We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect splurge for a backpacker”
Review of Blue Lagoon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Blue Lagoon Hotel
Ranked #63 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect splurge for a backpacker”
Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

As a backpacker looking to splurge for one night, I didn't have very high expectations. They were all surpassed. The highlights were definitely the pool and the beach with comfortable chairs. For the price we paid, I though this was a very nice hotel. The restaurant was a bit overpriced though, so I would recommend eating elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eitan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sirowanp, Front Office Manager at Blue Lagoon Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind review !! We are delighted to hear that you had enjoyed our amennities here at Blue Lagoon Hotel , even just a short stay . We also make note of your comment about the price of Restaurant , and please trust that we will bring it up to the management team.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon and once again thank you for your feedback.


Kindest Regards,

Sirowan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    99
    53
    20
    39
See reviews for
62
108
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for three nights, very quiet, smiling and friendly staff, good breakfast, very beautiful pastoral beach but very shallow untill very far in making it, at least for me, pointless more of an eye candy. overall good value for money

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bbenchaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sirowanp, Front Office Manager at Blue Lagoon Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Benchaya

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at chaweng Blue Lagoon Hotel . We are very happy that you had a nice stay here at Blue Lagoon. Regarding to the beach , I agreed with you, especially for the guests who like to swim in deep water .For your next stay in Blue Lagoon , you can use our complimentary transfer to our sister hotel, Beach Comber ( Located in the heart of middle chaweng ) , which we provide everyday and anytime upon request , if you would like to swim somewhere deeper :)


We very much look forward to hosting you , your friends and family once again.

Warm regards,

Sirowan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Our family and I recently stayed at Blue Lagoon for 12 nights amd what a delightful experience it was. The hotel is perfectly located on the beach with a great pool that my daughter loved. The STAFF were exceptional and wnet out of their way to ensure our expectations were exceeded. Specific mention needs to be made of ET and Tiu. On one of the nights it was my daughter's birthday and they arranged a table on the beach, decorated it with flowers and then proceeded to presnet here with a birthday cake arranged by the hotel. Thank you for making her day special!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BryanMulliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sirowanp, Front Office Manager at Blue Lagoon Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your super kind review! It is so nice of you to mention our colleagues ( FB Team ) they will be super happy to know it . We are delighted that you and family enjoyed the stay at Chaweng Blue Lagoon hotel and It is also such a pleasure replying to guests that have experienced our resort at its finest.

We very much look forward to hosting you and your friends and family once again.

All the best

Sirowan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea Point, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Visited this hotel recently 27 Mar to 08 Apr 2013- had a wonderful stay, lovely location, wonderful staff nothing too much trouble, lovely rooms, teak furniture, granite bathrooms, basic but clean and functional. Can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manuela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sirowanp, Front Office Manager at Blue Lagoon Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our property . We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Chawng Blue Lagoon Hotel. We aspire to create memories and are always happy to hear that our guests left with beautiful memories .

Very much looking forward to having you back with us!

All the very best

Sirowan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was quite surprised at some of the negative comments on your site regarding this hotel. One of the reasons people travel to Koh Samui, and Chaweng Beach in particular, is that all the hotels are local Thai hotels no higher than 3 storeys. They typically feature Thai architecture, local employees and have old world charm. If visitors expectations are perfectly manicured impersonal branded hotels then Chaweng is not the place for them. You cannot expect 5 star standards at 3 star prices.

We were a group of 13 from South Africa and Australia and stayed for 2 weeks. Not one of us had a bad experience during our stay. We stayed in the deluxe rooms which are spacious and near the pool overlooking beautiful gardens and in a quiet location. All the employees were friendly and attentive, especially E.T. at the pool bar and also the restaurant and Front Office employees. The Front Office manager was as delightful as she was efficient. All reservations and airport transfers were in order upon arrival. Our rooms were all allocated on the same floor without us even having to request this. The breakfast choice was extensive with eggs made to order. If fact all food both Western & Thai could not be faulted. A bit slow coming out but who cares when you are on holiday in paradise? We can therefore highly recommend this hotel which is located on the quieter northern part of the beach but only a 10 minute walk to all the beach bars and night-life at the southern end.

Room Tip: Choose the deluxe rooms. They are located in the deluxe wing away from the road and overlook the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CPTLAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sirowanp, Front Office Manager at Blue Lagoon Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for noting of every impressive detail you experience during your stay with us. We are overjoyed that we could enhance your stay !!
We are thrilled that we were able to accommodate you in every way ( especially from the person who works in the same industry ) , our efforts made your stay, from start to finish, enjoyable. We take great pride in going the extra mile for our guests, and your comments will serve as our motivation to keep up with good work

We wish you all the very best and look forward to your return.

Sirowan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Having read several 'poor' reviews since December 2012 we (a group of 6 rooms and several families) became notably concerned so we called and corresponded with the hotel several times prior to our arrival in March 2013.
Despite assurances by the hotel management that the hotel was up to our expected standards we were all still wary until our arrival but fortunately we were pleasantly surprised from the time we arrived until our leaving 12 days later.
The staff were always polite and helpful beyond expectations and our special thanks go to the Front Office Manager, Mameow, who went beyond the call of duty. She assisted us with restaurant recommendations, bookings and even helped one of our party to find and book a physiotherapist as well as arranging the transport. We sincerely hope that she sees this review so that she will know how much we appreciate her service.
Our special thanks also go to ET and Thu who delivered excellent and friendly service to all of us at the beach bar with cool drinks, fruit juices and milkshakes during the day and drinks during happy hour and through dinners on the beach in the evenings.
Although the hotel and rooms are not new and ultramodern they are well maintained and well serviced by the 'housekeeping' and 'maintenance' staff. We had a problem with one of the room air conditioners not cooling and the 'maintenance' man sorted it out immediately.
All of us in our party have decided that the hotel deserves to have the record set straight after what was written by a select few.
Anybody who wishes to contact me for further reference is welcome to do so at wayne@megafreight.co.za

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WayneLazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sirowanp, Front Office Manager at Blue Lagoon Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Mr. Wayne & The Gang

Thank you for your super kind review ,We highly appreciate your positive comments about our team member , rooms and resort . It is always our biggest goal to make our guests feel welcome and valued.

I have passed on your comments to all of our team member. They were overjoyed to hear that you had an exceptional stay here at Chaweng Blue Lagoon Hotel .
We believe the only way to succeed in this industry is to make sure we exceed our guests expectations so they will leave happily , then return to us again and tell their friends and I am so sure that you are one of them :)

It was great to have you all staying at Chaweng blue Lagoon hotel this summer and we very much look forward to hosting you and your friends and family once again.

Sirowan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Have stayed here a few times, rooms are adequate, location is close enough to the strip but far enough away to avoid noise, the pool & beach are very good, staff are somewhat indifferent with a few exceptions (Wilai), the restaurant/breakfast is very good, there is a lack of water pressure on Samui which makes showering a laborious process, water pressure is poor in this hotel

Room Tip: Try and get a bungalow over the road (part of the hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidhWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.1 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#56 of 104 in Chaweng
408 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#70 of 185 in Bophut
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Samui Island Beach Resort and Hotel
0.9 mi away
Chaba Samui Resort
Chaba Samui Resort
#32 of 104 in Chaweng
605 reviews
0.6 mi away
Baan Chaweng Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Hotel

Property: Blue Lagoon Hotel
Address: 99 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Lagoon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaweng Blue Lagoon Hotel is a 4-star hotel nestled in a tropical garden between palm trees, lush bushes and flowers, and the beach.At our resort, we offer Superior Rooms, Deluxe Rooms and Deluxe Suites in our five 2-storey buildings. If you would like to spend your holiday in a more private way you can also book one of our Deluxe Villas right next to the beach or pool.Although being one of the smaller resorts on Chaweng Beach we have excellent staff who know how to make you feel comfortable from the very first minute to the very last. This is certainly one of the many reasons why we enjoy a long list of repeating guests throughout the year enjoying our family-style atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Blue Lagoon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Koh Samui
Blue Lagoon Hotel Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing