We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice design hotel , with nice open garden and nice pool area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Muang Kulaypan Hotel
Ranked #62 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Very nice design hotel , with nice open garden and nice pool area”
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Paid 2,500 baht per night and was worth it. Excellent customer service , good quality rooms with big wet room style bathrooms.

Very nice gardens and pool area which takes you right on the beach.

Only slight problem was mattress was VERY hard , not sure if it was a new mattress or all are the same but made sleeping uncomfortable.

Great variety of tasty breakfasts.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cornish-scrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuangKulaypan, Management Representative at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for the feedback of your recent stay with us!

We are delighted to see your acknowledgments for so many positive elements of our facilities and especially our staffs’ performance. The hotel is currently seeking the best ways to improve our guests experience in seek of the most relaxing holiday, and your feedback has been taken into account.

Whenever on the island, you are the most welcome back to us, and we hope to have the pleasure of being at your service soon!

Kind regards,
Mira Ervasti
On Behalf of Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    98
    39
    26
    19
See reviews for
32
116
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Stayed here for a week with my family in May 2011 and we all really really enjoyed it.

This was my 4th trip to Samui so I have a good idea what you can expect to get for your money there and I was really impressed with the Muang Kulaypan.

The hotel is on a niceish part of the beach just a short walk away from the busy bit of the main strip of Chaweng (so you can walk to everything you need in 5-10mins but you dont have to deal with noise outside keeping you up at night).

The rooms here are good (nicley spread around a central stairway and the pool so all just a short walk from the beach), the swimming pool amazing, the breakfasts very nice, and the staff (restaurant/cleaning/reception) all very friendly and helpful.

My brother and his family ended up staying at a hotel 5 mins away that cost 3 times as much (just because they can afford it and they wanted to stay somewhere really nice) but their hotel was awful for many reasons (dont feel like I can name the hotel or talk about why it was so bad because i didnt actually stay there myself) and we all agreed we would have far preferred to stay in The Muang Kulaypan even if they had been the same price or even if the other hotel had been cheaper.

Really couldnt find fault with this place and loved our week here.

Next time I go back to Samui I will probably be by myself so I wont be able to stay here as it will be a little out of my price range to get a room just for me but I'll definately be wishing that I was!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlHowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuangKulaypan, Management Representative at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Dear Alan,

The team would like to thank you for your glowing review and the accuracy in describing the location and facilities. Your experience is exactly what we aim for every day and it is very rewarding to hear that we met your satisfaction, especially when you know the island so well.

You and your family were very much liked and we genuinely enjoyed having you here – it would an honor for us to host your family again at any time!

Kind regards,
Mira Ervasti
On Behalf of Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2011

I have been to Muang Kulaypan Hotel 3 times. If I wasn't living 18 hours +$1500 away from here, I would be going a lot more often.

If you have contemporary taste for design, this is a place to go. The architecture style of this hotel is contemporary buddism. It sounds cheesy, but the way the architect designed this building is not. Very minimum use of material, open courtyard spatial configuration is working really beautifully. If you are a banker, and the most important thing in the world is financial return per floor area, this hotel may look failure. There's something about the openness that makes this hotel really special.

I really recommend this hotel for people who have taste, and loves spending a quality time, detached from everyday life, reading, swimming, and drinking beer for a week.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoniesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuangKulaypan, Management Representative at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your review and sharing your praise with the TripAdvisor community!

It was a great pleasure having you here with us and both staff and management were greatly inspired by your text. The architecture certainly divides our guests’ opinions but as you correctly stated, the atmosphere at the hotel is special as the operating mentality is based on personalized service rather than maximized profit.

Muang Kulaypan Team wishes you all the best and looks forward welcoming you back again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Mira Ervasti
On Behalf of Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We booked this hotel to try something new, we booked not expecting 5 star, and not expecting anything too fancy. I dont like writing bad reviews, as i it can really do damage to peoples business but i thought i should write something about our short experience at this hotel. When we arrived and the grounds and staff were really lovely. We were taken to our room - the Deluxe Suite - the room was really of a low standard. It had strange steps and roof heights in it - but mostly was bad as the main room could be seen by all people walking past in the resort - not private at all, basically we would have to have the curtains closed all the time which defeats the purpose of being in such a nice location. The staff understood that we wanted to see other rooms and were very accommodating. We looked at pretty much all the rooms in the resort - we ended up in the VIP. The room was old, worn and in average condition. It was also quite dark - when I think beach holiday, i just dont think dark, dingy room with old gray and black bathroom (with toilet that didnt flush properly).
Now if you were paying 3000 or even 4000 bht for this room you wouldn't think twice, but this room is a 9700 + bht a night room - not cheap - and not worth the money.
The pool area is lovely, but unfortunately all the lovely trees cause great breading place for mosquitoes and my son and I got eaten alive (about 35 bites between us in one day).

The beach is not great at this end with rocks and as it is enclosed by the rocks. The water gets really hot as there is no movement in that water - also it is kind of dirty with rubbish (that the staff don't clean).

The restaurant - it is just really bad. This is the worst part of the whole experience. The little huts that you sit in are nice, but the food is below average, i mean far below average, and not cheap. You are better off going next door to the Chef's Table and eating quality food for less. In fact if the beach doesn't bother you at this end of the beach, do yourself a favor and stay at the new place next door when the Chef's Table is - same price, much nicer.

We left this place on day 2 and when back to stay at the Library. A totally different hotel - but at least they charge inline with the experience you get.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MLSWorldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuangKulaypan, Management Representative at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2011
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you for submitting your review and sharing your thoughts at TripAdvisor, they have been shared with the team and our staff has received their well-earned acknowledgements of the lovely service they provided. Friendly staff is one of the most praised aspects of Muang Kulaypan and we are genuinely happy to see that our team was able to find satisfactory solution in a timely manner.

The hotel has unique concept that blends ancient Java together with traditional Thai customs, and the architect created a one of a kind kingdom that gently shows and teaches visitors the modest, polite behavior Thai people are so famous for.

Do you remember those low roofs? Those are a prime example of the concept: when entering one’s house for example, well-mannered Thais humbly bow their heads to show respect for the house and householder. They never step on doorstep either – this could anger the spirits of the house. The reception team runs complimentary hotel tour that introduces guests to the unique concept and many hidden gems of Muang Kulaypan. This tour could have opened the concept better and maybe iron out the details that obviously remained hidden this time.

We hope to you greatly enjoyed your stay on Koh Samui and if we could assist you in any way on your next visit, our doors are always open for you.

Kind regards,
Mira Ervasti
On Behalf of Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2011

This hotel has the best of it all. The beach space is the most ( and I walked the entire chaweng beach) the staff ate anazing always smiling. The room was clean and supplied with everything. The beds were comfy o had great sleeps here. The breakfast wad brilliant! Si much choice abd they keep refilling your juice and coffee. You get to enjoy breakfast in a hut starring into the beach. The pool is really nice too. Full of chairs. And they have happy hour. From 3-6 but I would suggest only beers because mix drinks and cocktails are all just juicy It's not only this hotel it's all of Thailand. The scenery of this hotel is beautiful. Oh and the wifi fully works on the beach. You can also get a massage on the beach for 200 baht. It doesn't get any better than this. There was a mix of different age groups anywhere from young to old abd in between singles and couples come one come all.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoniaYarkhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuangKulaypan, Management Representative at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review posted on TripAdvisor, your comments are well appreciated.

Happiness of our guests is the main thing that matters to us, and we all are very pleased to hear that you had a great time while staying at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, and that our services met your expectations. If there is anything that we could improve or add to our services, suggestions are always very welcome.

Being your host again would be a great delight to us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,
Mira Ervasti
On Behalf of Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2011

We now opt for the Deluxe Inao room which is a lovely room especiallly as the rates at the Kulaypan are always so reasonable. We got a surprise on the first day as the hotel was really busy comparatively and for the first time people were putting towels on the sunbeds to reserve them. We got 2 complimentary dinners with our booking and the food is great. This is one of my favorite places to be.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100pc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

It was our honeymoon place.. Really miss the hotel.. Hope to visit the place again!!

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheehan29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuangKulaypan, Management Representative at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

It was a delight to host your special trip and we cannot thank you enough for sharing the beginning of your new life with Muang Kulaypan Hotel. We wish you two wonderful life together and look forward hosting your anniversary!

Kind regards,
Mira Ervasti
On Behalf of Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chaweng
0.2 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#49 of 104 in Chaweng
399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#7 of 104 in Chaweng
850 reviews
0.6 mi away
Suneast Bungalows
Suneast Bungalows
#157 of 187 in Bophut
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Muang Samui Spa Resort
Muang Samui Spa Resort
#3 of 104 in Chaweng
812 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Briza Beach Resort Samui
0.5 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#74 of 187 in Bophut
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muang Kulaypan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muang Kulaypan Hotel

Property: Muang Kulaypan Hotel
Address: 100 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach | Bophut, Koh Samui, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Muang Kulaypan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ConceptOnce upon a time, in the ancient kingdom of Muang Kulaypan, Java lived the beautiful Princess Budsaba and her brave Prince Panyee - a great warrior and lover. Their love story played muse to folk legend and dance, which travelled over the oceans to the Royal Courts of Ancient Siam. Muang Kulaypan, Koh Samui has drawn inspiration from the legend from which it derives many of its unique architectural traits ensuring the legend of the Budsaba and Panyee still live on today.All rooms and suites surround the expansive landscaping of the Muang Kulaypan central gardens, swimming pool and stretch of golden sand as the shallow cool waters of Chaweng Beach lap against the shoreline. The accommodation buildings merge seamlessly and effortlessly with the lush green foliage, whilst unique sculpture's and artifacts pose scattered throughout the grounds. The raw design and distinct use of culture provide the resort with a timeless appeal and guests an impression of true sanctuary. Location Nestled at the northern entrance to Chaweng Beach, Koh Samui's premier tourism arena, Muang Kulaypan provides convenient access to shopping, activities and nightlife without overcrowding or congestion. This ideal location is within a mere ten minute drive from Koh Samui International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Muang Kulaypan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muang Kulaypan Bophut
Hotel Muang Kulaypan
Muang Kulaypan Hotel Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing