We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a great location”
Review of Chaba Samui Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chaba Samui Resort
Ranked #30 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Had a fantastic time at this hotel.

ROOM
The rooms were really nice and felt very secure. They had a safety deposit box, large bed and lots of furniture, a fridge and a tv. The bathroom was nice but the shower is very low and you have to duck to get under. The hotel provides in the room beach mats and towels for you to use by pool (and they are changed daily).

LOCATION
Is very central along chaweng. It is a short walk to the main nightlife and there is lots of shopping and restaurants nearby. It is located on the beach and right outside are watersports and the inflatable adventure fun area.

GENERAL INFO
The hotel has a nice large pool with plenty of seating. It could do with a bit of a clean but it wasnt too bad. The staff were very friendly and always saying hello. The two hotels (ocean wing and lake wing) are right across the road from each other and there is a person there to help stop the traffic if you wish to cross. Every night the hotel puts on a theme night for food.

The breakfast was great with a wide range of choice. Including fruit, cereal, cooked breakfast, eggs anyway, rice noodles etc.

There is a sign saying internet costs 500 bahts a day but we never had to pay for it.

Room Tip: Either lake view or ocean view are fine. If you want cheaper then go for lake view as it is just acr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REBECCAR141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

377 - 383 of 676 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have recently returned from a week's holiday at this resort. The room was large, very clean and well maintained. Breakfast was included and offered a wonderful selection of food. The omelettes - cooked fresh in front of us were very tasty. All staff were friendly and happy. The beach bar was a great meeting place and prices were reasonable for cocktails. Tony the manager was very helpful. I would recommend this hotel for comfort, proximity to shops and the beach.

Room Tip: I would suggest asking for a room which is closer to the beach rather than the road as the noise fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Have stayed at the chaba many times, never had any problems with staff or service. Tony the manager is very friendly and will do his upmost to help if there is anything you need. Would recomend this hotel it sits in a great place best part of the beach, and great for the evenings.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angela090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights in June 2013 and had a lovely time there. The room was clean and well maintained. Beds still very firm as with most of Thailand. Breakfast had a great selection. The pool did not look like it was filtered very well or was not on at all. The beach was the best. No rocks and clean water. Massages are available next to the pool,but we used the girls next door on the beach. The food that was on offer at the beach was Ok, and there is a bar right on the beach for you. It is in a very central position to the whole of Chaweng and we were able to walk everywhere, so there was no added costs of taxis. Every night was a theme night, although we never ate there at night. For the price it was very goof and much better than expected.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raylene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed at the Chaba Samui for 14 nights in June,and have stayed here 10 times before.The hotel is very friendly and in a good position on Chaweng.All the staff were fantastic,reception,breakfast,pool,house maids and maintenance were all very helpful.The hotel is on the best part of Chaweng Beach.The breakfast is very good,and there is a good selection.We were 4 family's staying in the Ocean Wing and all the staff were great with the children.We see a lot of returning guests we have got to know who return year after year.When we read some reviews about the hotel we don't believe them,some people complain about the least thing.The best has been left until last that is Guest Manager Tony he was fantastic once again making every guest welcome.He is great with children,and is very very helpful.We are hoping to return next year.We would like all the staff once again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

It is a non-smoking and "non guest friendly hotel".

Agoda should categorised the hotel as smoking or non-smoking, and didn't even mentioned non-smoking room on Agoda website. Came to know this only after checked-in and it can't be refunded or exchanged!

Room reserved under 2 pax (though only myself checked-in), but refused to allowed any one else to enter, I always preferred an in-room massage.

After negotiate with the hotel manager, finally they unwillingly allowed but with one condition - the hotel is not responsible if anything happen to me during my stay.

Note: You are not allowed to bring the complimentary water bottle out from the room, you will be charged!

Rang Agoda and spoken to Han, unfortunately this gentlemen is hopeless and not customer oriented at all.

Bad experience and will definitely not returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank plsclickme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

If i wasn't on this holiday with my favorite person in the world it would have been a disaster. The air con in the room smelled so bad, it was as if someone was farting through the vent. At the entrance of the hotel it smells of sewerage. Not all, but some of the staff is really not that friendly. I know its not a five star resort and i was really not expecting that but i at least expect to be able to breath when i walk into my room and use a shower that wasn't designed for midgets. I am not very tall and literally had to bend down to wet my hair. I am not sure about the ocean wing but i would never stay in the lake wing again...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.4 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#37 of 104 in Chaweng
635 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sans Souci Samui
Sans Souci Samui
#33 of 104 in Chaweng
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#56 of 104 in Chaweng
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
1,952 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaba Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaba Samui Resort

Address: 19 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $74 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chaba Samui Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
93 Rooms, located in the heart of Chaweng, set beside a sandy white beach. Accommodation is split between two wings; the Lake Wing is across the road from the beach with the Ocean Wing located by the beach. Rooms have air conditioning, TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Ocean Wing rooms have a private balcony. Swimming pools, kids' playground, exercise room, sauna, pool bar and restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Chaba Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaba Samui Hotel Chaweng
Hotel Chaba Samui
Chaba Samui Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing