge and 7% vat which are added to bills in licensed areas. The Angthong Marine National Park trip is just like the James Bond film setting with over 40 islands. Fisherman's Village is also another great trip - go Friday early evening due to market - great stall food/drink/goods where you can bargain as much as you like - very atmospheric. Taxi for 4 adults cost 400 baht ew - agree fixed price before you get in. Mango club I am told was one of best for younger visitors who like clubbing/bars. Overall a fantastic place to stay for all ages. Couldn't really fault anything.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SteveB07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear SteveB07,

Thank you for choosing Chaweng Regent Beach Resort among so many resorts on Samui; we are thrilled by your feedback.

The Team will be glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our guests are quite fond of our prime location, with infinite options for dining and entertainment. Still, we were even more pleased to see that you explored our in house offerings and enjoyed them as well.

We do hope to welcome you again very soon and appreciate your patronage.

With Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
2,354 reviews
0.7 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,739 reviews
1.1 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,398 reviews
0.8 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaweng Regent Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Regent Beach Resort

Property: Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Address: 155/4 | Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#12 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#21 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chaweng Regent Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your own paradise, enveloped in breezy elegance and shaded by majestic coconut trees. Enjoy a taste of tropical living, bask among blooming native flowers and sweeping ocean views and delight in an idyllic holiday of relaxation and pampering. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, where impeccable service and luxury accommodation await, offering a refuge to promote health and wellness with palate-pleasing experiences.This is the place to relax. There is nothing to disturb the blissful tranquility of Samui. This is a place to explore. There is much to see and do, but only at a pace you set yourself. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort is a stunning beach front resort, situated on the famous Chaweng beach on Koh Samui. Conveniently located only a short walk away from the vibrant excitement of Chaweng with its many entertainment spots, restaurants and shopping centers, our resort offers the very best location to suit all tastes. Whether you want to get away from it all and relax in our tranquil surroundings or shop till you drop, Chaweng Regent Beach Resort has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Chaweng Regent Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Regent Beach Hotel Chaweng
Regent Koh Samui
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing