We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Muang Kulaypan Hotel
Ranked #57 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Value for money.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We got to stay 2 nights hotel last August, the hotel certainly gives appropriate consideration to price, on the beach, 50 meters from the main street, quiet, wonderful staff.
The breakfast is not good, but other than that this hotel is highly recommended!

Room Tip: Take a Balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kobi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuangKulaypan, Muang Kulaypan Management Team at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Kobi D,
Thank you very much for your details on reviews during your visit. We will pass you words to our staff. We asked our staff to check the breakfast and all food and beverages and improve in every single dish to satisfy our guests. Also our hotel is located right on the beach side and in the center, so guest could easily reach the center by a minute walk. Thank you once again, and please feel free to contact us should you wish to visit us again on your next return to Samui. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards, Muang Kulaypan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    98
    39
    26
    19
See reviews for
32
116
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
111 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

The hotel is at the quiet North End of Chaweng, walking distance to the town but away from the hustle and bustle. The rooms are nice but despite having a vast amount of open garden space most of the rooms face on to walkways and/or back on to the Road. The plus side to this is the huge open garden and pool space down to the beach. The rooms are nicely laid out with cool design but need a bit of upgrading. Also, the beach at this side of Chaweng whilst very nice and backed by palm trees is not good for swimming as it's on a reef and the water can be a bit murky.
It's very close to the main town/bar area (walking distance) here.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with an open/sea view and definitely away from the Road. We had one of the deluxe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thePaulhongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuangKulaypan, Muang Kulaypan Management Team at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear thePualhongkong,
Thank you very much for your details review feedback during you visit, We will pass you words to our staff and we promise to maintain this is the huge open garden and pool space down to the beach. We would like to inform that we will have major renovation through out the hotel at the first quarter of 2015 year to upgrade the hotel. We also will keep you updated our renovation. Thank you once again, and please feel free to contact us should you wish to visit us again on your next return to Samui. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards, Muang Kulaypan Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Walking around Muang Kulaypan you could imagine the past glory of this hotel, that is, if you pinch your nose, for there is a distinct smell of old drains, of subtle sewage that lingers over the place, especially at the top end of the resort as you walk right from reception, and especially in the bathroom on our one night stay. When I explained the problem to the young man on reception (on the afternoon/evening of 6th September) it was unfortunately met with rolling eyes rather than an apology or an offer to change rooms. An oil burner was found and lit but this had more of an effect of mixing the smell: 'aromatic drains'. That coupled with the direct blasting of the air conditioning on the bed, led to an uncomfortbale nights sleep that we were really quite unhappy to spend our 60 euros on. In the morning the water in the shower also smelled bad. We were greated with a packed breakfast of chewy bread and ham and a carton of juice for an early trip to the pier. They also kindly offered to arrange a taxi for 800 bhat but we managed to flag one down on the road outside for 500.

To be fair, the staff who tried to help mask the smell of the room were really very friendly. The receptionist was not. The pool was nice and deep, although it is a little dark at night to swim safely. The hotel is just about the right distance outside of the centre of Chaweng to escape the tackiness at will. Perhaps if we had stayed longer things might have improved, but for what we saw, Muang Kulaypan is in need of some improvements.

Room Tip: The ones on the second tier might not smell of drains as much, and if you can get a room away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inthethickofit79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuangKulaypan, Muang Kulaypan Management Team at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Inthethickofit79, Thank you very much for your details review feedback of your stay, We will take your feedback and take action immediately. Now our hotel is maintaining, and changing the water filter system. This will remove the unpleasant smell from the water, the drains of subtle sewage that lingers over the place. Also we have scheduled to clean the drain more often avoid unpleasant smell. Also our engineering team has changed the air conditioning system to the room you stayed and also check all rooms to avoid the same problem. For the breakfast box, our Kitchen staff already change the bread and will keep it keep in the right temperature before handing it to the guests. We will have Personality Development Training for our staff more often to develop ourselves to become a socially desirable also to improve behavior and to learn better communication. For the price of Hotel Car to Nathon which is on the other side of Island which we provide hotel private car and guests do not have to wait to wave for the taxi down the road and do not have to share with others. Our pool is closed at 19.00hrs and we informed the guest upon checking about the operating hours, also hotel information is provided in every guest rooms. We will pass your compliment to our Housekeeping staff and they will be so appreciated. We believe this kind of situations will never happen again. Thank you once again for your time reviewing us. Sincerest regards, Muang Kulaypan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights in August 2013 and had booked almost a year before after reading some good reviews as part of a trip around a few of the Thai Islands. Its in a great location and we had a really nice stay at the hotel, but on the last night when we were about to check out (early flight next morning) we were told that we still had 50% of our bill left to pay despite having an email saying that full payment had been received, and being told on check in that full payment had already been made in advance. I tried to pay for all of our hotel accommodation in advance so that we only had extras and food etc to pay for when travelling. My card has now been debited for another 50% and I have emailed at least 10 times to complain and speak to the manager but I have no response. They said at the front desk that the way the original email and prices were laid out that we should have worked out that we still had 50% to pay but we had 2 interconnecting rooms and it was not clear that the price shown was for one room only, and they sent us an email saying that "Full payment" had been taken. So I would say it's a nice hotel in a great location but to avoid the situation we are now in check your bill and do not trust anything they write on email as it seems it counts for nothing. I would never stay here again even though the staff are lovely due to the problems we have had and the fact that they will not respond and I am unable to speak to the manager. I have rated the hotel as poor due to the problems we have encountered.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucy29linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuangKulaypan, Kulaypan Management Team at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear lucy29linda, Thank you very much for your details review feedback of your stay.
We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights in August 2013 and had booked almost a year before after reading some good reviews as part of a trip around a few of the Thai Islands.- Its in a great location and we had a really nice stay at the hotel, but on the last night when we were about to check out (early flight next morning) we were told that we still had 50% of our bill left to pay despite having an email saying that full payment had been received, and being told on check in that full payment had already been made in advance. I tried to pay for all of our hotel accommodation in advance so that we only had extras and food etc to pay for when travelling. My card has now been debited for another 50% and I have emailed at least 10 times to complain and speak to the manager but I have no response. - [Our reservation had charged 50% deposit from full amount upon confirmation to secure the rooms] They said at the front desk that the way the original email and prices were laid out that we should have worked out that we still had 50% to pay but we had 2 interconnecting rooms and it was not clear that the price shown was for one room only, and they sent us an email saying that "Full payment" had been taken. - [Upon arrival we sincerely apologize for miscommunication about the payment and checked you in to two connecting rooms as indicated in the reservation., our staff tried to explain about the outstanding balance on the night before departure and was given a debit card to charge for the outstanding balance upon departure. Our Staff tried to charge on the card proved but it was decline. They tried with 50% of the outstanding amount again was declined. And we received your e-mail about the fraudulent on your card. We replied you e-mail and explain that the card given was declined. We asked for alternative card to proceed the payment and you allowed us to charge on the card provided on the first time of depositing. After charging, we sent you e-mail reporting that we had charged you credit card and attached the slip along. We reply you e-mail asking for manager's e-mail which we replied on the e-mail in the same day. All e-mails were replied by our staff and manger.] So I would say it's a nice hotel in a great location but to avoid the situation we are now in check your bill and do not trust anything they write on email as it seems it counts for nothing. I would never stay here again even though the staff are lovely due to the problems we have had and the fact that they will not respond and I am unable to speak to the manager. [We received phone call from you and passed the line to manager] I have rated the hotel as poor due to the problems we have encountered. [We will take your feedback and take action immediately. We believe this kind of situation will never happen again] Thank you once again for your time reviewing us. Sincerest regards, Muang Kulaypan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
99 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

The location of the hotel is great, walking distance to the city center and with a nice beach in front. Staff is nice and service oriented. As written before the hotel needs an urgent face lift. All facilities are quite used, not very well maintained. For instance it must be years that they cleaned the heads of the shower which are now spreading in all directions. Batroom is not terrible and not very clean. The restaurant is quite good, though relatively pricy. If you are a bit noise sensitive you have to insist on quiet room and avoid the rooms facing the street which are in my opinion too noisy. I changed rooms 2 times, got a better and quiet room but had to pay more than 30 euros upgrade per night. i left a branded sweater on a hanger while moving rooms and it disappeared. The beach in front of the hotel clean but as far as you can walk only getting to your hips. No real swimming. An ok hotel for family with small children,

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Reinardus v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuangKulaypan, Muang Kulaypan Hotel Mangement at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Reinardus v. - Thank you very much for your details review feedback of your stay. The location of the hotel is great, walking distance to the city center and with a nice beach in front. Staff is nice and service oriented. As written before the hotel needs an urgent face lift. All facilities are quite used, not very well maintained. - [We do have plan for major renovation and re-branding after January 2014. and wish you could visit after reopen under Sala Hospitality Group] For instance it must be years that they cleaned the heads of the shower which are now spreading in all directions. Batroom is not terrible and not very clean. - [We have weekly schedule for cleaning the shower head and we would do it more often. For bathroom which is in black tone, we do clean it daily with bathroom cleaner.] The restaurant is quite good, though relatively pricy. [As to other hotel in the same level, the price are quite similar, also to the good nice restaurants Our Budsaba Restaurant is located right on the beach and we provide private huts/ gazebos for guests to dine in.] If you are a bit noise sensitive you have to insist on quiet room and avoid the rooms facing the street which are in my opinion too noisy. I changed rooms 2 times, got a better and quiet room but had to pay more than 30 euros upgrade per night. [ our hotel is located in Chaweng the busiest area of Koh Samui. The building is located between the beach and the main street and we do have wall between the street and hotel. The room we assigned the arrival day, we send you to the room that we assigned, and 10 minutes later you went to reception and said you would like to move to other room. So our staff moved you to another room on same category you booked right away. Then on the second day, you would like to move to quiet room which we did not have room available and it was almost 100% full. So we offer you you to move to higher category which is located right to the pool and beach with the upgrade fee and it is the only room of that room category.] i left a branded sweater on a hanger while moving rooms and it disappeared. [We tried to find it for you after you moved to new room for a couple days, but we cannot get into the room that you moved from because there was already new guests stay in that room. Also it is not in our Lost & Found Record.] The beach in front of the hotel clean but as far as you can walk only getting to your hips. No real swimming. [The water level along Chaweng Beach is not deep like in Lamai or Maenam Beach. Also water level will go up and down depends on the season and tight.] An ok hotel for family with small children,[ Our hotel welcome every type of guests, with the nice beach beach and big garden to enjoy your vacation] I will take your comments into account in order to improve our service. Thank you again and we hope you will consider returning to us in the future. Our sincerest regards - Muang Kulaypan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Hotel was ideal and a very pleasant room and a wide varander with views over the lush gardens and the beach and sea within 5 minutes walking distance. The staff were all very helpful and the breakfasts and meals were very good and to be recomended, there was a fitness area with a variety of gym equipment and the landscaped gardens with a large swimming pool was a great way to unwind in the heat. There was no entertainment within the Hotel when we were there, but there was plenty of music and dancing in the other Hotels that all fronted the beach. A most pleasant stay and we will definately be visiting again as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Generally all the rooms we saw were of a good standard and were well equiped
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaelpwatsonco5986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuangKulaypan, Muang Kulaypan Management at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Michaelpwatsonco5986, thank you ever so much for such a wonderfully positive review on Muang Kulaypan Hotel of your stay. We shall ensure we share your comments with our great team here. Thank you again and please do let us know when you wish to return. Sincerest regards, The Muang Kulaypan Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just back after 2 weeks here and knew what to expect from reading the reviews. The hotel wasn't as worn and tired as previous guests have made out. It was perfectly fine. Loved the swimming pool but get there early to reserve beds as there weren't a huge amount. Hotel right on the beach but definitely not the best part of the beach as there was a fair amount of seaweed and the water was not very deep and a bit rough underfoot.

However, breakfast was totally ruined by one male waiter who was miserable, rude and made each breakfast a really unpleasureable experience. All the other staff were wonderful but he will prevent me from booking this hotel again. I have his name and am very happy to supply it if needed. It is a shame that one breakfast waiter can ruin what would have been a perfect stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.2 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#51 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Suneast Bungalows
Suneast Bungalows
#157 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.3 mi away
Muang Samui Spa Resort
Muang Samui Spa Resort
#4 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Briza Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muang Kulaypan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muang Kulaypan Hotel

Property: Muang Kulaypan Hotel
Address: 100 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach | Bophut, Koh Samui, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Muang Kulaypan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ConceptOnce upon a time, in the ancient kingdom of Muang Kulaypan, Java lived the beautiful Princess Budsaba and her brave Prince Panyee - a great warrior and lover. Their love story played muse to folk legend and dance, which travelled over the oceans to the Royal Courts of Ancient Siam. Muang Kulaypan, Koh Samui has drawn inspiration from the legend from which it derives many of its unique architectural traits ensuring the legend of the Budsaba and Panyee still live on today.All rooms and suites surround the expansive landscaping of the Muang Kulaypan central gardens, swimming pool and stretch of golden sand as the shallow cool waters of Chaweng Beach lap against the shoreline. The accommodation buildings merge seamlessly and effortlessly with the lush green foliage, whilst unique sculpture's and artifacts pose scattered throughout the grounds. The raw design and distinct use of culture provide the resort with a timeless appeal and guests an impression of true sanctuary. Location Nestled at the northern entrance to Chaweng Beach, Koh Samui's premier tourism arena, Muang Kulaypan provides convenient access to shopping, activities and nightlife without overcrowding or congestion. This ideal location is within a mere ten minute drive from Koh Samui International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA and TripOnline SA so you can book your Muang Kulaypan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muang Kulaypan Bophut
Hotel Muang Kulaypan
Muang Kulaypan Hotel Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing