We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ”
Review of Chaba Samui Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chaba Samui Resort
Ranked #31 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in november last year n we had a great time wasn't a 5 star but it didn't really matter as the view n the very helpful and friendly staff made it a great stay the rooms were spotless and the bbq night was amazing and we must not forget about captain MR FIX IT who was very funny and really looked after us ! :)

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Phillipa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 341 of 688 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

I came here a couple of years ago and absolutely loved it. The hotel is in a great area, close to all the shops, restaurants and right on the beach front. What more could you want. The hotel has all the amenities you need and the food served there is ideal. The swimming pool and swimming pool bar area is great, and even better is the massage beds where you can have an array of treatments for a reasonable price. I absolutely loved Koh Samui and had no problems at all with this hotel, our family have been here 3 or 4 times now and I would definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kims2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We read the reviews and with trepidation booked anyway. We thought, what the heck, its a great location, central, pool looks ok and good part of the beach. the only thing they could stuff up on us is the room. Can you imagine then our reaction when we arrived on the 3rd July at 5pm to be told our Family Room booked 2 months in advance and 50% deposit paid was not available as they had given it to another guest. The 2 girls at reception were the worst hospitality employees I have ever encountered, (We have travelled for 30 years all over the world and have been to Thailand over 20 times) they were incredibly openly rude, treating us like a burden and made us feel terribly upset. We were told we would have to have a standard room with 3 beds for our family of four and that was that. Understandably we were not happy and asked for the manager, Mr Sakol to help us resolve a terrible situation. Unfortunately for us he was no better than the 2 reception girls. When we advised that the room offered was unacceptable we were told bad luck and that it was a busy period and we would be moved several days later when and if a room became available. No apologies were offered, our request for financial compensation was sneered at and dismissed despite the room offered being cheaper when we booked than the Family Room. Perhaps the ultimate disgrace was when we were yelled at " You Listen to Me' repeatedly by this so called hospitality professional when we voiced our disappointment at being treated so poorly. The whole time the 2 girls just rolled their eyes and gave us filthy looks. When we were taken to the room by one of the girls it was next to the restaurant, tiny and did not have enough beds (3 single beds for a family of 4) for our family and the lack or help to sort out where we would all sleep was nothing short of staggering. The manager appeared with another room key and in Thai discussed offering us another room with the reception girl. The girl obviously told him we would just have to take the room and he proceeded to walk away. When I questioned him about the key in his hand he reluctantly showed us another room with enough bedding for us. At no point was there any apology, remorse, sympathy or any display at all of even basic Customer service. The next morning 2 things happened. 1. We emailed Cora (who we booked through) and is the secretary to the exec VP of the Chaba group. 2. I walked 100 metres down the beach and came across a brand new resort named OZO which is simply outstanding. We went to Reception to check out after 12 hours and were immediately approached by the hotel GM who offered us all sorts of things including the best suite at the sister hotel Chaba Cabana. Unfortunately this hotel was a long way from the centre of Chaweng and we declined the offer based on our desire to be central. Our email to Cora triggered what should have been the appropriate response from management at check in. Both Cora and the GM were fantastic. Unfortunately it was all too late and the whole attitude of the staff and management at check in left such a bad taste in our mouth we just wanted to get out of there. This Hotel is tired, the management on site are complacent and rude and need to be replaced, we were forced to look elsewhere and can tell you all first hand there are at least 6 hotels in this location that are better and cheaper. For those thinking of going here "DONT". For those who don't understand these reviews and have enjoyed Chaba Samui for years do yourself a favour and explore options, its time for a change and I assure you there are much better, newer, cheaper hotels in the same great location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Tillfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cora G, Executive Secretary to EVP at Chaba Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Hi Kylie! Kindly accept our sincere apologies with what you had experience at Chaba Samui Resort. I do regret of the untoward incident you had which could have been avoided if the necessary arrangements were accorded in assigning the room you actually booked. I was also worried of the children so I then called on our Hotel Manager to the point of taking you to our sister hotel, Chaba Cabana, in the hope that you could agree to stay there. I know that any apologies cannot make up for that incident.
We also thank you for taking time for this review, which we do collect and then have it shared with our staff especially with the staff concerned of this incident ,who have been re-briefed to ensure that there are no similar occurrences in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Upon arrival at the resort at night after our flight, we made enquiries with the 2 lady receptionists on afternoon/night duty about our free late check out at 2pm on our last day. Prior to my arrival, it was confirmed via email with the hotel. They blatantly refused it, claiming that there's a full occupancy from 9-15 July 2014, despite me showing them the email confirmation print out. That particular lady was very rude and impatient while answering our questions. Their attitude and way of speaking was very unfriendly and impatient. We were given a free upgrade to the ocean wing, however they overlooked our beds preference (twin beds) and we had to wait for her to go back to get the key. She didn't even bother to apologize for the mistake. During her brief explanation of the room, she wasn't very friendly. Her job was more like a "robot" to her, too montonous. She didn't display passion for her job. When I requested for 2 extra pillows, she gave a big frown and my friend told me that she raised our voice at us. She could be more polite and try to explain nicely. *shakes head* The rest of the staff were more friendly than these 2 receptionists.
Our transport transfer was confirmed with Tony who acceded to our request for the free late check out. This was only our consolation.
Location wise, it's okay, accessible to the shops and Central Festival shopping centre which opened this March.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelicdolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cora G, Executive Secretary to EVP at Chaba Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

The Management thanks you for sharing your thoughts on your stay with us. The behavior of our staff was not the normal CHABA response and we would like to offer our apologies for the inappropriate attitude you faced on this particular occasion.

With reference to our colleagues at the reception, they have been re-briefed to ensure
that there are no similar occurrences in the future.

Thank you for staying with us and sorry that you had encountered such situation at our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Was a little concerned after reading some reviews but we had booked and paid and we were going. I was pleasantly surprise. We had 2 interconnecting rooms which was perfect for myself and my hubby and 4 kids aged 16, 13, 11 and 10. We were in the ocean wing and had ground floor - easy access to the pool and beach and not noisy at all. Honestly it is 3.5 star, but we were aware of that. We didn't come to spend time in our room, but it was comfortable and clean enough when we were in there. I loved the massages overlooking the pool and beach, and dining on the beach at night was just lovely. I certainly would stay again. Let's face it, for value for money, staying right on Chewang beach, it was fantastic. Only small issue was we couldn't really use our balcony too much on the ground floor location due to mosquitos liking the gardens. Really really happy with our stay and the service offered by the staff. Loved it. Thank you Chaba Samui Resort

Room Tip: I would choose ocean wing only. Ground floor was great for access to everything, but as I said coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacqSpratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have stayed at the Chaba once again for 14 nights in June,and it was our 11th time.Everything was just the same,and we were made welcome by all the staff.We were joined by returning guests from Australia,who we had made friends with over the last 10 years at the Chaba.If we had any problems we saw top man Tony guest manager,who sorted everything out.The Chaba is on the best part of the beach and on Chaweng.We stayed in the ocean wing where the rooms have balcony's,and our room was at the beach end.Most reviews mention Tony,it is because he is great with guests,and also Muang at the beach bar who helped us every day.After 11 years we still dont't understand the negative reviews the Chaba gets.We would like to thank all the staff once again,and hope to return next year.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Myself and my partner are traveling through Thailand and stayed here in June for 4 nights. We booked the hotel through Agoda and chose a lake view room, on arrival we were told this room type did not have a balcony so the receptionist told us to contact Agoda and ask for an upgrade to a seaview, we did this and went for some lunch to give them time to receive the paperwork etc, on our return an hour and a half later they decided to tell us that they didn't have any seaview left so we had no choice but to stay in a lake view, not a good start but we are pretty easy going so we just went with it. The rooms are decent enough but without a balcony they do feel a bit closed in, the noise at night it pretty bad, it usually stops around 3am, beds are really hard but a good size, breakfast is good with plenty of choice.
Location is the best thing about this hotel, it's not far from anything and there's plenty of good restaurants and bars on the doorstep. The gym isn't up to much and the equipment needs fto be fixed, the upstairs pool in the lake view wing is dirty and the filter was never turned on, the pool by the beach ( which is across the main road with the seaview rooms ) is small and crowed with a small bar and you will struggle to actually swim in it.
Overall I would say that there are better hotels in this area for the price they are charging, but it's ok if all you want to do is sleep there and not use any facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 655gemmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cora G, Executive Secretary to EVP at Chaba Samui Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for taking time to give us a feedback. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations. Your comments on the fitness room and the swiming pool at the Lake Wing Building have been shared to the concern department to make sure that both facilities are always made up clean and ready to serve our guests. We do appreciate that you still stayed with us even though you were not totally satisfied with our resort. Thanks for bearing with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.4 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#37 of 103 in Chaweng
640 reviews
0.9 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#54 of 103 in Chaweng
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sans Souci Samui
Sans Souci Samui
#33 of 103 in Chaweng
257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
0.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 103 in Chaweng
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaba Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaba Samui Resort

Address: 19 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $70 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chaba Samui Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
93 Rooms, located in the heart of Chaweng, set beside a sandy white beach. Accommodation is split between two wings; the Lake Wing is across the road from the beach with the Ocean Wing located by the beach. Rooms have air conditioning, TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Ocean Wing rooms have a private balcony. Swimming pools, kids' playground, exercise room, sauna, pool bar and restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chaba Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaba Samui Hotel Chaweng
Hotel Chaba Samui
Chaba Samui Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing