We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family holiday at Amari resort”
Review of Amari Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amari Koh Samui
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Enjoyed seven wonderfull nights at Amari,close proximity to main shopping made it easy to get around particularly during the Thai new year. The staff in all areas were absolutely fantastic,always smiling & ever so willing to help,by the time we departed they were almost like family to us. The buffet breakfast was as good as you could get anywhere,lots of choices & very fresh. The room service was great & everything was kept spotless including a flower on the bed every day. Management often raised the question if we were satisfied with everything. Great location,would recommend the resort to anybody.

Room Tip: Pick a room with beach front to save a walk,others were very nice with separate pool but you have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindsay N Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Hello Lindsay N Carol F,

First of all, thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay with us and thrilled to hear you will " recommend the resort to anyone"

As always, I am delighted to hear when our service makes such a positive impression, I am particular thankful for highlighting our breakfast buffet, its a renewed focus to ensure we are offering a quality product with a vast variety of choice for our customers.

I do thank you for your comments however and I do hope that next time we welcome you back we can push to exceed your expectations and rate even higher next time!

Until then, warm wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

911 - 917 of 2,639 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

Stayed at the Amari recently. From check in to check out it was wonderful. Greeted with a cool towel, traditional drink & wonderful staff. Facilities great. Pool & pool service were excellent, staff couldn't be more helpful. Food was excellent & catered for all tastes. Location right on the beach which was superb & close enough to town to walk into but far enough away from the noise. Room was great & made up beautifully every day with a fresh flower daily. Would thoroughly recommend the Amari & will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Hello Fiona D,

Thank you for your stunning review of your recent experience at Amari Palm Reef, Koh Samui.

I am delighted to hear that we made such a wonderful impression that you enjoyed many aspects of the resort and will recommend the property.

I am most thrilled to read when our team makes a connection with our guests and delivers a memorable experience, as I truly believe that is the secret to a great hotel or resort.

Thank you for highlighting the quality of the food in the resort, as this is a renewed focus toof ours ensuring we continue to improve.

Thanks again for sharing your thoughts and , we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the very best
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We chose to stay here because it was recommended by friends and we are so pleased we did. We stayed on the beach side, close to the restaurant, pool and bar and had lovely ocean views.
We loved the little snacks that were sent to our room at night and again the fruit that was delivered during the day. We had a chance to sample little snacks of Thai food, which is part of why we travel to other countries, that is, to sample the food. It was a really nice touch and set Amari ahead of a lot of other places we have stayed where this has only been provided on welcome.

The setting at Amari is lovely, idyllic really, a lovely swimming beach, lots of beach lounges on the beach and around the pool, everything you need for a great relaxing beach resort holiday.

One of the things that was most outstanding at Amari was the customer service provided by the staff. We would particularly like to mention Ah-Mon. He was so friendly, anticipated our needs, remembered what we liked to drink in the mornings, but checked to make sure we wanted that order again, was prompt with his service, and it was all done with a huge smile on his face. We had similar experiences when we had lunch there as well. He obviously loves working at Amari, and that showed with the way he went about his business.

We would also like to mention Phuwadol, who also went out of his way to make our stay special, ensuring we had beach lounges in just the right spot, helping with towels, and of course with his service in the bar as well. Both employees are a credit to Amari, but then we didn’t encounter anyone who was grumpy or gave a negative feeling about Amari.

Breakfast was unbelievable, everything you could want, and the lunch menu at Bar C certainly fulfilled our needs. Prego, the restaurant just across the road from our room, but also a part of Amari, also had great Thai food, but also an Italian from which to choose. There really was no need to eat elsewhere, and the prices were really reasonable.

Amari is located just a short walking distance from the main stretch at Chaweng, which made it perfect for us. Staying there for the Thai Songkran New Year was something else - water fights everywhere to welcome in the New Year.

Room Tip: We loved staying in Room 2112, a junior suite with ocean views on the ground floor It was good to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Di S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane L, General Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2014

Hello Di S,

Thank you for your comprehensive review of your recent stay at Amari Palm Reef, Koh Samui. I am delighted to see that we made such an incredible impression.

I am thrilled to see you connected with the resort and loved everything from our location, quality of food and service delivery.

And thanks for recognizing Ah-mon and Phuwadol., I know they both love connecting with many of our guests ensuring all guests are happy, welcomed and receiving the best possible service.

Thanks for sharing such positive comments for everyone to read and we also look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

All the best and warm wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

We have booked this hotel as part of our honeymoon across Thailand. The check-in was easy and fast, the staff was always very nice and helpful. I have indicated over the phone after the reservation that we are on our honeymoon so our room prepared accordingly with heart shaped flowers spread on the bed, tasty heart shaped chocolate cake and plate of fruits, really nice way to start your vacation in Samui!
The breakfast is just amazing, there is everything that you can think of.
The pool is clean and close to the ocean (there is another pool on the other side of the road).
So the hotel is perfect as long as you ignore the beach... But, for us one of the main reasons for choosing this hotel was the fact that it has its own beach. We were expecting to see clear water but the water was brown most of the time. We ended up renting a scooter and going to another beach (Lamai) on a daily basis.
If the beach is less important for you then this hotel is a great choice, but for us, the beach was really important so I am giving to this hotel 3 out of 5 (5 to the hotel and 1 to the beach).

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank PashaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Hello PashaR,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your recent experience at Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui.

I am thrilled to know you rated the hotel 5 out 5, and delighted to read you enjoyed everything from the amazing breakfast, easy/ fast check in and onto our helpful and very nice staff.

Thanks again for sharing such wonderful comments and I do hope that we have the chance to welcome you back in the future.

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Excellent hotel, with wonderful staff. Great breakfast in the a.m. Wonderful beach out front. 2 great pools ,on both sides of the street. You must be careful choosing rooms. There are some in the back, right up next to trashy area, and it's a much longer walk. Great SCUBA shop on site, which will get you to the dive spots faster.

Room Tip: do not get the rooms way in the back, especially up the stairs, where you will look over at garbage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Dear Joe T,

Thanks for sharing your impressions of Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui following your recent stay with us.

Am delighted to read you loved everything from our daily breakfast, to the pools and on to the breach front. With regards to the garbage/ trashy issue you mentioned; yes we certainly have had issues in the past and luckily managed to get on top of those issues. However, we are working VERY hard to eradicate this issue in the future permanently

And as always, thank you for your compliments regarding our team here. We are blessed with a wonderful team who do their best to impress whenever possible...

Again, thank you and I hope you will indeed return one day soon.

Warm wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Being out first time to South East Asia we didn't know really what to expect when visiting Koh Samui, but were very happy we choose Amari. Upon arrival checkin was smooth and very welcoming. The staff were extremely friendly and ensured we had everything we needed. We were there as part of a larger group for a wedding for a week so we stayed across the street rather than beach side. It was a lil quieter over there which was nice. Although we'd often swim in the beach side pool as well. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was large and spacious with a typical shower plus toilet room. Room was promptly cleaned daily and no issues with insects etc which can sometimes be expected in a tropical location. Overall, would highly recommend. Is pricier than some options in Koh Samui, but you get what you pay for. Would stay again!

Room Tip: Not sure which room we had - I guess it would be considered a "deluxe" room according to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jpmullowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Hello jpmullowney,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay here. Of course I am always happy to hear when we deliver service that makes people smile and remember us in a positive way.

I am delighted to see you loved the spacious room and our housekeeping team ensured the room was promptly cleaned and there were no issues with insects. We are continually focused on ensuring room cleanliness and are free of insects, therefore I am thrilled to hear this feedback.

Of course we would be thrilled to welcome you back in the future and of course we will do our best to raise our standards even higher for you next time. We will consider it our very own challenge to earn and receive a five star rating next time for sure!

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights at the Amari, Samui. A good couple of days too short! What a most terrific holiday!! As we were celebrating our 25th anniversary and 50th birthdays, I did request the hotel upon booking, to please make it a memorable experience. As we checked in, Nittaya the cutest girl ever, stole our hearts. We were given a bar voucher as our room was not yet ready. She fetched us and took us to our room and there was a heart shaped cake with "happy anniversary", the bed was decorated with flowers and hearts and "happy 25th wedding anniversary" spelt out on it. We were upgraded, but after 3 nights, a good nights sleep meant more to us than luxury. Bungalow too close to the road. From reading previous reviews, we were under the impression the other rooms were really far back, but not so...We asked to be moved further back and were just as delighted at the new accommodation. Rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. We overlooked the pool and a lovely garden and a 2min walk to the main part of the hotel.Breakfast was 5*. We thoroughly enjoyed 2 beach buffet dinners with the inhouse band playing good music. Just to the left of the hotel on the beach is a restaurant "Your Place", lovely for sundowners. Overall a most romantic holiday and memories we shall treasure forever. Can't thank the staff enough for contributing to this....you are really special. Highly recommendable for couples and families.

Room Tip: The bungalows overlooking the back pool are really recommendable. We were in room 3229 between the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AO4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shane L, Manager at Amari Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear A04,

Many thanks for your detailed review of your recent stay at Amari Palm Reef, Koh Samui we appreciate you sharing your experience with the Tripadvisor community.

It was honestly a pleasure to have you stay with us and I am delighted that you rank us so highly and "highly recommend to families and couples".

I am particularly thankful for highlighting Nittaya,, It doesn't surprise me that she made such an impression. She is a key member of the team ensuring that we constantly aim to impress at every opportunity.

I am delighted to hear that you found and enjoyed our buffet them dinner every week. Rest assured however we are always continuing to make it bigger and better.

I sincerely thank you for all your comments and do hope that this will not be the last time we have the chance to welcome you back. Rest assured we are here, ready and waiting!

Warm Wishes
Shane Langdon
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chaweng hotels
1.1 mi away
OZO Chaweng Samui
OZO Chaweng Samui
#9 of 103 in Chaweng
1,986 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chaweng Regent Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Buri Rasa Village Samui
Buri Rasa Village Samui
#2 of 103 in Chaweng
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.6 mi away
Anantara Lawana Koh Samui Resort
1.7 mi away
Poppies Samui
Poppies Samui
#1 of 103 in Chaweng
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Koh Samui

Address: 14/3 Moo 2 | Surathani, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range: $134 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Koh Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amari Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing