We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Good Location and Good Food!~”
Review of Blue Lagoon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Lagoon Hotel
Ranked #64 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed here for around 6 nights.
Originally we booked the rooms with a garden view, but we were not satisfied and upgraded to superior rooms in the other side of the building near the reception with extra costs.
The room we had was okay. But looked very old and needing renovation. The bathroom was okay. but the design and colours made it look very old and shabby. The bathroom was constantly out of order, the toilets wouldn't flush, there wasn't any hot water and there were always insects.
However I did find it a pleasurable stay.
The pool and the food was the best of this hotel.
The pool staff O and Shu/Saw (Whatever his name is) are lovely! we became friends after our stay, seeing them everyday whilst sunbathing!~ Shu especially was so cute and very helpful!!
The breakfast was lovely, even though it was low season and there wasn't much customers around the chefs were always making good food!
The cocktails were also lovely.
The location was good because the shops were just down the road, but you have to walk around 10-15minutes to go to the main attractions like the clubs (GREEN MANGO) however the beach that was right out side was NOT NICE!
you had to walk around 15-20minutes along the strip to go to the nicer area of the beach , where you can do watersports like Jet ski etc.
Overrall it was a lovely stay the staff are excellent and the food was tasty!~ will come back again to see my Pool staff friends =)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bbmuimui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Thank you kindly for your review and we are glad to see you had a nice stay at Chaweng Blue Lagoon Hotel!

Firstly, thank you also for the kind comments regarding our staff (I have passed your regards and your approval of their cocktail-making on to our pool boys) and we will add your opinion to the majority of others that praise our service level and make us proud of our staff.

We’re also glad that you enjoyed the food at the hotel so much, although everything is open to improvement and we’ll soon be introducing a new, better menu.

We are sorry you encountered plumbing issues with our bathrooms. As you probably noticed, we are refurbishing the lobby area (which is why our prices are currently so much lower than other 4-star hotels around us!) and, at the same time, we are replacing the air-conditioning units in the buildings around the renovation area – these are connected to the hot water system in the hotel and some water lines had to be repaired (I personally informed all the guests at breakfast – I think I remember who you are, as we didn’t have so many Londoners staying at the time, and I am fairly sure I also mentioned this to your group). We’re also sorry that the classic marble-granite bathroom design was perhaps too classic for you – however, please be assured that these bathrooms were refurbished less than three years ago.

Unfortunately insects are a common problem all over Thailand – especially in large garden areas like at the Blue Lagoon. We address this through daily room-cleaning, weekly fumigation and, of course, the geckos also help in this respect!

Around the period of the full moon (there is one today, the day after you posted your review), the water in the lagoon at our beachfront is at its lowest and this is perhaps why you weren’t satisfied with our stretch of beach. However, we also mention this on our Web site – that, at low tide, our beach is not suitable for swimming. At high tide however the beach is quite swimmable and the tide is able to wash mangrove and bracken out from the lagoon. Of course, we also offer a free shuttle service to our sister hotel, where the beach is perfect for swimming.

The Village Bungalows that you originally booked do attract some criticism as they are across the road… but this is mentioned on our Web site and we have been as clear as we can be when listing our hotel on Agoda, Expedia, etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 282 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

We've stayed at The Blue Lagoon at least six times so I feel rather well qualified to review it. It has always been a love hate relationship with us. The pool area is one of the best in Chaweng, and as we spent a lot of time around the pool that was always a big factor in choosing the Blue Lagoon. The Kantara Restaurant used to be very good when the Kiwi chef was there but it's not as good now since he 'left'. Breakfast has always been good however. Most of the rooms are very tired and there is always something breaking down - usually the aircon! The kettles in the rooms (we call them the water warmers) are a crazy pump-action affairs that, once you get the hang of them, are OK. The pool staff were once very good but progressively there have been less and less of them, so the service has suffered. Nice area on the beach under the trees but again because of less staff the area has become tatty and not well-cared for, with rubbish and empty glasses not being cleared and sunbeds broken and messy. The beach bar, which used to be an OK stop for a nightcap or cocktail and had a bit of life about it is now virtually unmanned and very tatty. If you want to have a drink you have sit down and wait for a member of staff from the restaurant to notice you and come out to serve you. The restaurant was rebuilt a few years ago and is a very nice building.
The last time we stayed we arrived and found the pool was being renovated. They had not told us about this, much to our disgust, and we moved out the next day. They said it would be finished in 3 days but we checked and of course it was still being retiled 2 weeks later. Over the years we have been going there it has steadily gone downhill and now appears to be run on a shoestring. The Swiss/Singaporean owner visits regularly but only seems to look for ways of cutting costs, not improving the hotel. It has the air of being on the edge of going bankrupt. The staff are like rabbits caught in the headlights as disgruntled guests berate them about something or other that has broken, gone wrong or not happened. It's a shame because it's in a great spot, has a great pool, has had great staff (although most of them have been dissillusioned with the lack of investment and have gone) and at times good food. I would love to stay there again but with this steady decline I would be very nervous about trying it again. Last time, when we moved out after one night because of the pool renovation , we went to the Dara Samui which was brilliantly run, everything worked, had a great restaurant and staff, but a small shallow pool and a narrow section of beach unlike the Blue Lagoon. So we still remember how good it was, hope that it will return to being a great place but fear that it won't under the present owner.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the beachfront villas - they're ridiculously expensive and virtually the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 26, 2012

Thank you for your review and we are sorry that our hotel has gone down in your estimation over the many times you have visited. However, such reviews are helpful when gauging exactly where we are succeeding and exactly where we are failing so, again, thank you!

I have checked our files for the case you mentioned and, whilst it is our policy to inform all guests and agencies of any renovation in good time prior to their visit, this might not have happened in your case (or possibly an email was sent to a list of on-hand bookings and this was not received directly to your inbox) - for this we can only apologise. I believe this was compensated by offers of complimentary services, but you chose to change hotels as an operational swimming pool was very important to you. This, we completely understand and, while we would have loved to have taken care of you at our hotel, the comfort of our guests is the most important of our priorities so we are happy that you had a good holiday at a different hotel. As your review suggests, our hotel - which is one of the longest-established on Chaweng Beach - does need to be maintained properly otherwise we end up with problems like the air-conditioning units which you point out in your review.

However, I must disagree with your comments that the state of the hotel has worsened as I can see from other reviews since your stay, and from my personal experience during the time since your stay (I arrived here afterwards), that guest experiences have actually gotten better. This positive feedback is clear for everyone to see... please read below!

On top of this, we are midway through a full renovation of our lobby (as some past guests have mentioned it was not well-lit, the decor was unsatisfactory and it no longer felt welcoming) and the designs look rather fetching - they are shortly to be uploaded to our Web site but you can find them for the time-being on our Facebook page. (Please note that guests were informed in advance, we have relocated our reception/lobby area temporarily and we have housed all our guests away from the construction area.)

We are also systematically changing the air-conditioning units throughout the hotel as, again, this is something that our guests have repeatedly suggested we need to improve (including you). New kettles have been bought for many of the rooms also and the sunbeds have all been repaired, re-sanded and equipped with new higher quality mattresses. Measures like this not only improve the guests' experiences, but they also help save costs (by more effective power consumption, less frequent maintenance, etc), which allows us to allocate our budget into improving the guests' experiences further still.

It is true that we have had problems with staff numbers, but recruitment of *qualified* staff is more difficult than ever with the emergence of Koh Samui (and in particular Chaweng) as a world-famous tourist destination, and the large numbers of hotels and other service-based businesses that continue to open here. However, we haven't given up and we won't - we are actively looking for (and recruiting) qualified people - and, again, the reviews below from more recent stays all seem to reflect we’ve done OK so far.

On to the positives on your review - the pool is great, and now is better than at any time in the past due to the successful upgrade that unfortunately coincided with your stay! The very wide beach frontage of our hotel will never change and, as I'm sure you're aware, continually attracts a lot of praise from our guests for both the quiet and relaxation it offers and the idyllic tropical lagoon setting. And, of course our location - quietly away from the noisier part of Chaweng but within easy walking distance of, well, everything.

With regards to your room tips - it's unclear from your review when exactly you last went inside one of our Deluxe Beach Front Villas (as you have stayed with us so many times already), but they have been refurbished not that long ago and are significantly larger than Superior Rooms - in fact, well over double - and are equipped and furnished to a much higher standard. Is it possible that you have not seen them from the inside for a couple of years? Also, our bungalows across the road have generally attracted criticism from those who thought they were booking a bungalow around the pool or on the beach - for this reason we have renamed them from "Garden Bungalows" to "Village Bungalows" to avoid any confusion and we state as clearly as we can on all sales channels that offer them that they are indeed located on the opposite side of the road to the rest of the hotel. This only leaves the Superior and Deluxe Rooms, Junior Suites and Deluxe Pool View Villas; which are the ones located around the inner gardens/pool area that you recommend. (Personally the last time I stayed at the Blue Lagoon as a guest, I booked a Deluxe Pool View Villa, and found it to be perfect - but taste is a subjective thing!)

Thank you again for your review and, despite the concerns you mention in your review, we hope you choose to return to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My sister and I stayed here for a girls trip away in late December 2011, great price, our rooms were cleaned every day, staff was very friendly! (especially LEE at reception) Only a short walk to shops, bars etc and lovely view of the beach when having breakfast! (see my photo) Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aimee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMBL, Manager at Blue Lagoon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Thank you kindly for your review!

Our gorgeous view over the beach at breakfast is well documented in TripAdvisor and we are glad you added your voice to the existing recommendations.

Most visitors also agree that our conveniently central location makes it easy to get to where you want to go, but our situation on north Chaweng Beach also means you can relax without being disturbed by noise from jet-skis and the like.

We are aware that we offer great value, and we've had a lot of guests from other 4-star hotels move to us for this reason.

We print out these reviews so that our staff know where they're succeeding or could do with improving - it's part of our revised training program - and I'll personally pass on your regards to our night reception Mr. Lee.

We hope that you'll return as you suggest in your review so we'll be looking forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

My friends and I unfortunately got stuck in one of the worst resorts in Koh Samui and by random a Taxi Driver had led us to Blue Lagoon.
Which we were taken care of as soon as we stepped foot into Reception.

The rooms are moderate size - as 3 of us stayed in each room.
The buffet breakfast, beautiful. Making your day start off even better when you have such an amazing seating and view.
The staff served us with a smile and were happy to go that extra mile. They obviously loved us as much as we did them come Happy Hour time!!

Staff M, O and James were delightful!! This place made our stay in Thailand the crem de le crem, we actually wanted to come back when we landed in phuket!

Thank you for making our trip amazing guys!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMBL, Manager at Blue Lagoon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2012

Thank you for your very complimentary review and we are delighted that you had such a good time at the Blue Lagoon... we hope we've given you fond memories that you won't forget!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

It's not a luxury hotel, but its clean, comfortable and the location on Chaweng Beach is perfect!
We stayed for 5 nights in the garden bungalow and 5 nights in an upgraded hotel room which were clean and spacious.
The staff are very friendly, especially "O" who works in the pool bar. He was very helpful and made great cocktails! I recommend hiring a jeep and driving around the island - it costs around 800baht for 24hrs - its fun and you get to see what the island has to offer! We plan on returning every year!

Room Tip: Garden bungalows are ok but its best to fork out the extra AU$15 a night for an upgrade to a hotel r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PatThornton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMBL, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Lagoon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2012

Thank you for your review... we are very glad that you enjoyed your holiday and I have passed on your regards to "O" at the pool bar (who, as it happens, is our Staff Member of the Year).

I have re-emphasised to our other staff that personal and familiar service, like O's, is what counts and is one of the reasons we have so many return visitors. We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We had booked in their sister resort beach comber but was bad and the pool was terrible not maintained. So we decided to go to their 4star property called Blue lagoon. It's no lagoon it's a 3 star property rooms not great ac problems not getting cold and water dripping from the wents. Asked for the 2 pin plug adpator didn't have one, the ones they had was pre historic old left by previous guest. And no iron and board. In the room the kettle is a old machine u need to have lots of nerve to get hot water from that kettle. It's a shame for a 4 star property. They should throw their old kettle and get new ones. Only grace was the pool, beach sea calm,and the staff. Not value for money. Breakfast was not bad. And It's little away from nite life.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mustang6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMBL, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Lagoon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Thank you very much for your review, but I should start by stating that we fulfill all the criteria for a 4-star hotel and that our stretch of beach is a lagoon because it is separated from the Gulf of Thailand by a reef (hence no tidal flow).

We are undergoing maintenance on many of our older airconditioning units - however sometimes old problems re-occur and we are sorry that you experienced this.

We actually have some plug adaptors (that we had bought ourselves), but they had been hoarded by our room maids after the guests had checked out. We have now made sure they are being kept at reception, available on request and our front desk have placed orders for some more new international ones. I also feel that some of our kettles are in need of replacing, and I will be bringing this up with the rest of the management team. Thank you for your very helpful suggestions on these points, which have prompted us to take action! .

On some of your other points, we do offer a full laundry service, including ironing, and so we do not offer ironing facilities in the rooms. Our breakfast has in the main very good reviews for its variety and beach setting, and our location (5-10 minutes' walk from the busy nightlife centre of Chaweng but still right on the beach) is a favourite point of the majority of our guests.

Due to past guests expressing concern about the swimming pool, we have made major improvements in its condition - your review suggest that we have done a good job! Many of our other guests agree that the beach and the staff service are top points.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback and please rest assured that we will be acting on your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2012

We were initially staying in the Amari Palm Reef but found that the rate over New Year tripled so started to look along the strip for an alternative hotel. This hotel is next door to the Amari Palm and have to say it was just as good if not better - certainly on the customer service front! A bit of haggling got the rate down to 4000 b&b for a superior room, compared to 12500 next door at Amari!! When we moved, they even came to get our bags for us from next door.

Rooms were very spacious, with a double & a single, were clean and well stocked with toiletries - mini bar prices very reasonable too. Breakfasts were a bit random - spag bol anyone?! - but always nice with plenty of normal breakfast bits and fresh fruit etc.

Front of house and restaurant staff were so helpful and friendly, really couldn't say a bad word about them. About 5-10 min walk to the mental bit in Chaweng, so just far enough away if need be :) We found the massages, shopping, bars & restaurants cheaper at this end of town too.

New Years Eve was great - buffet / hog roast on the beach with the house rock band and daft party games all night - was really good fun and with a diverse mix of nationalities, got everyone together for a right laugh :)

Really cant believe this hotel is as far down the rankings as it is - would def stay here again if we return to Chaweng, only wish we'd stayed here from the start of our trip!

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room as the ground floor ones seemed darker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onthebuses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EAMBL, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Lagoon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Thank you for your review. We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay and for the kind words you say about our service.

We're also over the moon that you enjoyed our New Year's Gala Dinner - especially as MC'ing such parties is not really my thing!

Our hotel ranking will surely improve as word of our improved service and facilities gets around. And I don't really "get" the spaghetti/pasta for breakfast either, but you'd be surprised at how many people take it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
0.1 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#57 of 104 in Chaweng
417 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
1.6 mi away
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
#35 of 104 in Chaweng
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Malibu Koh Samui Resort & Beach Club
1.7 mi away
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
Samui Resotel Beach Resort
#39 of 104 in Chaweng
733 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa De Mar
Casa De Mar
#12 of 104 in Chaweng
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Hotel

Address: 99 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $61 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Lagoon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaweng Blue Lagoon Hotel is a 4-star hotel nestled in a tropical garden between palm trees, lush bushes and flowers, and the beach.At our resort, we offer Superior Rooms, Deluxe Rooms and Deluxe Suites in our five 2-storey buildings. If you would like to spend your holiday in a more private way you can also book one of our Deluxe Villas right next to the beach or pool.Although being one of the smaller resorts on Chaweng Beach we have excellent staff who know how to make you feel comfortable from the very first minute to the very last. This is certainly one of the many reasons why we enjoy a long list of repeating guests throughout the year enjoying our family-style atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Blue Lagoon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Koh Samui
Blue Lagoon Hotel Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing