We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Budsaba

Budsaba
Ranked #130 of 182 Restaurants in Chaweng
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We had two meals on our 4 night stay at Maung Kulaypan eating on the beach in the gazebo's was wonderful we could eat dinner without having to dress up, and it was also very romantic for some. The breakfast was from a menu so there is something to eat for all, it was very good. The staff were very pleasant especially Jae who had a wonderful sense of humour. You dont have to stay at the hotel to eat at this restaurant people were walking by, stopped and read the menu and stayed for dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank charmaine128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent meal in lovely surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

First night we had a lively fresh Mango Salad with prawns, a fragrant Penang curry and a red snapper chosen from the fresh fish on display and barbecued with lemongrass. It was all good enough for a return visit, this time for green curry, the best sea prawns I've ever had (barbecued again) and then a Thai style fried white snapper. Service is excellent, the surroundings very restful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

We have eaten here twice now. The first time we booked a private thai cooking course which was excellent! The chef and the manager were so friendly and we had a laugh as well as cooking some great food and learning tips too. About £35 each i think and you get masses of food at the end. 5 dishes. More than 2 people can eat..and we both eat a lot!
The curry and pudding was especially amazing.
The second time we ordered 3 diff curries and although slightly hot for me they tasted so good! The staff are all brilliant here. So attentive and eager to please and always remember people returning.
I would 100% reccomend anyone come here. Even the look of the raised huts and peaceful setting is beautiful and one of the best places in chaweng ... Plus its far away from the relentless noise of the ARK bar, thank god!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate123ad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The most peaceful and beautiful restaurant on Chaweng Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

Budsaba Reastaurant @ Muang Kulaypan is a very nice place: you seat in these little "gazebo" on the white sand beach and it is so much intimate ... food is nice, fairly priced and the staff is very kind. The view is amazing, on the north of Chaweng, the sea-lagoon area. The best thing is the breeze that always flow from the sea and make your dining truly enjoyable.
I will go back many times, sure !

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emanuele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Love beach huts but food was ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

I love the beach huts on the beach, very romantic! The service given by staff here is very friendly and quick.
I ordered a chicken with red wine sauce and it came with mash potato..the chicken was slightly over done with no seasoning and the red wine sauce had no taste of wine what so ever. Mash potato was nice!

Would order something next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenski-Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Budsaba also viewed

 

Been to Budsaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing