We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
Nearby Hotels
$127
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
$401
LuxuryCollection
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amari Koh Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$135
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dara Samui Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$111
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$176
$153
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$176
$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nora Beach Resort and Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$106
$85
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nora Buri Resort & Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$153
$122
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
KC Resort & Over Water Villas(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$299
$69
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Poppies Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$144
$132
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (615)
Filter reviews
615 results
Traveler rating
282
207
71
25
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
207
71
25
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsolivio restaurantpool villachaweng beachitalian fooddeluxe villawalk along the beachjacuzzi bathflower braceletour honeymoonshallow waterboutique resortspacious roomrooms are bigmain partbars and restaurantsstayed here for a weekmassage places
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 615 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2014

We had a great time, the location was perfect, right in the middle of all the action. The rooms were just ok, certainly nothing fancy, but it was clean and did have a nice big balcony. The outside of the hotel was beautiful with tall lush tropical landscaping and a nice pool. The restaurant food was mediocre at best, it included a free breakfast, but don't expect much. The staff were ok, not as friendly or welcoming as most we stayed in. But it was right on the beach near :The Ark Bar" and close to all the bars and restauarants.

Room Tip: go for location and action not quiet
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eileenpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We - a family with young child - arrived at this hotel with great expectations for a wonderful holiday in Thailand. Unfortunately, it was a big difference from the pictures we have seen on the website and the reality. The hotel is placed on a top of a hill, so if you want to go to the beach you have to walk down a lot of steps, which you also have to climb up at return. The beach is almost inexistent, and it is completely covered by the sea during the tide. The existent pool is very small and it is almost impossible to find 2-3 sunbeds one near the other, as some smart guys are coming early morning and put some Tshirts or books on almost all the sundbeds at the pool. This was also the reason we asked our travel agency to move us out to another hotel (Anantara) after only 2 days spent here. The room (we choosed a superior vila) was very noisy, as it is next to a secondary street, and we could hear all the bikes and motors noise even earlier than the sun rises. The italian restaurant - Olivio - is very expensive, taking in account the plenty of similar restaurants you can find on the main street. The very nice view of the sea does not worth the prices you must pay versus the street restaurants (double for food, 3-5 times more for the drinks).
The only plus I can find to this hotel is the quality of the staff, who is very helpful and really wants to help you feel good, even if they cannot do anything to improve the premises.

Room Tip: The superior vilas are quite near the street, and therefore very noisy. Try to avoid, if possible.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katt21211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We recently traveled to thailand for a bachelors party. Doing logistics for 15 guys is no easy feat. From the time we chose to stay at Baan Haad Ngam they assisted us with rooms and accommodated us without any hassle. When we eventually arrived at the hotel there was an issue with the fact that 2 rooms werent ready for us yet (however I think this was mainly due to the fact the previous guests did not leave on time). In any case this was a bit of a let down as we had made the booking at least a month in advance and expected that the rooms be ready when we arrived after our long travel from SA.

Other than this initial hiccup the service was great and we felt very well looked after. 15 guys can get quite noisy however they never made life difficult for us and instead aimed to facilitate our general good time.

The rooms were in great condition and quite spacious. The pool area was as one can imagine beautiful and picturesque. However the beach did tend to disappear with the tide on a daily basis, not a train smash though. This hotel is close enough to the main chaweng party area yet far enough to feel like you can escape.

All in all a great place to stay for groups. Good service and great value.

Room Tip: Try get a room on the lower half of the hotel. I.e. nearer to the pool. I think the rooms that start with 400-500.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anant P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMT_BaanHaadNgam, Manager at Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about your recent experience at our Resort. We are pleased to hear your stay was exceptional. Hearing feedback such as yours is one of the many reasons our staff takes such great pride in being able to provide the most bespoke service possible.

We would love to welcome you back soon and hopefully for a Honeymoon or another bachelor parties?

With warmest regards,

The Management
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

It all began even before we arrived. Although we were required to pay at check-in, hotel emailed me a week before our arrival, saying we needed to pay half the price immediately because it was the high season. Also, since we were staying for the Dec 31st, we had to pay a COMPULSORY new years gala price (350$ for 2 people). I said neither was in my reservation and thus I wouldn't pay it. They threatened me with dropping my reservation days before my travel. Only when I called the agency and told them about this, they called the hotel and reversed the mistakes.

Mistakes followed at the checkin. They told us that our room was not available for the first night due to an AC repair and put us in a much worse room but tried to charge the same. I tried to argue saying that this can't happen, but since nobody speaks half-decent English it was in vain. They only made a symbolic discount.

When we finally got to our room on the second day, it was not clean. Huge windows overlooking the pool were so dirty we hardly saw outside. Ceiling over the shower leaked in the middle of the night. Sheets and towels were dirty, spotty and torn in places. Attention to detail was none.

The land next to the hotel was a construction site and we never got peace or the privacy we wanted. I guess that's not the problem of the hotel but Thailand Tourism Authority should not allow construction during high season, just like we have one in Turkey.

Overall, this hotel was one of the worst hotels I have ever been to. When you add that it was a 450$-per-night room, it's a disgrace. I am urging people not to go there at all, ruined our long awaited holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sinanko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMT_BaanHaadNgam, Manager at Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving feedback about your recent stay in Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa. We sincerely regret our accommodations and services did not live up to your expectations.

Do allow us to clarify, threaten is not something we practice. We have investigated and our reservations were nothing but polite. During your staying period we were running a high occupancy and it is the hotel duty to make sure that all booking is confirmed 100%. This is a standard practice as the hotel has blocked the room for you and should you unable to travel, we must reassign the room to the waitlisted customers.

Also, the New Year’s Eve Gala dinner is compulsory. This is part of the deal when staying over New Year and it is the policy of most of the hotels in Koh Samui. Many of the guests enjoyed the party because we put our hard work and dedications to ensure our guests will receive the best value for money.

When notified of any defects in the room will gladly repair and will take care of the issues promptly. However, you do not really give the readers the whole truth in your post. We did provided room rate discount to your so called “much worse room” which by the way, it is our second highly requested villa with private pool, large space and located close to the beach. It is not fair to exaggerate your comment.

Although we fell short to meet your expectations, we do want to acknowledge that we appreciate your business and value you as a guest of Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa.

Sincerely,

The Management
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Squeaky clean rooms, friendly staff, gorgeous location........staying here was a lovely experience! The baan haad ngam is slightly out of the way compared to the other hotels in chaweng but the 20minute walk to the main street was definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nardu33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGMT_BaanHaadNgam, Manager at Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for choosing Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa for your vacation in Koh Samui. Hearing feedback such as yours is one of the many reasons our Staff takes great pride in being able to provide the most exceptional service possible.

We appreciate all of your wonderful feedback and it would be our sincere pleasure to welcome you back for many years to come.

With warmest regards,

The Management
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews