We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected, enjoyable stay....”
Review of Chaba Samui Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chaba Samui Resort
Ranked #30 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed October 3, 2013

After booking through an agent I was a bit concerned by some negative reviews I read a couple of months ago. I had previously walked through the grounds and liked the location, so was hoping it would be OK. Well, we had a pleasant surprise. Very friendly, helpful and efficient staff, rooms were fine, nice pool and good beach. My only negatives would be paying for wifi, some late night music and poor reception on the Australian Network, but really minor issues. We stayed on the beach side, check before you book. It is 4 storeys with a lift and has tour groups come through. I noticed how many old bungalow resorts have been demolished and new hotels and shops being built. Samui is constantly changing and this hotel is probably one of the older ones there now.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jMagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

357 - 363 of 666 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed here in September for 8 nights
After reading a few of the negiative reviews i was worried about the hotel
but no need we stayed in the Lake view wing there was a bit of noise at night from the bar ( but i found drinking a few beers before bed helped me sleep) so if you want peace then book a ocean view The food was ok at breakfast .Staff were excellent always helpful. The rooms were stocked with everything you need from slippers to umbrellas and may need a lick of paint just to brighten up.The rooms were cleaned EVERY day with fresh towels and sheets.
The hotel holds a themed evening every night ( please try to attend one as they work really hard on these) Over all a great little hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steveo505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here as it was next door to the Kings Garden resort we stayed at. The pool and beach front inc sun loungers etc were good including the massage service. The room we had was ground floor and smelled of urine. As we only stayed for one night and were exhausted we remained there and had a reasonable stay. For the price it is worth a stay here if on a budget, good location, nice staff, cleaning ok and ultimately has everything you need and seemed family friendly for those who have children.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank RyanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed for just over a week at the Chaba. While the room was older style, it was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was good as was the beachside pool, and service was excellent. There are probably better resorts in Koh Samui, but over all it was a nice stay.

Room Tip: Ask Tony to book you a tour to Koh Tao........Great day out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Nice resort just. Could do with a freshen up Staff are terrific really helpful and attentive Beach side pool. Was great. Lake view pool. Just Breakfast. Plenty of selection fresh and well done . Pool side meals well priced and very tasty

Room Tip: Beach view rooms. Are better. But dearer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kevalilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had our first stay in Koh Samui. A place to visit. Love it. Chaba looks old but was a surprise. friendly, helpful staff. Swimming pool & beach stunning and great to spend time. Tony you where a treat. Easy shopping, eating and traveling. Hire a scooter and explore, fabulous.

Room Tip: there are 2 hotels. The one at the back has bigger rooms and is a little cheaper. You spend your tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 331YvetteR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Hotel location is ok , there is a terrible smell right outside the hotel so you could find your way back with your eyes closed ,,, rooms are badly in need of renovation , the lift didn't work on the ground floor , this is also the only lift and its right by the main entrance so if your room is nearer the beach you have to walk a fair distance , hotel was very clean . To fill the bath it takes on average thirty minutes ,,, there was a lot of noise coming from the Main Street bars which went on until the early hours of the morning ,,, shops closed at eleven which was nice ,, Air conditioning in the rooms failed on a few days , safe in the room didn't work at all well ,, had to call maintenance out several times to sort out ,, food in the hotel fair but well over priced ,, drinks as well ,, one good thing was that the staff would quickly identify anyone would came in to the resort who wasn't a guest ,, people could walk in off the beach and start to use the pool but were quickly asked to leave ,, hotels along the main road appeared to be much better so look around if you need better accommodation . Koi Samui airport is very beautiful

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.7 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#35 of 104 in Chaweng
631 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Malibu Koh Samui Resort & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sans Souci Samui
Sans Souci Samui
#33 of 104 in Chaweng
250 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
0.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaba Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaba Samui Resort

Address: 19 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $51 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chaba Samui Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
93 Rooms, located in the heart of Chaweng, set beside a sandy white beach. Accommodation is split between two wings; the Lake Wing is across the road from the beach with the Ocean Wing located by the beach. Rooms have air conditioning, TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Ocean Wing rooms have a private balcony. Swimming pools, kids' playground, exercise room, sauna, pool bar and restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chaba Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaba Samui Hotel Chaweng
Hotel Chaba Samui
Chaba Samui Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing