We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, Smell good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Muang Kulaypan Hotel
Ranked #61 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Clean room, very close to beach just walk a minute and there are beach chairs to relax, very nice smell room, good bed to sleep, air conditioner and nice accomodation and good service from hotel, very quiet and perfect for sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nutchanun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 291 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

We came back to this hotel after five years with our four years old child Filippo. It is the hotel with the best piece of beach in chaweng and the best garden. The service is execcelent and the the small huts on the beach are so nice and relaxing. Fantastic breakfast and one of the best restaurant in the beach. We had stayed one night in another hotel nearby just for change but we ubderstood the mistake immediately and we came here with joy. The rooms are nice and minimal. Youshould like simplicity to stay here.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuangKulaypan, Manager at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Dear Signature Nicola B, Milan- Italy, Thank you very much for your positive review during your stay. On behalf of my team, we are so grad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us. We promise to keep our friendly service and improve and maintain our charming garden until your next visit. Thank you once again and please feel free to contact us for your next visit to Samui. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana Hotel Manager and my team at Muang Kulaypan Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel twice, and the main reason for returning a second time, was the lovely people that work at this hotel, that made my stay all the more special. Sure, the standard rooms can be fairly basic, but when in a tropical paradise am I really going to spend my entire stay in the room - no!. I love the basic appeal of this hotel. It's lovely peaceful setting, beautiful gardens, and stunning swimming pool, right on Chaweng beach. It's located just a little north of the centre of the beach, and in being here, it offers a hub away from the busier areas. The beach salas are so relaxing, and I've lingered here often after breakfast, reading and watching the world go by. The staff are exceptional, and it was a joy to revisit some familar faces and have such a warm welcome back. I would love to come back here often. Best wishes to those staff who make their guests stay a pleasurable one, and come away with a feeling that we have all made new friends.

Room Tip: If you are happy with a standard room, then I recommend upstairs opposite the balcony. Some prefer t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuangKulaypan, Manager at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Dear Ms. Melanie Childs,- Paris, Thank you very much for your detailed review and positive feedback during your returning visit, we are glad you thoroughly enjoyed our Muang Kulaypan atmosphere and our surrounding. Thank you so much for understanding our room and hotel design. Anyway we will have a big renovation at the end on the year of 2013 for sure we will keep your update information. Thank you once again and please feel free to contact us should you wish to visit us again on your next return to Samui. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana Hotel Manager and our MK team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Firstly we got a great deal for this hotel in August (I think on Expedia). We've stayed in Chaweng quite a few times, and this is definitely my favourite end of the beach, because it's nice and quiet, but a very easy, lovely stroll down the beach to get to the busy bars and restaurants. A MUCH nicer walk by the way than down the street - I can't understand why Chaweng doesn't sort out its drains!! The smell is breathtaking and not in a good way!! Not that this affects the hotel in the slightest.

We stayed in a garden view deluxe room, and whilst it's probably due for a bit of renovation, it was a decent size, nicely decorated and comfortable - no complaints for what we paid at all. The bathroom is pretty big, if a little dark. Our balcony was large and had a lovely view over the garden and beach. They could do with some more bedding though, as it does look a bit faded. The floor plan is something to watch for though, as there are different levels in the room, and it would be easy to fall over if you weren't concentrating!

The pool and gardens are lovely, as are the staff, especially those at breakfast who are lovely. Breakfast was HUGE (too much!!) and good quality.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid the cheaper rooms at the back - they are very close to a fairly busy road and don't have p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itrapnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuangKulaypan, Manager at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Signature,Itrapnell, Sydeney, Australia, thank you very much for your detailed review and positive feedback during your visit, we are glad you thoroughly enjoyed your deluxe garden room in our style. However, we will have big renovation on year 2014 but surely our friendly and charming services are maintained. Thank you once again and please feel free to contact us should you wish to visit us again on your next return to Koh Samui. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana Hotel Manager and Muang kulaypan Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

At THB2,200 per night, one would expect something better than what this hotel has to offer. Requires a full and prompt refurbishment as the hotel is nowhere what the web site depicts. Rooms are large, but not functional. Cupboard doors don't close properly, old TV, walls unpainted & common areas require a full make over. Room had no hot water and wasn't game to try breakfast. Settling to go down the road. Likely percentage of a return stay - zero. Disappointing hotel at a premium price.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AUSBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuangKulaypan, Manager at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Signature AUSBKK, bangkok, thank you for your review during your stay, We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our superior during your stay for 1 night. Our room style as your stay No. 220 has painted it was a hotel design and we has been touch up just 2 weeks ago. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future Best regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana, Hotel Manager and our team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We loved our stay at this hotel. One great feature not evident at any other complexes were the little beach huts or salas where we lounged about consuming our generous breakfasts. The pool was wonderful, deep and perfect temperature. We can not fault the rooms or service. This is the perfect hotel to stay at if you want something a little quieter and unique. Probably more suited to couples than families.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janebowker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuangKulaypan, Manager at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Signature Janebowker, thank you very much for your review and writing such nice things about Muang Kulaypan Hotel. We are sp glas you enjoyed your holiday during staying with us.We promise that we will keep our space and maintain our service await for your return. Please feel free to contact us should you wish to visit us again on your next return to Samui. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana Hotel Manager and our MK Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

What a beautiful, delightful resort. We had our wedding at the hotel on June 11th, the setting was awesome and the staff were even better!! There were 20 of us in total and everyones needs were well looked after. The food is great, the bar well stocked and the setting is just paradise. The main strett is about a 5min walk (slow walk) and yet far enough away that you cant here the amazing night life. Absolutely perfect and my wife and I and the majority of the wedding party will be returning to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary. Thanks to all the staff!!

Room Tip: All rooms were perfect, we had wedding gusets all over the resort and they all said their rooms were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuangKulaypan, Manager at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Signature Andy B - China, thank you very much for your detailed review amd positive feedback during your visit, We are delighted to hear that you will visit us again in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. We all miss you and your group.

Best regards,

Jirapa Lertkulthana
Hotel Manager and MK team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.2 mi away
The Briza Beach Resort Samui
0.5 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#69 of 185 in Bophut
512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#57 of 104 in Chaweng
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baan Haad Ngam Boutique Resort & Villas
0.3 mi away
Casa De Mar
Casa De Mar
#12 of 104 in Chaweng
446 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chaweng Garden Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muang Kulaypan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muang Kulaypan Hotel

Address: 100 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach | Bophut, Koh Samui, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $246 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Muang Kulaypan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ConceptOnce upon a time, in the ancient kingdom of Muang Kulaypan, Java lived the beautiful Princess Budsaba and her brave Prince Panyee - a great warrior and lover. Their love story played muse to folk legend and dance, which travelled over the oceans to the Royal Courts of Ancient Siam. Muang Kulaypan, Koh Samui has drawn inspiration from the legend from which it derives many of its unique architectural traits ensuring the legend of the Budsaba and Panyee still live on today.All rooms and suites surround the expansive landscaping of the Muang Kulaypan central gardens, swimming pool and stretch of golden sand as the shallow cool waters of Chaweng Beach lap against the shoreline. The accommodation buildings merge seamlessly and effortlessly with the lush green foliage, whilst unique sculpture's and artifacts pose scattered throughout the grounds. The raw design and distinct use of culture provide the resort with a timeless appeal and guests an impression of true sanctuary. Location Nestled at the northern entrance to Chaweng Beach, Koh Samui's premier tourism arena, Muang Kulaypan provides convenient access to shopping, activities and nightlife without overcrowding or congestion. This ideal location is within a mere ten minute drive from Koh Samui International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Muang Kulaypan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muang Kulaypan Bophut
Hotel Muang Kulaypan
Muang Kulaypan Hotel Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing