We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Panya Resort(Choeng Mon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,946)
Filter reviews
1,946 results
Traveler rating
966
628
212
76
64
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
966
628
212
76
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremier roomspa villared snappergarden poolchom talaykoh samuiroyal suiteswim up bargreen birdpools are greatthe main streetour honeymoonbars and restaurantsfree upgradebuffet breakfasthappy houryour doorstep
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,110 - 1,115 of 1,946 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here as part of our trip to Thailand on honeymoon. It was fantastic, right in the centre of town, lots of great places to eat out very close by. Staff were very attentive and the room we had was great, a premier room with a jacuzzi. Bear in mind that as this resort is in the centre of town it can get quite noisy in the evening, but this didnt bother us so much.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitty83London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay with us and we appreciate you sharing your extremely valuable comments with us and others!

It was indeed a great pleasure to have your company and we shall be looking forward to welcome you soon back the The Melati!!

Sincerely,

Denis Martin
GGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Thank you to Chaweng Regent Beach resort for the best 8 days I have had in a long time. This resort is unreal, and if you love holidaying in Thailand or anywhere in South East Asia you will love this resort.

This was our 6th time to Thailand and we thought it would be our last, but after a week here we are now planing a date on when we can return. Firstly - dont believe the negative comments written on here. They are obviously first time travellers to asia or oversensitive.

This hotel is AWESOME! Honestly it would have to be one of the best hotels I've stayed in throughout thailand. Its romantic but kid friendly, its classy but simple, its fancy but also cozy.

The staff are amazing. So helpful, friendly and eager to please. They even got me 2 huge bunches of balloons for my table for breakfast with a birthday cake. All the staff came out and sang happy birthday to me as well.

The private villas are gorgeous and are filled with honeymooners, whilst the rooms are great, roomy, clean and typical thailand 5 star. 2 amazing pools, with enough room for everyone.

The give free icecreams out at the pool each day, they even did a "flash mob" style dance and song yesterday where all the staff just turned up to the pool and started singing and dancing to Gangham style. The hotel bar and restaurant on the beach is fantastic with happy hour 3 times a day. You get free wifi and can relax by the pool with ease.

In front of the hotel on the beach is all kinds of restaurants and massage places where an hour massage is $8. Locals cook corn and have fresh mangoes on the beach for you to buy.

I would totally recommend this hotel to any style of traveler. Family, couple, honeymoon.

A huge thank you to Tor who looked after us everyday. Each meal she had tables resevered, would come and say hi during the day, entertain my 9 month old so we could eat and made the experience so much better.

Do yourself a favour and stay at this hotel! you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis M, Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time reviewing your recent stay with us and we appreciate you sharing your extremely valuable comments with us and others!

It was indeed a great pleasure to have your company and we shall be looking forward to welcome you soon back the The Melati!!

Sincerely,

Denis Martin
GGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the Chaweng Regent Beach Resort. This hotel is situated at the northern end of Chaweng beach. The entrance to the hotel sits on the main road, close to the busy road, with lively restaurants, bars, market stands and massage parlours. It is busy, noisy,and a bit chaotic, but full of life. When you enter the hotel the change could not be more pronounced. The hotel is set amongst beautiful tropical gardens, with pools (both for swimming and others with fish) with wooden paths between the different parts of the hotel. At different places in the garden tables are set undercover, with comfortable and relaxing chairs. The garden is quiet and relaxed. The other end of the hotel sits on Chaweng Beach. This is the northern end of the beach and is sheltered from the surf by a breakwater. The beach is shallow (knee to waist depth) and. While good for kids, is too tame for those that like body surfing. Still, it was only a short (10 min.) walk down the beach to reach the surf. The southern end of the beach has better surf and more exposed sand, but is further from the action on Chaweng Beach Road. At all times during our stay the staff were happy, helpful, polite and friendly. The Regent has two restaurants, but if eating in the hotel we ate at the Chom Talay beach restaurant which had a good varied menu (although we also ate a lot at different restaurants either on the beach or down the main shopping road, which were generally cheaper). Our only disappointment with the hotel was that we had to pay for wifi (1000 baht for 7 days) and the performance was at most times poor and regularly dropped out across the hotel . If it was free I could accept the performance, but when paying I expected better (reason for 4 and not 5 stars). The buffet breakfast was fine and we could choose from a wide variety of local fruit and asian and european dishes.We stayed for two weeks during the low-season (October) and had a great stay, mostly thanks to the lovely hotel we came back to each evening. I would not hesitate to recommend the Chaweng Regent and we will definitely consider staying here next time.

Room Tip: We had adjoining Deluxe Rooms on the northern side of the hotel. These were spacious and well appointed and well suited for our family (two adults and two teenage children) with a connecting door between. One was a king-size double and the other a twin.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BradButterknife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear BradButterknife,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, the Team will be thrilled to know that you stay with us was enjoyable. All your indications will be very useful for future guests, please trust that your comments about our internet service will be looked into.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon and thank you for your feedback.

With Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had stayed in the area before but not at this hotel. From the moment we stepped out of the taxi we were really impressed. The staff were excellent, nothing was too much trouble. They had even left flowers and rose petals on the bed as it was our honeymoon. There are plenty of activities so you can do as much or as little as you like. The pool is amazing and the beach is beautiful where you can enjoy sunset cocktails. Our accommodation was a standard category but it was very romantic and comfortable with everything you need. We will be staying here every time we stay in Chaweng from now on.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, Public Relations Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Victoria M,

First, on behalf of the entire Team, congratulations on your recent wedding. We hope that your life together will be full and happy.

Thank you for sharing your honeymoon experience at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, the Team will be thrilled to know that it was an unforgettable one. We truly appreciate your comments and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you both again very soon.

With Warmest Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

It started badly because, our room was not ready until after the designated checkin time. They gave us the use of a "courtesy room" read discourtesy, which spelled of sewerage and other odours. The staff at this resort are dead lazy and will ignore you as much as they possibly can. We went at lunch time to have a drink at the bar near the beach and the barmen all ignored us, choosing to wash glasses for a considerable time right in front of us, rather than serve us. When we called one over, his response was surly. Same for breakfast. Trying to get a coffee or something done was a task. Their English was particularly poor, but the overall problem is that they are not being properly trained or supervised. We booked the "Royal Suite" at a premium cost. The photos and the plan on the web site are very misleading. The quality of the build is shocking. There were 2 air conditioning systems in the unit - one freezing the other like a sauna. Despite 2 visits from "mechanics" (could not speak a word or English) my partner froze and got a cold as a result. There were myriad small steps to get anywhere in the unit, making a night time trip to the bathroom hazardous. This place is badly in need of a makeover of the buildings and the training of staff. We checked out the following morning and moved over to the Library.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Allan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaweng_Regent_Samui, General Manager at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Allan G,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment and unsatisfactory experience at Chaweng Regent Beach Resort. As customer service remains our top priority, feedback such as yours enables us to improve our service, facilities and therefore we are very grateful to you for bringing the issue to our attention.

On behalf of the management, please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you and your partner, please be advised that your experience in no way reflects our dedication to our valued guests.

We are currently establishing an intensive training program for the entire Team to ensure that no similar incidents can occur. Chaweng Regent Beach Resort has served Koh Samui for over 20 years and has done so by offering wonderful accommation in a warm and caring environment.

We would also take this opportunity to thank you for your patronage - we do hope that the above misgivings will not prevent you from considering our hotel the next time you are in Samui.

Thank you,

Sincerely,

Daniel G. Fuchs
Group General Manager
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Melati Beach Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews