We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FABULOUS”
Review of Amari Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amari Koh Samui
Ranked #10 of 104 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2009

The Amari was a fabulous place to stay. We brought our 6 months old son with us and the staff accommodated us very will with a little crib in our room and ensuring our room was sprayed every night for bugs. The buffet breakfast was one of the best I have eaten at a resort and the staff were all very friendly. The pool is small, but very nice. The beach is okay. If you walk to the right of the resort for 1 km the sand and water is nicer. The meals at the resort can be quite expensive, but there are beach vendors that sell corn on the cob, spring rolls, beer, etc for a lot cheaper. There are also some great beach side restaurants that we went to quite often!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank canadasweets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,918 - 1,924 of 2,601 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2009

Great hotel. 2 swimming pools, excellent frontage, well-appointed rooms (make sure you book the 10-odd sea-facing ones well in advance, if that's what you seek), great restaurants (Prego, Bar @ C) and fantastic staff.

Easily the best on Chaweng Beach - as gauged from our walk down the entire stretch.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Gloomsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2009

Our stay at Amari was most incredible. We had booked a Superior room but were upgraded to Dleuxe. As people here have said, the hotel is divided into 2 parts, we got our room on the garden side on ground floor. They held back a deposit of THB5,000 on our credit card when we arrived there and returned it to us at the time of check-out.

The room was spotlessly clean, very nice bathroom, water pressure in the shower was fantastic (usually that's a common complaint we have had in many hotels before). Since the room was on the garden side, there was always a possibility of mosquitoes getting in but every evening, a lady would come and spray a repellent (oderless) under the bed and in all the dark areas of the room. We never had any mosquito bites. There was good variety of complimentary tea bags. I have not seen this much variety even in the 5-stars I have stayed in before.

There was a WIDE range of things to eat for breakfast. We had the best cheese onlette in this hotel. The beach side was very clean too. Beach boys were pretty ok (some seemed to be tired and lazy to help sometimes). thw towels were always clean. they have 2 swimming pools, one on the garden side and one on the beach side. We loved the one on garden side since it was quieter, very relaxing and closer to our room. People who enjoy more hussle and bussle can always choose the one on the beach side.

Going to Central Chaweng was pretty easy. It was kinda' walkable but we rented a scooter to avoid walking when the sun was bright. The hotel's location was just too perfect; right on Chaweng but still quiet since it lies on the northern side of the beach. We got a wonderful mix which is exactly what we wanted.

The only negative was the distance of our room from the hotel entrance. It was stuck right at the end of the hotel. You might want to request them for a room closer to the entrance either when reserving the room or before checking-in.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ikido333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

After 3 days in hectic Bangkok, we wanted to get away from it in Koh Samui. The Amari Palm didn't disappoint.

We had a room across the road from the reception. The room itself had everything we needed, it was very clean, plenty big enough for 2 people and had my main requirement from a hotel - a really good power shower! We were initially worried that we were across the road from the reception, but it turned into a blessing, as I think it was quieter, and a 2 minute stroll to breakfast was great!

Because we were there in September it was pretty quiet. There was always enough space at either pool during the days, and it was easy to get a table at any of the hotel restaurants any night.

In terms of location we felt this was ideal. It's far enough away from the throng of Chaweng beach to feel quiet and peaceful, but a night time stroll along the beach means you can be in the thick of it within 5 minutes.

By some standards this probably isn't a 5-star hotel. But it's clean, modern, service is great, and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone that asks.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AS2078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2009

Over the past 12 years the Palm Reef has never disappointed us and always appears to be on top of the range. Years ago this place was excellent and now that Samui has grown in to a rather boutique island with lots of new places to stay, the Amari is still far ahead of all the other fancy Hotels with their Hindu and Balinese names and styles. We stayed here from April 1st - April 6th and had a Deluxe Room in the Beach Compound. Travelling with a 2 year old, how is just about to discover the world, can be very challenging. The Staff paid excellent attention to us always tried to give us an extra hand with the little one. The Breakfast Buffet is one of the best I have ever seen so far and has a huge variety, for every taste, to offer. I mean, where can you get Mexican Style Fried Chicken with Mashed Potatos for Breakfast? Of course, I dont depend on it but it makes me feel good, knowing that the Amari Staff always goes the extra mile. The Rooms are also very nice and offer everything, including a DVD Player and international Broadcasting. We really liked the Pool and of course the Beach Area. There was enough parking offered for guest who came by car. Room Service was fast and very friendly. Staff at the Checkin was super good and had an open ear for young parents. Really liked that. Also, the BarQ is really cool place to hang out and have a drink, or in my case, a afternoon coffee while checking the email over their wireless. I come to Samui snce 1989 and have seen a lot over the past 20 years. Amari will always be our first choice, thanks to the folks there.
BTW : check out the Italian Place called Prego. Really nice and excellent food.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RALFBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2009

This was my 5th stay at the Amari have been going there a few years. It's still a nice property with good friendly staff. I just think it is too expensive and in need of some upgrades.

Rooms are still very nice although not huge. I have doubts that it is worth paying an extra 2000 baht a night for a deluse room rather than superior for an extra 1 square metre and a separate bath and shower.

Like a previous reviewer I have never seen it so busy before and you had to get to the beach area early to get a decent seat. I can understand why it is busy, it's very well located and really quite a beautiful resort.

However, the TVs are pretty old now with a very limited selection of channels. Wifi is also extortionate. I don't understand why places like the Amari don't offer free wifi. Gym is very small.

I do still like this hotel, just I think there are now better options for the money springing up and the Amari has some work to do to keep its position among the best of Chaweng hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

My husband and I booked with Kuoni and stayed in the Amari Palm Reef 8th-18th March. We flew with Eva Air using the online check-in and seat selection facility allowing us to change our seat to the upper deck on the jumbo jet. Also the flight included complimentary drinks and seat back entertainment screens allowing you complete control over what and when you watched your choice of films etc. After changing at Bangkok our arrival at Koh Samui Airport was not too stressful as Kuoni had arranged a private transfer to the hotel, which is only a 10 minute drive away. Hotel staff greeted us with a cooling towel and the news that we were upgraded free of charge from a Superior to a Deluxe room. Also as Kuoni guests we had various discounts offered including 20% off our final bill of items charged to our room.

The room was very clean, modern and spacious, we were on the 3rd floor so had a balcony with beautiful garden views. Our accommodation block was across the road from the reception and main restaurant, which we did not find inconvenient at all as this part of the hotel grounds also has its own swimming pool, sun loungers and pool attendant, so unless you prefer the beach you cant want for anything more and it is very quiet most of the time too. When you do wish to cross the road there are always traffic wardens in attendance no matter what time of day so what people find to complain about amazes me. The staff are always very helpful and eager to please and nothing is too much trouble. We ate breakfast in the restaurant every day and there was plenty of selection for all tastes, our only complaint was the tea and coffee was never hot enough. The hotel was quite full but we didn’t have any problem finding a sun bed each day. We preferred sitting on the beach, which may not be to every ones liking as you are approached by a constant stream of beach sellers but just say no and they move on, unless you fancy a haggle of course. The hotel was quite pricy for drinks and bar food, so like us we saw many guests using the 7eleven store nearby to purchase water and snacks etc. there was a mini bar in the room and bottled water was supplied free of charge every day to your room.

The hotel was one of the best along the stretch of beach and is built in a Thai style within very attractive and well kept gardens. The lavish soft furnished in the covered areas helped for a complete relaxed feel. We went to Phuket on our last holiday to Thailand and found Koh Samui the quieter of the two islands but it was what we wanted this time, but there are plenty of excursions available to choose from if that is what you want. Chaweng beach area has one main road for shopping and eating so can become monotonous after a time so it is worth travelling a bit further a field to experience other parts of the island, we went to a part known as Fisherman’s Village just for a change of scenery. Also don’t be afraid of trying the less flashy restaurants, you will pay half the price for food just as good (as long as you are not to fussed about your surroundings). Although we did have 3 days of intermittent rain storms, the sun is very hot and can catch you out because of the nice sea breeze, so be prepared.

Overall I thought the hotel was good value for money and would recommend to it . It is a long way to travel so combine with a stop over in Bangkok which is a total contrast, but equally as enjoyable in different ways.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RecycledTeenager8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
1,952 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 104 in Chaweng
1,406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
#6 of 104 in Chaweng
922 reviews
1.2 mi away
Banana Fan Sea Resort
Banana Fan Sea Resort
#5 of 104 in Chaweng
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Koh Samui

Address: 14/3 Moo 2 | Surathani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $127 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Amari Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing