We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel”
Review of Amari Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amari Koh Samui
Ranked #11 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Superb hotel”
Reviewed July 27, 2006

We stayed in a deluxe bungalow with 2 adults and 2 kids for a week. Plenty of air conditioned room for all of us.

We loved this hotel and like many other reviews were sad to leave. Any other hotel we stay in as a family will now be compared to the Amari!

If you only do 3 things in Samui our top tips are...

Visit Budsaba next door for the most chilled out meal you will ever have!

Have a massage on the beach.

Go on an organised snorkeling trip. We went down South but I think there may be better locations in the North of the Island. Im not a strong swimmer but the experience was totally amazing.

  • Liked — Have your breakfast looking out to sea
  • Disliked — Cant think of anything negative
  • Tips/Secrets — Book Now !
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank ichy-feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,466
    704
    173
    67
    38
See reviews for
589
1,136
84
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Lothian
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2006

I feel obliged to respond to previous remarks about service at Bar@C. This little anecdote I think sums it up. My wife and I were sitting in the Bar contemplating the universe as the sun went down. She reached down and touched her ankle with the following results : Waitress #1 rushes over with ceramic burner & candle and puts it under our table with copious apologies about mosquitos (what mosquitos?) Waitress #2 arrives with an aerosol of insect-repellent and sprays my wif'e's legs with it then rubs it in. Of course by this point I am sure I must be afflicted as well, so I get the same treatment amid much hilarity. In many years globetrotting I have never had such wonderful personal treatment and I doubt if any of your readers will have either.
As to Prego - why eat Italian food in Thailand ? it's like the reason for climbing Mt.Everest - beause it's there! From putting our foot on the bottom step at the entrance to eating our first mouthful of food, we were guided,seated ,cossetted & served by no fewer than 7 beaming members of staff.
Amari Palm Reef - service with a large 'S' and a larger smile.

  • Liked — The Service & Location
  • Disliked — Hotel split into 2 parts dissected by a main road
  • Tips/Secrets — Use the pool in the Thain village - it's less busy
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
13 Thank 712Medic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2006

Stayed for 4 nights at this hotel and was really impressed! Booked a superior room but we were clearly given a deluxe, judging by the size of the room and the bed (looks identical to the photo shown on the hotel website). Nice big bathroom with a tub and a shower. Balcony was small but good enough for couples/ friends. The breakfast spread was absolutely overwhelming, lunch was definitely not needed after that. However, do try Pregos for lunch or dinner, the food there was great! Service was also prompt and friendly. Only problem we had was how dirty the pool seemed to get, and it wasn't very big. With the beachfront and the sea though, who needs a pool? I'd definitely recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Liked — The large room and bed
  • Disliked — Proximity of the rooms to the beach
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay in a room on the beach side of the hotel
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank DLPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 13, 2006

Stayed for 6 nights at the end of our trip to Asia which included Hong Kong and Bangkok so we were ready for some rest and relaxation and we certainly got it at this Hotel.
Location is excellent, close enough to all the bussle of central Chaweng but far enough to not be touched by it - to be honest we did feel rather superior having the best of both worlds. Hotel room was very nice, large bathroom, enormous bed and the DVD.CD player in the room is a real bonus which we made good use of. Breakfast at the hotel is very good and the service of the staff here excellent - we don't have children but we noticed that the staff took real trouble to make a fuss over the families staying at the resort. We stayed in a superior room which was over the opposite side of the road to the beach - it was very peaceful, sometimes the additional walk to reach the resturant for breakfast was a bit of a pain but this is a very small gripe. We stayed in a third floor room (no lifts) so dragging down our cases for a 5am flight was fun, but I'm sure the hotel staff would have assisted had we of asked.
The spa is excellent - pricey but worth it for a treat- my partner and I had simultaneous treatments in the same room and we felt very pampered.
Loads to do in Chaweng. For resturants I woud recommend Busaba (almost next door to the Amari) it does great Thai food and you get your own wooden sala on the beach - it really was great. The tailors vying for business up and doen the street do annoy you but you just have to be firm and say no if you aren't interested. having said that, we did get a couple of very nice suits made at Trend Fashions for £120.00 ( after barterring)
As for trips, we took a speedboat trip to Ko Wao for kayakking and snorkeling which was an excellent day out and we also did the zip cable run in the jungle (Canopy adventures I think) which was great fun and a bit different. Big Budda is a bit of a disappointment - particularly after the temple of Bangkok.
I would whole heartedly recommend Ko Samui to anyone and would definately stay at the amari palm again shoudl I return to ko samui.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2006

Just returned from our 3rd visit to the Amari but this time we were on our honeymoon. It is still the beautiful place that it was 4 years ago when we came here on our 1st visit. One thing I did notice however was the service at Bar @ C was not quite as good as it had been on previous visits (change of staff), but that is being really picky! all in all it was great.

We had a room on the opposite side of the beach due to renovation works, have to say I do still prefer the other side of the road but it was fine when you got use to it. The pool was quieter then it was beach side so we did spend our time there.

Used the spa for the first time and although alot more expensive then on the beach it really was something else! well worth every penny and would definately recommend it.

Food was second to none as per usual and if you have never been to the Amari I would definately recommend you go to the beach party and Thai night. The food was unbelievable and excellent value for money.

Shopping is good and you can pick up some really good bargains if you are good at bartering (I am not!). One thing I did notice that was not there previous visits were the men holding monkeys and iguanas to have your photos taken with, I thought that was really cruel and thankfully didnt see many tourists having there photos done! hopefully they wont last long.

New restaurant we tried was the red snapper which I throughly recommend, food was lovely and really nice atmosphere there. Islander is great if you want good english food, which occasionally is nice!

The lads around the pool area are lovely and are always willing to help, "Beer" who has been around for our last 2 visits is a fantastic guy and cant do enough for you.

This hotel will not disappoint!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank gazzlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2006

Having read the reviews on this site we opted for a ten night stay at the Amari.

The Amari is a lovely hotel, the bedroom and bathroom were larger than we expected, the pool and grounds were lovely and the bar area was very modern. The beach was nice, not as nice as others on the islands but still a nice spot.

The Italian Prego restaurant was excellent and I can highly recommend the Spa (but only for special treatments mani-pedi and massage much better and cheaper on the beach!)

The location of the Amari was excellent just a short stroll into all the hustle and bustle but far enough away if that’s not your thing.

The only thing that lets the Amari down is it’s service. Having stayed in hotels all over Thailand and Asia, we felt that the service at the Amari was below par, particularly in Bar@C and round the pool. It is because of this we have given the hotel a neutral rating.

I would say that if you have never stayed in other hotel in Thailand and never experienced the fantast Thai service then the Amari would be a great choice! However if you are going on a special trip or want bit of luxury, consider somewhere else!!

Helpful?
9 Thank EILS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2006

We began our trip at the Amari Watergate Hotel in Bangkok, the hotel was very good Bangkok is awful and next time we will go straight to Koh Samui.

We stayed at the Amari Palm Reef for 12 nights to celebrate our anniversay, and so wanted something very special. We were not disappointed. The Amari is beautiful, and the upgrade to a deluxe room was well worth the money. This is the first time that the hotel has matched our perceptions from reviews, magazines and brochures. The room was exactly as pictured - spacious, modern and of a very high standard. The staff were very friendly and helpful, as were the people of Thialand, the first time we have experienced this.

The hotel location is excellent, towards the quieter end of Chaweng but within 10 minutes walking distance to the buzzing centre. Here there is something for everyone, from Cabaret bars (worth a visit for a laugh), Thai Boxing (although some fights did not last long), pubs, bars, classy restaurants, cheap places to eat as well to suit every budget. Seafood is readily available on the beach and is excellent, and you can even pick your own fish!!! Our favourite restaurants were, Snapper, Rice, Budsaba (a beautiful beach setting and a real taste of Thai atmosphere), CoCo's for Chinese, Poppies was nice but expensive (4,000 baht for 3 courses and decent wine approx £60). Don't bother with Noori India who were advertised in a local magazine we got from the airport they served us with re-corked refilled wine at top notch prices and the curry was like soup. Typically we paid 2000-3000 baht for a 3 course meal of top notch standard with wine, but you can eat for a lot less than this, a typical Thai curry is approx 300 baht approx £4.50.

The nightlife is very varied. We missed the Full Moon party but did visit a Black Moon Party at Chaweng Lake, where Brandon Block was playing. House music (our favourite) features in a lot of bars, as does R&B, commercial dance and pop. You will not be short of somewhere to go at night if you like partying.

Massages on the beach are great and cheap, my favorite was called Family Massage head left out of the hotel towrds the jet ski man (these were also great fun and cheaper than other destinations).

Chaweng is a truly international destination and everyone is friendly regardless of their nationality.

One word of caution beware of illegal taxi's at the airport, try to book an official mini bus from the desk in the airport or use a yellow taxi but agree a price first. To get around Chaweng the best way is to use the pick-up trucks they are cheap, agree a price first.

Big Budda was a little disappointing.

We could go on forever because we loved it - if you are thinking of going here and staying at the Amari DO IT. We will be going back.

Helpful?
13 Thank MarleyManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
1,813 reviews
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,440 reviews
1.7 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 104 in Chaweng
728 reviews
1.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Koh Samui

Property: Amari Koh Samui
Address: 14/3 Moo 2 | Surathani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Amari Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amari Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing