We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chaba Samui”
Review of Chaba Samui Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chaba Samui Resort
Ranked #30 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had a lovely stay at the chaba for 10 nights early oct. My friend who is wheelchair bound found it quite accessible as the grounds are flat. Staff were always there to help and assist us. Breakfast was great especially the egg station. Pool is good and so was the massages which my friend was able to get done in his room due to him being unable to get to the massage tables. It might be a little bit outdated, but what the heck, your there for a holiday, not to spend all the time in your room. And as for other comments re staff not speaking very good english," WELL HELLO" they are thai and that is their language.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank curly0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (624)
There are newer reviews for Chaba Samui Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 624 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

The hotel has everything you need - a lovely pool, good pool bar, nice restaurant and right on the beach. Its just a few minutes walk from the restaurants, bars and shops but quiet enough at night to let you sleep.

We stayed in the ocean wing and had a lovely room, even extended our stay by one night. Night time reception girl is totally unhelpful - didnt pass on the message that we had booked another night (through agoda.com rather than the hotel who were charging almost double the price) and had staff coming to us on the beach to check departure time. This was a minor inconvience and we really enjoyed our stay.

The hotel provided transport to get us back to the Airport at a minimal cost.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the Ocean Wing - we were told this was a quieter part of the hotel!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunseeker0223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Pros - very had a very good deal for one night at this hotel. The room was big and clean and the pool area is big and the beach is clean and nice.

Cons - The hotel itself is a bit outdated. The staff did not speak English very well.

Bottom line - we booked a room for about 55 $US without breakfast. I advice you to book with breakfast because Chaweng beach wakes up late.

Room Tip: Ocean wing only.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tal Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I booked via Agoda and opted for the Ocean wing vs. the Lake Wing because the Ocean wing was only $6 more. I was surprised to find out on my arrival that my booking was made for the Lake Wing and the room given to me was the top floor, furthest from the Ocean, and next a busy road and busy bars. Needless to say I wasn't happy. I politely asked the hotel if they could move me to the Ocean Wing if I paid the difference as offered on Agoda, of course they needed to ask the Manager who didn't even bother to leave their office and instead sent the desk staff back to me to say it's not possible. Of course it's possible, it's up to you to go out of your way for the customer...Hospitality is not in the vocabulary of most hotels in Thailand I've found. They expect flexibility from their guests but scoff when you ask for them to be flexible. The room I have is next to a very noisy person, either that or the walls are too thin to keep out the noise. Anyways I've been woken up twice early in the morning because of that.

I had previously stayed at the Chaba Cabana on a different part of Chaweng which I liked better because of the hotel premises...staff wasn't much more helpful when it came to anything outside the norm tho.

Room Tip: Book the Ocean Wing via Agoda and make sure you get close to the pool.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjwright73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days and had a good experience. The staff were especially service minded and friendly and the rooms were in good order. The food at the beach bar/restaurant was very good indeed and had good value.

The hotel also features a lot of geckos, which I guess you could call either a bad or a good thing. For me, I like the little critters and they eat the more annoying pests and it made for a few good photographs!

The rooms are decent; they're not especially roomy and the bathrooms are cramped and outdated, but the beds were nice, the aircon worked superbly and I slept well.

Overall a 4/5 !

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bastiaanvdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stay at the Chaba in Jan/Feb 2012, will be going back. The pool was wonderful with a view of the sea while swimming in it. Food excellent, staff very helpful smileing and friendly. Our room although not really up to date was very clean and a good night sleep in a good bed. We stay Ocean side and i just cant wait to go back again.
The evenings, the main strip comes alive with the shops etc and you can dine in the evening outside the front of the Chabba and soak up the atmosphere. Thank you to all the wonderful Staff.

Room Tip: Go Ocean side
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jacky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Does this hotel have a hairdryer in the rooms? Where are the best places to book for excursions and is it still safe to travel with a scooter around the island? Is. Reakfast always included in the price? What are the best places to go for suppers and lunches and how far are the other islands from there?

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank African449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.3 mi away
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#36 of 103 in Chaweng
621 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 103 in Chaweng
1,862 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 103 in Chaweng
1,473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baan Samui Resort
Baan Samui Resort
#7 of 103 in Chaweng
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaba Samui Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaba Samui Resort

Address: 19 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $52 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chaba Samui Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
93 Rooms, located in the heart of Chaweng, set beside a sandy white beach. Accommodation is split between two wings; the Lake Wing is across the road from the beach with the Ocean Wing located by the beach. Rooms have air conditioning, TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Ocean Wing rooms have a private balcony. Swimming pools, kids' playground, exercise room, sauna, pool bar and restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chaba Samui Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaba Samui Hotel Chaweng
Hotel Chaba Samui
Chaba Samui Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing